We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel well situated for walking into town, a little dated but seems that work is being carried out, nice staff and a very good breakfast, that was of a good quality and very fulfiling I would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breal1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments about Milford Hall Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 792 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful with the unloading of car and carrying bags etc. The room was lovely, very comfy bed and nice selection of teas and coffees. We ate in the restaurant and had a very nice meal which was surprisingly (for the quality) reasonably priced. Only complaint would be that the room was a little warm for us so we tried the air conditioning which was level with the bed. It was rather noisy and blew cold air directly at face level. (not sure if I would want to use that at night in the summer). Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of hot and cold items.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

All our team would like to thank you for your note and for your favourable comments on Milford Hall Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments have been passed forward to our Team who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again some time in the future to Milford Hall Hotel!

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked one night through late rooms approximately £80 (for the room) included a breakfast.
1) The staff was very nice.
2) The room was very clean and comfortable.
3) The restaurant was excellent.
4) The breakfast was great.
5) I would go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORNISHBIKER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

A+ - thats what I like to see!

Thank you for your excellent comments about Milford Hall Hotel. The team always appreciate a great review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We held my mother's 80th birthday dinner at the Milford Hall Hotel and cannot fault both the excellent organisation and attention to detail leading up to the dinner and then on the night wonderful food and very attentive staff. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and thank them for making my mother's special birthday so special!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 927ElaineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased the your Mum's Birthday celebration was special for her. Your lovely comments have been passed on to all the team including back of house.

Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future!"

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed this weekend and had a great time. The room was very big and spotlessly clean. The restaurant in the evening was fantastic "the steaks are delicious and melt in your mouth". The breakfast was substantial and was of excellent quality and quantity.The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend people to stay as good value for money. Thank you for making our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_HEastLulworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience at Salisbury Seafood & Steak House. Your comments have been passed forward to our Team who, I know will greatly appreciate it too. We look forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked this through Secret Escapes and got a reduction of approximately £50 per night, however this doesn't include breakfast so not such a "deal" after all since breakfast is not included. Can't remember the exact price but it was something like £11 for continental and £13 or £14 for the full English.
The reception staff were brilliant, very friendly and efficient, frequently a porter/doorman eager assist entry but a shame the same could not be said for housekeeping.
The laminated 'phone instruction leaflet by the side of the bed had a penny sized dollop of something brownish spilled on it when we arrived, you couldn't really miss it, but the cleaning staff did, and did for the 4 nights we were there, even though we moved it around the room to see if it got noticed.
The heating in the room is controlled by the door card and therefore when we arrived it was absolutely freezing in the room. We tried to turn on the fan heater, yes it worked but the heat adjuster had been snapped off so only blew cold air and the oil filled electric radiator sat wonkily on its 3 remaining castors but at least it worked. Thank goodness that there was also air-con but it was too noisy to leave on overnight. When you returned to the room in the evening everything was freezing cold again.
The toilet seat was only attached on one of the two fixings so twisted when you sat on it, we did leave that askew but was merely twisted back in place upon return.
The bed wasn't made on the Saturday, nor were the towels re-hung, we had spread them around the bathroom to enable them to dry.
The plastic cups we had used were removed but not replaced with new ones.
The housekeeping seem to be controlled from a circular table in the corridor in full public view scattered with paperwork, towels etc.
The restaurant in the evening was quite quiet, this being Easter we were surprised. With Tetleys as the only beer offering we frequented a local inn but we did return to eat in the hotel on 3 of the 4 nights, the food was OK, nothing special, but a rather odd atmosphere hung over the place, couldn't put your finger on exactly what though. There was however a much lighter feeling on Monday evening, we noticed one member of staff missing, was this the reason? Young waiters were brilliant.
To sum this up, would we stay there again, probably not. Whilst the front old building has style the remainder is reminiscent of a Travelodge or a Premier Inn (nothing wrong with them, we've used them regularly), but did it have the ambience and quality of an AA 4star, sadly we would have to say no. Very good car parking though.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms located in the extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breezy23Egham_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review Milford Hall Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Secondly I am truly disappointed to read that your room was not in perfect condition for your arrival and then on throughout your 4-night stay. Certainly the way in which your room was prepared each day does not meet with our standards and your feedback has been shared with our Housekeeping team to ensure that every room is to standard before our guests check in and continued throughout their stay with us!

I can assure you that all comments are valuable to us and taken very seriously which helps us maintain the quality of service to our guests.

From your comments received the bedrooms you were allocated during your stay should not of been cold with or without the door card, thus bringing to our attention a minor maintenance issue which has now been rectified.

On a positive note thank you for your lovely comments about our Reception Team & Porters which have been passed on to the team!

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope that our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and should you wish to return, please contact me personally as we would appreciate the opportunity to restore your faith in Milford Hall Hotel and provide you with a a pleasurable experience.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. The spacious double executive room provided everything we could wish for. It was spotlessly clean and newly decorated. The ensuite was immaculate. Good mirrors and lots of space to park one's toiletries. (Complimentary toiletries also provided). In addition the room was very quiet with no traffic noise. Plenty of car parking on site and Salisbury Centre is just a short walk away(10 mins.) The Full English breakfast was substantial and nicely presented. What really made us feel good were the staff who were so friendly and went out of their way to provide the best customer service. Highly recommended and superb value for money.

Room Tip: Room 301 we stayed in was great. Nice and quiet and spacious. Window opens so one can also have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your great comments about Milford Hall Hotel and our Team, I was pleased to read how impressed you were with the hotel. I am so pleased you found the service great and superb value for money.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.0 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Hotel & Spa 206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $102 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing