We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Milford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
788 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked in here by my company for a work event and social do. Looking at the map, I was worried as it is between two major roads and a railway line. However, our room - complete with 4-poster bed - was pretty silent. Room well appointed and comfortable - but with a weird smell that we couldn't quite work out (Therefore, the loss of one star). Restaurant is very good - far better than the menu would lead you to believe. Wine list is relatively short, but should it most pallets and fit most wallets. Overall - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a "named" room in the old hotel rathr than a numbered one in the new wing for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clivel_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Clivel,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review about Milford Hall Hotel on Tripadvisor.

After reading your review, I myself and our Maintenance Man went to our Four Poster room to inverstigate your comments with reference to a weird smell and yes we did agree with you only to find that it was the 'Wallpaper'. Since your departure the hotels interior designer has be in and I am pleased to report that the room has been redecorated and our beautiful four poster room now smells like fresh flowers - so Thank You.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel in the New Year.

Best Wishes for 2013.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    256
    116
    28
    16
See reviews for
100
347
23
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. My wife and I stayed here for a weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel may not look like much from the outside - but don't let this put you off. We stayed in an executive room; the room was smart, modern and clean and a reasonable size. The staff were friendly and polite at all times.

We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay. The food and service were both excellent. There was a good choice on the menu and it was cooked just right. The same was true of breakfast.

We also used the bar/lounge area for an afternoon cup of tea and in the evening for a drink prior to using the restaurant; the service on a couple of occasions was slow (we had to wait for staff to return) and our tea was cold on one occasion but this was resolved professionally and without a fuss.

The room was made up properly for the second night, although we did need to ask for the tea and coffee supplies to be restocked as this was missed; we were promptly offered whatever we wanted to take back to the room.

Despite a couple of niggles we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel; it was excellent value for money and the attitude and friendliness of all the staff (from the reception desk, to the waiters/waitresses and cleaning staff) contributed to this enormously. The restaurant was excellent and well worth a visit even if you do not stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich09Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments about Milford Hall Hotel and the team. I was glad to read that you liked the hotel and that your stay was a pleasant one.

Your comments have been communicated to the team who, I know greatly appreciate fantastic comments like this.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back in 2013.

Kind Regards

Amanda Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

First stayed here back in July but am now here on my 4th stay - this time for more than a month as we move house. Staying here for a long time give you your own personal "Crossroads" experience as you see what hard work goes in to making a hotel work so well.
Rooms are of exceptional standard and exceptional value for money.
Breakfast is either buffet style or to order and being in Wiltshire the bacon is great. Service is friendly and efficient.
Anyone who stays here and does't eat in the Restaurant needs their head examining. There is a set menu everyday and also an extensive a la carte menu featuring very tasty steaks. The wine list is extensive and haas a good quality/value balance. Traditional afternoon tea is available in the bar/lounge and is a must for overseas visitors who want to see a bit of real English Tradition. Sunday lunch is fantastic value from varied set menu accompanied by live discreet and tasteful piano music.
Only a short walk from the city centre the hotel is well placed for a short city break and for people of a certain age - with Freedom Pass - even the Park and Ride Buses can be flagged down outside the hotel if you don't want to walk off your breakfast.
We move to our new home next week and will miss the people who have worked so hard to make our long stay so comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
There is no greater reward than reading comments like yours, showing that all the hard work pays off. Your great comments have been passed on to the team!

I am sure, by now you are nice and settled in your new home and we all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We wanted just a weekend away from our busy home and decorating of it, so picked at random to visit Salisbury. We found the hotel on trip advisor and went through the different suggested providers and laterooms was the cheapest for a double room including breakfast. We had an email confirming it was a double room not a twin that we would get. On the arrival night we were late so I emailed reception and got a quick friendly reply from Emma saying it was no problem. We arrived just before 10pm when the in house restaurant closes but they were still happy to serve us some dinner. Very happy they did! We had the beef burger and the hand cut chips we just amazing!

The first night was a bit noisy with people banging on doors at 2am and whilst the hotel can.t stop people being noisy this is our only down point-the walls could have done with being a bit thicker! My only other down point was I personally thought the carpet and curtains were very dated still whilst the one wallpapered wall was modern and nice.

The location was excellent for us just to stroll into town and to the cathedral out the other side. We ate at the mill in town which was also nice and cosy and reasonably priced.

The breakfasts at the hotel were really tasty and there was a good variety of food although being vegetarian, some vegetarian sausages would have been perfect.

Would highly recommend this hotel and location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gems1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
All our team would like to thank you for your note and for your favourable comments on Milford Hall Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments have been passed forward to our Team who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again some time in the future to Milford Hall Hotel!

Kind Regards

Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in 2006 and were impressed then so when we have to find a suitable venue for an event we are organising in 2014 we returned to see if the hotel was as good as we remembered.
From the friendly efficient check in to the equally efficient check out we were not disappointed.
All the staff were friendly and cheerful and nothing was too much bother for them.
There was a slight hiccough with the food in the restaurant when my partner's steak was not cooked to her liking but it was remedied immediately.
The hotel is situated in walking distance of the beautiful city of Salisbury so we were able to explore on foot without worrying about car parking.
And yes we have booked the hotel for 2014.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to Milford Hall Hotel. I / we are so so pleased your enjoyed your return visit.

We look very much forward to welcoming you and your party to Milford Hall Hotel in 2014. I am sure we will see your return before then!

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights midweek..the staff were welcoming and efficient. Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable. Breakfast was really good, however the restaurant food in the evening was average at best, despite the staff being so attentive. Fine dining this is not ! Overall we enjoyed our time at the hotel but would advise you to eat dinner elsewhere. Great parking and the hotel is an easy walk into the town centre. The hotel decor looks a little tired here and there, as if it's been a busy summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynton191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to explain both the positives and the negatives you experienced during you stay with us at Milford Hall Hotel. All comments are valuable to us and rest assured that we take them seriously so that we may address any issues raised in order to help us maintain the quality of service to our guests both in the hotel and restaurant.

I was extremely disappointed to read your comments with reference to the restaurant to thus I ask for a little more assistance from yourself. If you would be so kind as to provide me with a little more information on your dining experience on the night in question, so we may highlight the issues concerned with both the Kitchen and the Restaurant. You can contact me on 01722 417411 or email me at reception@milfordhallhotel.com .

I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast!

Once again thank you for taking the time to review Milford Hall on Tripadvisor. We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again and that you will give us the opportunity to show you that the whole experience at Milford Hall Hotel is usually a pleasurable one.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the moment I made contact with the hotel for a group booking, I had a good feeling about it. It proved to be an excellent choice for our stay in every respect. The hotel is a short walk to the city centre, and close to the ring-road, so very conveniently located. The rooms are a decent size with comfy beds, bathrooms with nice toiletries, fluffy towels and top class loo paper! Superb breakfast (why can't other hotels cook scrambled eggs so well?) and very good dinners every night. But above all, it is the staff who make this hotel so good - everyone from reception staff to cleaning staff, dining room and bar staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were looked after extremely well. Thank you to everyone for making our week so memorable.

Room Tip: Very little noise problems at all, but if you are a very light sleeper, then perhaps a room further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I am so pleased to read that you had a memorable week at Milford Hall Hotel. Rest assured your lovely comments and thanks have been passed on to all the team.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back when you are in the UK once again.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
862 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel

Property: Milford Hall Hotel
Address: 206 Castle Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing