We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style hotel in Excellent setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Lytchett Matravers, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old style hotel in Excellent setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Alhtough the decor in both the public areas and the rooms are very much outdated this added to the experience rather than detract. The room we had was spacious, clean and well maintained.

The staff were courteous without being particularly friendly or welcoming - so some work needed there.

We had a great view from our bedroom window across greenland and nearly managed to see the spire of the cathedral.

There was a wedding party the evening we stayed - which were noisy but it all seemed to switch off at a reasonable time.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    162
    98
    59
    41
See reviews for
110
252
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I have just held our wedding at the Grasmere. The staff are totally dedicated to all their guests, be they 1 or 90 years old! The level of service was exceptional, from the management team all the way down to the cleaners via the bar, kitchen, waiting and reception. All our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Food was of the highest standard. we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having enjoyed my stay recently during the dorset fair , I returned one evening to the hotel with the face burning off me from the sun . On approaching the reception the manager noticed I was suffering ,and when I expressed a wish to get after sun he immediately offered and then drove me into sailsbury to purchase it . Now need I say anymore about the calibre of people running this hotel. Boy was I impressed .

Room Tip: all rooms are quite as hotel is deep into its own gardens well off the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1958DenisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel has a really pretty setting along the Nadder River, near the confluence with the Avon. The rooms vary because it's an older building, but ours was spacious and nicely furnished. We couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Didn't have dinner there, but the breakfast spread was ample and tasty. A great experience and a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Staying at this hotel is a wonderful experience. The room was large, beautifully furnished with its own patio that lead to the large garden that leads down to the river. Everything about the room expressed quality. The bathroom was large, the shower powerful, Internet was fast and free, large TV with satellite channels, a comfortable seating area, a work area and a large, comfortable bed.

The full breakfast buffet was extensive and the food was good. The staff were helpful whenever we had questions.

I would recommend the Grasmere House hotel for all travelers (romantic, business, family or solo).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born_Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a 3 star hotel but it does not offer 3 star facilities a such. We were booked, at first, into a standard room and I can honestly say that I could not believe my eyes. This room is not even youth hostel worthy; tired cramped and a tiny bathroom. Due to a lovely woman working at the reception desk we got an upgrade to a fout poster bedroom (normally GB 175 p/night.) This room was nicely decorated but again, the bathroom was terrible.
Breakfast in the morning is meagre (and luke warm at best).

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markalexanderdegroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed with group of around 20 people and the hotel looked after us very well with an excellent all inclusive deal. Staff were pleasant and courteous, although not all of them have English as their first language.

An a la carte dinner was provided for us and was superb. The food in fact, was far superior to that we'd had on another recent trip, which was in France! The buffet breakfast was also good, well stocked and all freshly cooked.

Our room was of good sized with French doors, a terrace and a lovely view over the surrounding grounds. The bathroom was clean and modern with plenty of toiletries supplied.

Would certainly return any time we are in Salisbury.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a lovely outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing