We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The staff are totally committed to providing the best service possible. At no point was anything too much trouble. It's also nice to see that the hotel manager popped in and saw our group every day, always asking if everything was to our satisfaction. Food and accommodation are both of the highest standards.

They really cannot be more helpful.

Very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    165
    98
    63
    41
See reviews for
114
254
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is a real treat to discover, the staff upgraded me to a beautiful river suite room, with spectacular views, the staff were very attentive and pleasant and the food in the restaurant was superb - whilst this was a business visit, I really look forward to coming back for a weekend retreat - thank you

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your very kind words, are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially the up grade. It was a pleasure to look after you.
We look forward to welcoming you to Grasmere House once again , and hopefully in the not too distant future. Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write your great review.
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I must have driven through Salisbury and past this hotel lots of times on my way to places further afield. By chance I attended a conference there and realised I had discovered a real gem of a place. The reviews for people staying at the Grasmere speak for themselves, but I have eaten there twice and cannot believe the quality of the food – let alone the value for money. It will now be my eating place of choice whenever I am in Salisbury or when I fancy a trip out ending with a meal. The views from the dining area are spectacular and the staff are helpful and friendly. I think the chef deserves to win a medal for quality and presentation of the food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankM454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your fantastic comments and compliments regarding our food. I have passed on your comments to the Chefs and they are very pleased that you singled them out for special praise. I do know that they try very hard as we all do to please our clients. Once again many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write
we look forward to welcoming you to Grasmere house again in the not too distant future
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and stay here for a short break in March. Very well located hotel for a short walk to the cathedral and town centre.Hotel room was very comfortable, very clean, excellent view across the river.Food in the restaurant is very good as is the service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your great review, and a big thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. We are always very grateful for the great comments, I shall pass on your comments to the remainder of the staff as they really do appreciate it when they hear that our guests have had a lovely stay. It seems to make all the hard work they put in worthwhile.
Once again many thanks
We look forward to looking after you again in rthe not too distant future
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I shared a double room at the Grasmere as a one-night stopover for a local event. We chose the Grasmere as the hotel confirmed their dog friendly policy over the phone; dogs are welcome for a small supplement, which was much appreciated - it's generally very hard to find pet friendly accommodation. It should be noted that (understandably) dogs are not welcome in the restaurant however.

The setting couldn't be more beautiful; the restaurant overlooks the gardens, the river and a stunning view of Salisbury Cathedral. Inside, the hotel has a certain old-fashioned charm but the room we were given was ample, clean and well appointed, with plenty of floorspace for the dog.
On the night of our stay there was an event on with live music into the night, but despite having the room nearest the bar on the ground floor neither of us was disturbed by any noise.
The shower was good and had sufficient water pressure, this is one of my pet peeves in hotels so it was pleasing to note.

My only gripe with this stay came with breakfast; we were told on arrival on Saturday night that breakfast would be available from 7am, which suited us well as we had an early start. On our arrival in the restaurant it was clear that the staff were not expecting any guests to be up that early! The cooked breakfast items was not due to be laid out for another hour and although we were offered a la carte breakfast to be cooked to order, we didn't have time to stay and take advantage of it. I fully understand not wanting to serve breakfast hours before anybody would eat it, but I would expect to be told breakfast was served from 8am if that's in fact when the food is available. The coffee and toast we had were perfectly fine but not what we had hoped for considering we paid a breakfast inclusive rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nile78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed 1 night here, in order to pay a Good Friday visit, to relatives, who lived in the area. What a charming experience it turned out to be ! Lovely, superior double room, leading out onto a patio area, which led via landscaped gardens, down to the banks of the River Nedder and views beyond, of the magnificent Cathedral - what a joy ! The hotel itself, a mixture of old and more recent build, was comfortable with friendly, polite staff and an interesting, jovial owner. Good, if not particularly economically priced cuisine, but overall, a rewarding stayover, which we intend to hopefully repeat, in future times.

Room Tip: Superior rooms at the rear with lovely gardens and views - ground level where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEPHEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review, it is always a pleasure to look after our guests and its an even greater pleasure to read a great review from one of our guests. Many thanks for the lovely comments they are a fantastic morale booster for all of our friendly staff. Shall pass on your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Grasmere House in the future
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The building is lovely and the setting is beautiful, on the banks of the river and with views of the Cathedral. Once inside you notice the place is a little dated, but a warm welcome awaits.
I have stayed in a number of rooms here, some large and some small, but all clean,warm and welcoming.
The bar is small, but you are server while sitting in the main seating area, which when I stayed was often busy, mostly with foreign workers using the hotel, but many other business types and tourists. Town is a ten minute walk away.....
Breakfast was a mixed affair, the buffet was good but on occasions no buffet was provided and you ordered a cooked breakfast... note: Please don't sprinkle parsley on my baked beans - it looks weird!
The staff were all foreign, very friendly and polite. Nothing was a problem!
Overall, a nice hotel, that maybe has some quirks but it has character and makes for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms available that seem to be in a corner, they are spacious with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review, we really enjoyed reading about how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. I shall pass on all of your comments to the rest of the staff as they really apprecite it when our guests enjoy their stay and take the time to let us know.
We look forward to looking after you again , hopefully in the not too distant future
Once again many thanks
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
278 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing