We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic view, good food, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Idyllic view, good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the Grasmere House unexpectedly as our internet booking at a nearby hotel fell through (booking website not in synch with the hotel) and that hotel passed us on to the Grasmere House at the same rate. When we expressed disappointment with the first room they showed us - a view to the car park - the Grasmere House staff kindly upgraded us to a much nicer room (Room 27) with a river view across to Salisbury Cathedral, which is what we had booked at the original hotel. Their attitude in doing this was first class - exemplary - they wanted us to have a great experience on our one night stop in Salisbury. Thank you, Grasmere House, for that. The view was as memorable as the way we were treated.

We took dinner that night and lunch the next day, and all the courses were very delicious, in particular the slow-cooked lamb. I also recommend the full English breakfast which is served as a buffet. I have lived overseas for many years and had just returned from a two-week holiday in the US, so was tired of "continental breakfasts" and was looking forward to at least one proper traditional full English breakfast. The Grasmere House breakfast was excellent - the back bacon in particular gets very high marks.

I met the manager, Mr. Dale Naug, in the evening after we had checked in and on the next day when he came to check that we were enjoying our lunch. His presence on site and his attention to client satisfaction were both notable, and his staff seem to be following his lead.

Some practical observations, It's a very pleasant 15 - 20 minute walk to Salisbury Cathedral from the hotel. Better to walk than take the car as the walk takes you past much of interest and some very photogenic spots (and central Salisbury is not the best place for a car anyway). The hotel is set back from the road, so is very quiet in the rooms. There is plenty of parking space. Make sure that you ask for a river view, if you can get it, as it is memorable. But the same view is also available from the restaurant at breakfast.

Room Tip: The river view - looking across the river meadow to the spire of Salisbury Cathedral - is memorable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review, we were very pleased to be given the opportunity to look after you and were very pleased to hear that you liked your room with the memorable view of the Cathedral. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our latest slow cooked dishes, especially the lamb. Great to hear that you enjoyed our full English buffet breakfast.
Once again many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write your very kind review, its great for staff morale and it lets us know we have very happy clients
We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future
Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    168
    101
    64
    42
See reviews for
118
256
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have stayed in most of the Hotels in Salisbury on business but this one has the best atmosphere and staff who are are a credit. Food is always great and local bottled real ales in the bar. A really great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time & trouble to write your great review, many thanks for your kind words. I shall pass them on to our staff who get a great kick out of reading such great reviews like yours.
Once again many thanks, we look forward to looking after you again in the not too distant future
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have just returned from an overnight stay here and cannot rate it highly enough. From the moment I entered the reception area I was made most welcome. The hotel was surprizingly quiet and I was offered a free upgrade which I readily accepted. The room was on the ground floor, well furnished and opened right onto the patio area and views down across the gardens and the river. I stayed for bed and breakfast at a cost of £85 via hotels.com. In fact I wish I had booked direct as the price was much less than that! I also had an evening meal which was served by well-mannered and well-trained staff in the conservatory which overlooked the gardens. The menu was quite extensive but I ordered off the Bar Snacks and enjoyed a fabulous meal for less than £10! What a bargain. The bed was very comfortable and the room was more than adequate for my purposes. Breakfast was served in the conservatory with an array of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and cooked foods all offered with fruit juices, coffee, tea.. you name it they had it. Overall a very pleasant experience. This hotel is definately worth a visit.

Lisa Jinks (Telford)

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel offer beautiful views of the well kept gardens and the river. Pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your most kind and complimentary review. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views over the river meadows and of the Cathedral form your bedroom and your very own patio. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your bar snack and found it to be such a bargain. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the way our staff looked after you, and that you found the breakfast to your liking. We shall make sure that all of the staff get to hear about your enjoyable stay as they benefit greatly from compliments like yours, its a tremendous morale booster.
Once again many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write your review, its a big help in monitoring and maintaining our standards.
We look forward to welcoming you to Grasmere House again in the not too distant future
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We celebrated our Golden Wedding anniversary with a lunch for 35 guests at the Grasmere House.

The service was second to none, the food delicious and the view from the restaurant admired and commented on by all.

Following an initial meeting with Babs to sort out what we wanted she delivered perfectly on the day.

We were very lucky on the day with lovely weather and our guests ennjoyed socialising on the terrace and the beautiful lawns leading to the river, with Salisbury Cathedral as a backdrop.

We had friends who stayed overnight and they were equally impressed with their room, the view and the breakfast provided.

We couldn't have asked for a better day and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Grasmere for similar occasions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LurkerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs H, General Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments re your 50th wedding anniversary celebration. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your day and that the food and service was very much to your liking.

Kind regards

Babs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Grasmere House is located just at the outskirts of town next to the river. Very "british", excellent service, very personal. We stayed for a week and had a great time.
We had a room on the ground floor which opens onto the lawn. Could be great for breakfast on the patio if the weather hadn't been "typically british". As it was, the room was kind of damp and in the future I would try and get a room on one of the upper floors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time and trouble to write your review. We shall pass on your complimentary comments on to all of the staff as they really do appreiate them, it certainly is a morale booster for them. All of the staff work so hard to make everyone's stay pleasant and enjoyable, and it all seems worthwhile when we hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay especially when you stayed with us for a week.
We are sorry that our "British" weather was not kind enough to you so that you could have enjoyed your breakfast on your own individual patio outside your bedroom. Perhaps on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future
Once again many thanks
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Grasmere 4 nights 5th >8th August 2012. I am disabled and use a wheelchair so had one of the disabled rooms which was comfortable and large enough with a good size wet room, although the flowers in the room had seen better days. We thought the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The food was good with quite a varied menu. The view from the rear rooms was excellent overlooking the grounds, river with the cathedral in the background. The doorways were quite narrow for the wheelchair but manageable with care. The car park is loose gravel which is a bit difficult with a wheelchair, I think a hard based pathway from outside the front door in a straight line to the top of the car park would be good and make for better wheelchair access. It is located just outside Salisbury and is an ideal place to stay whilst visiting the area. All in all we were happy with the hotel,service and price and would stay again next time we are in Salisbury.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay with us in August of this year, and your comments. We were pleased to hear your comments and that you found our purpose built disabled room with the "wet room" bathroom comfortable. We take great pride in our "disabled" bedrooms as they are of the highest specification for "disabled" rooms in the Salisbury area. They have been specilly designed to be suitable for able bodied guests as well as for our disabled guests. So pleased to hear that you thought our staff were very friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed your food from our varied menu. Our menu is an everchanging one and uses fresh ingredients and we do try to use as much local seasonal produce as well. Glad to hear that you found our views of the river and the Cathedral excellent, we were also pleased to hear that you found our doorways manageable with your wheelchair. We are sorry about our gravel carpark, however our local council and the planning office have insisted that we maintain the gravel carpark for aesthetic appeal and the local Planning Policy. We do take your point that a hard based pathway would be a good idea, and we agree with you, so we shall be making arrangements to meet with the planners for advice.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed youe stay and would stay with us again, so we look forward to hearing from you and looking after you on your next visit, Please consider liking us on our facebook page and becoming one of our friends and we can keep you up to date with events and developments at Grasmere House.
Once again many thanks for your comments and taking the time and trouble to write your review on Tripadvisor
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked one night at this hotel to visit Salisbury Cathedral.We were expecting a city hotel and didnt think we would get any views from our room. What you see when you arrive in the car park is not representative of the back of the hotel. We had a fabulous room at the back of the hotel with a four poster bed and great views of the river, meadows and Cathedral. Clean, well equipped and spacious. It is on a main road at the front but was very quiet at the back and there is a lovely walk across the water meadows past the Old Mill to Salisbury with fabulous views of the Cathedral.Staff were friendly but a little harrassed at breakfast. Fully recommend this hotel, request a room at the back.

Room Tip: We booked a superior double but i think we were upgraded to the bridal suite. It was luxurious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs H, General Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Grasmere House. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our four poster bedrooms overlooking the Cathedral.

Kind regards

Babs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
972 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing