We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service, lovely location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Super service, lovely location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We celebrated our Golden Wedding anniversary with a lunch for 35 guests at the Grasmere House.

The service was second to none, the food delicious and the view from the restaurant admired and commented on by all.

Following an initial meeting with Babs to sort out what we wanted she delivered perfectly on the day.

We were very lucky on the day with lovely weather and our guests ennjoyed socialising on the terrace and the beautiful lawns leading to the river, with Salisbury Cathedral as a backdrop.

We had friends who stayed overnight and they were equally impressed with their room, the view and the breakfast provided.

We couldn't have asked for a better day and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Grasmere for similar occasions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LurkerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs H, General Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments re your 50th wedding anniversary celebration. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your day and that the food and service was very much to your liking.

Kind regards

Babs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    163
    98
    59
    41
See reviews for
110
252
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Grasmere House is located just at the outskirts of town next to the river. Very "british", excellent service, very personal. We stayed for a week and had a great time.
We had a room on the ground floor which opens onto the lawn. Could be great for breakfast on the patio if the weather hadn't been "typically british". As it was, the room was kind of damp and in the future I would try and get a room on one of the upper floors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time and trouble to write your review. We shall pass on your complimentary comments on to all of the staff as they really do appreiate them, it certainly is a morale booster for them. All of the staff work so hard to make everyone's stay pleasant and enjoyable, and it all seems worthwhile when we hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay especially when you stayed with us for a week.
We are sorry that our "British" weather was not kind enough to you so that you could have enjoyed your breakfast on your own individual patio outside your bedroom. Perhaps on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future
Once again many thanks
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Grasmere 4 nights 5th >8th August 2012. I am disabled and use a wheelchair so had one of the disabled rooms which was comfortable and large enough with a good size wet room, although the flowers in the room had seen better days. We thought the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The food was good with quite a varied menu. The view from the rear rooms was excellent overlooking the grounds, river with the cathedral in the background. The doorways were quite narrow for the wheelchair but manageable with care. The car park is loose gravel which is a bit difficult with a wheelchair, I think a hard based pathway from outside the front door in a straight line to the top of the car park would be good and make for better wheelchair access. It is located just outside Salisbury and is an ideal place to stay whilst visiting the area. All in all we were happy with the hotel,service and price and would stay again next time we are in Salisbury.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay with us in August of this year, and your comments. We were pleased to hear your comments and that you found our purpose built disabled room with the "wet room" bathroom comfortable. We take great pride in our "disabled" bedrooms as they are of the highest specification for "disabled" rooms in the Salisbury area. They have been specilly designed to be suitable for able bodied guests as well as for our disabled guests. So pleased to hear that you thought our staff were very friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed your food from our varied menu. Our menu is an everchanging one and uses fresh ingredients and we do try to use as much local seasonal produce as well. Glad to hear that you found our views of the river and the Cathedral excellent, we were also pleased to hear that you found our doorways manageable with your wheelchair. We are sorry about our gravel carpark, however our local council and the planning office have insisted that we maintain the gravel carpark for aesthetic appeal and the local Planning Policy. We do take your point that a hard based pathway would be a good idea, and we agree with you, so we shall be making arrangements to meet with the planners for advice.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed youe stay and would stay with us again, so we look forward to hearing from you and looking after you on your next visit, Please consider liking us on our facebook page and becoming one of our friends and we can keep you up to date with events and developments at Grasmere House.
Once again many thanks for your comments and taking the time and trouble to write your review on Tripadvisor
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked one night at this hotel to visit Salisbury Cathedral.We were expecting a city hotel and didnt think we would get any views from our room. What you see when you arrive in the car park is not representative of the back of the hotel. We had a fabulous room at the back of the hotel with a four poster bed and great views of the river, meadows and Cathedral. Clean, well equipped and spacious. It is on a main road at the front but was very quiet at the back and there is a lovely walk across the water meadows past the Old Mill to Salisbury with fabulous views of the Cathedral.Staff were friendly but a little harrassed at breakfast. Fully recommend this hotel, request a room at the back.

Room Tip: We booked a superior double but i think we were upgraded to the bridal suite. It was luxurious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs H, General Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Grasmere House. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our four poster bedrooms overlooking the Cathedral.

Kind regards

Babs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived here on a Saturday evening with two other friends and stayed in the superior double rooms looking out over the river to the rear of the Hotel . We also booked a table for four in the restaurant . The food was very good and staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble .The Hotel is a little dated but very nice and very friendly . We were warned on booking that a wedding was taking place and yes it did get a bit loud , but no more than what you would expect for a celebration . We did here people complaining about this in the morning but did feel it was a little unjustified ! On reading other reviews here there are some valid points as to the entrance being hard to find and some parts of the building needing some attention . But when you look at the Hotel over all we were very pleased with the way we were treated and felt that all of our needs were met and catered for , i would like to thank all of the staff there for making our first wedding anniversary very special , great job guys !

Room Tip: book a river view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLIN b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs H, General Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words which I have passed on to the staff. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your 1st Wedding Anniversary celebration. It was good to hear that the wedding was not too disturbing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Attended my Sons and now Daughter's wedding in August. The hotel is an idyllic spot with grounds stretching down to the river, and with the best of the summer weather the spot was just fantastic. The reception was lovely, staff were slow setting up the room before the wedding ceremony and setting up for the reception meal but the food both the day time cold buffett and the evening pig roast were excellent. The hotel rooms are very nice, with the majority of them over looking the grounds and some with doors opening straight onto a private terrace on the gardens. We had a 1st floor 4 poster bedroom, bathroom was a little dated, but everything worked!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THE2KSSTOURBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs H, General Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind words re the occcasion of your Son and now Daughter in Law's wedding and reception. I am pleased you enjoyed your day and the food was very much to your liking. The sunshine was a bonus!!
Thank you once again and kind regards.

Babs Heiden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night last weekend. We travelled separately and both of us missed the entrance to the hotel from the road as it is not obvious (and was part-covered by trees), but we got there in the end! The car park is nice and big with plenty of space.

We arrived 2 hours ahead of our 'scheduled' check in but our room was ready. We had a twin on the first floor, overlooking the car park - which is a shame as the view is from the other side of the hotel. The room was very clean and spacious, with two double beds and a decent bathroom. Not the most modern of decor, but far from shabby. The (very small) bar did not seem to be staffed during the day, but the outside garden which backs on to the river would be a lovely spot for a glass of wine on a sunny afternoon, if you have the time...

It is a nice 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Salisbury from the hotel. We walked there and back in the afternoon then back out to eat in the evening, passing through the Cathedral gates to get into/out of the centre. Be warned though that on our return journey at 11.30pm the gates were locked and without a map, it took us a while to get back to the hotel in the dark!

If you want to leave your window open to sleep (there is no air con) then the main road outside is pretty noisy late at night - though we stayed on a Saturday so it may be quieter in the week. Being on the first floor between rooms above and below, we also heard quite a lot of creaking and toilet flushing. And beware the church bells, which woke us both up at 7.44am on the Sunday, only to go off again just as I'd got back to sleep.

Breakfast was a buffet with a variety of hot and cold food, served in the conservatory. It was busy but everything seemed to run smoothly. My one small criticism would be the copious amounts of parsley used to garnish the dish of fried eggs and in with the mushrooms as I can't bear the stuff and to my mind, there is no place for it first thing in the morning!

Whilst this is by no means a luxury hotel, the staff are friendly and helpful, it was clean and spaciousn and it is in a very handy location for the centre. If I were to return to Salisbury, I would be happy to stay at the Grasmere again.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel, overlooking the river and away from the main road. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Property: Grasmere House Hotel
Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing