We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Recipe”

Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe
Ranked #3 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Tempting homemade cakes, generously filled sandwiches and main meals for the most discerning palates - our relaxed and friendly café is a slice of foodie heaven in the heart of Salisbury. Thanks to fresh, quality ingredients and the care and creativity of chef proprietor Michael Fox, we're a culinary treat worth talking about - winner of the 2015 Observer Food Monthly Awards 'Best Cheap Eats in the West'.Whilst visiting you can also explore a treasure trove of amazing artwork in the largest independent art gallery in the South West.Spread over two floors and overflowing into a sunny courtyard, our ever-changing, contemporary collection brings together the work of leading artists, sculptors and furniture makers from across the UK as well as carefully selected, unique gifts which are sourced from the UK and further afield.Discover a selection of beautiful handmade cards and jewellery, as well as original glassware, ceramics, woodwork, and textiles - and take time to enjoy some of the finer things in life in a uniquely historic setting.
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect Recipe”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had just over an hour to use before catching a train from Salisbury Station...this imaginative cafe within Fisherton Mill, is just a few minutes walk away. Time enough to buy some quality gifts from the extensive choice in the craft gallery, appreciate a good conversation with one of the creative craft persons in their workshop and enjoy a mug of peppermint tea and a memorable piece of almond and lemon cake.
My previous visit was quite different... a Saturday afternoon where the queue for this much praised cafe was so long we weren't able to wait for refreshments. The reputation of cook Michael Fox reaches far and wide.
The cake was so very good that I bought two copies of the in-house recipe book 'a cook and a painter' in the hope that I would manage to recreate the recipes at home and that a friend would also find the content inspiring. Michael was kind enough to pass on some recipe tips and yesterday I managed an almond and nectarine creation based on his recipe on page 73. The book is a simple delight with delicious paintings by Kate Lowe.
What a stimulating and satisfying hour...and the service was perfect too... no one chased me out at closing time at 5pm and I was wished a safe journey home!
I hope for a return visit to try out more of the exciting menu...maybe on one of the evenings with live music! Sunday lunch seems to be a great experience too. All in all this place is the perfect recipe!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annieyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F, Owner at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review and for visiting a second time after the disappointment of not getting a table on your first visit. We are pleased you felt it was worth a second chance and that you enjoyed the experience so much. It is great that you sought out the first floor studios as they often get overlooked when time is short. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    36
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful cafe in a fantastic setting”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Despite being a local it has taken me 4 years to finally seek out this place and I now intend to visit on a regular basis. The gallery comprises of a fantastic & varied collection of original arts and crafts and this makes a wonderful setting for the cafe. I have only, thus far, had tea and cake with an overseas friend here but that was perfect for what we were after. Tea is served in beautiful ceramic teapots (that can also be bought) and there is a good selection of scrumptious looking cakes ... The only problem is deciding which to go for!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tipishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth searching out.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After a day sight seeing in Salisbury, we were a bit late for lunch but too early for an evening meal. Through an archway in a row of shops we found this old mill with a cafe and craft shops. They do an afternoon tea menu which, though quite limited, was just what we were looking for and the items on offer were all good quality. I dont eat wheat so they did me an open sandwich without the bread but with extra salad garnish. It was lovely. Another member of our party chose the cheese on toast which looked yummy. They also did decaf coffee which is a nice touch. Lots of cakes on offer all of which looked homemade. We also had a look round the crafts and bought a few bits and pieces. If you are looking for something other than the usual chains or pubs this is certainly worth searching out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ourmamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Out of the way gem”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited here while meeting up with family from Australia and the lenghty walk was well worth it. Returning to Salisbury after a 40 year gap (!), I was disappointed with the city and with the restaurants on offer, but a Trip Advisor tip off sent us here and it was a most welcome and restful break. There is a limited range on the menu, but the open sandwiches were excellent and the fresh juices very good. There might have been a better choice of desserts (only cakes it seemed), but overall very nice and the service was very friendly and helpful. If you don't find the food to your taster, there is an excellent adjoing arts and crafts gallery in the complex (a converted mill) and open workshops where you can watch the craftspeople at work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F, Owner at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for your very positive review which seems to highlight many things you liked about your visit and the food at Fisherton Mill. I am sorry you were disappointed by Salisbury generally which unfortunately is overrun with chain restaurants at the moment and we are well worth the short walk for something a little different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting food in a great setting”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This converted mill/warehouse retains the charcter of the original building. It now houses an art exhibition space (watch the wobbly antique floorboards!) a shop of pottery,textiles, jewellery etc. from local craftspeople, and an excellent, informal restaurant. A selection of unusual cards always worth browsing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nodge94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing