We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable as always”

Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe
Ranked #3 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Tempting homemade cakes, sandwiches and main meals for the most discerning palates - our relaxed and friendly café is a slice of foodie heaven in the heart of Salisbury. With fresh, quality ingredients and the care and creativity of chef proprietor Michael Fox, we're a culinary treat worth talking about - winner of the 2015 Observer Food Monthly Awards 'Best Cheap Eats in the West'. You can also explore our treasure trove of amazing artwork in the largest independent art gallery in the South West. Spread over two floors and overflowing into a sunny courtyard, our ever-changing, contemporary collection brings together the work of leading artists, sculptors and furniture makers from across the UK as well as carefully selected, unique gifts sourced from the UK and further afield. Discover a selection of handmade cards and jewellery, as well as original glassware, ceramics, woodwork, and textiles-and take time to enjoy some of the finer things in life in a uniquely historic setting.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had the veggie open sandwich, which was more imaginative than most places can be bothered with, and my friend had the chicken open sandwich, also with more imaginative ingredients. We both followed up with home made cake, my slightly undercooked flapjack (just the way I like them) came with a spoon, so the consistency of it had been anticipated by the very helpful staff. The prices are at the higher end of the scale, but the quality is consistently good here, and the surroundings of the beautiful shop/art gallery add to the value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheOriginalRobochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F, Owner at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for appreciating the creativity of Michael's food and the delicious ingredients he uses. We are glad you like the flapjacks, although I think the hot weather was making them slightly softer than usual!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great atmosphere, fabulous food, my little treat on a Saturday!
Quality and ever changing menu never disappoints

Thank katykreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F, Owner at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

What more can I say but - Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Not knowing Salisbury, I found this place on Tripadvisor and was really pleased to find that it was even better than I expected. My friend and I had a leisurely, delicious salmon salad and went back later for afternoon tea, which was lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debby890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F, Owner at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor for enabling customers who would never normally discover us to seek us out. I am so pleased you found us after reading our reviews and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope you will be able to re-visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There is something about Fishy Mill - it does sometimes feel a bit expensive for a cafe but never poor value. It does sometimes feel a bit of a hike from town but never not worth it. Can't really explain why it works but it does - we have gone back time after time. Courtyard area pleasant in fine weather and the staff do seem to be exceptionally sweet. The children have always liked It. Great atmosphere inside - looking forward to the new arrangements.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tiff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F, Owner at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

We agree that there is something special about Fishy Mill! It is a lovely place to work as all the artists and creative business people here are a great little community set within such a warm and atmospheric building there is no place better in our opinion and we are so glad you agree and have thank you for sharing your thoughts with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Together with a friend who lives in Salisbury, I enjoyed a delicious summer salad lunch yesterday in the peaceful garden of the Fisherton Mill Café. I will definitely come back for another meal on my next visit and allow more time to look at the beautiful crafts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F, Owner at Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Your review is much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and plan to return again. Many thanks to your Salisbury friend for suggesting it as a place for lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fisherton Mill Gallery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing