We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular guest, could not be happier!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regular guest, could not be happier!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Best Western Red Lion several times a month and have done for coming up to 4 years now and can truthfully say the hotel has improved immensely. The staff here are second to none I have dined in the restaurant on several occasions but prefer the bar as I eat just a light snack in the evening.
As for the bedrooms, I have stayed in several as you can imagine and have never had a problem or seen anything like what is in the pictures. I cannot comment on the car park as I have always taken the train. I hope to stay here for several more years to come

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    359
    178
    72
    53
See reviews for
166
425
45
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having tickets for an event at the Playhouse theatre in Salisbury we decided to treat ourselves to night away from home at short notice. We were very pleased to find that an Executive Room with a four poster bed was available and even happier when we discovered the ' best price' including full breakfast, direct from the hotel was just under £100. We had seen many good reviews and a couple that seemed a bit unfair and factually incorrect. Our experience was definitely at the top end of what we might have hoped for. The room was excellent with loads of authentic character, lots of space including a lounge area. The bathroom had a separate shower in addition to a large bath. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The whole hotel is full of character, both inside and the inner courtyard with a massive Virginia Creeper hanging down. All in all an excellent treat and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionhart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
199 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Easy to reach by cab from the rail station! Even easier to walk through old town. Grabbed a quick lunch there when we arrived and enjoyed the food -- husband enjoyed a pale ale with his lunch of meats and smoked fish. I tried the ploughman's lunch and was quite happy. After we walked through town, we returned ready for a nightcap and our room. Our room was very nice and staff was fantastic! We enjoyed a nice breakfast the next morning just before we left. We truly enjoyed the courtyard and wish we had better weather to have sat out there at some point!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night and have to say the service was friendly and attentive. The room I stayed in was clean and full of olde world character. I ate in the vine restaurant and had an heirloom tomato salad, which was beautifully presented and came with gazpacho. A delicious fillet steak cooked rare as I asked and a lovely chocolate torte to finish. I would fully recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paterdale1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Tidworth, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My visit to Salisbury was fantastic very friendly staff and very helpfull the best stay i have had in a long while at a hotel ,the bedroom was very clean and very comfortable and well- equipped .
I shall be going back and tell all my friends about my fantastic stay xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was my first visit to this hotel in Salisbury and as a business man i need convenience and this hotel offer it perfectly.
The rooms were large (perhaps a little floral) very clean and comfortable beds.
The Wi-Fi (which is free of charge) was very efficent and the staff friendly.
The breakfast room was fast and efficent and a table was ready when i arrived at the restaurant with no queuing and the dinner menu was also very good with about 5 dishes on each course i would have been pleased to order.
Hint parking is difficult around the hotel so book a parking space in their locked courtyard it is £15 per night but well worth it but note there is only about 8 spaces so book a space when you make your hotel booking.
This is the perfect location for all business people to stop over

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids
Level Contributor
189 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Red Lion before and aware of its endearing eccentricities of furnishing etc. the room was spotless and well-equipped but that really where the quality stopped, these was a wedding reception in progress and loud thumping music until about 11-00pm which is about acceptable but the noise continued, it was a hot night so an open window was nice but as our room overlooked the courtyard it was impossible to sleep with loud conversations and shouting continuing until 1-30am, the check-out in the morning was perfunctory at best with no enquiry on the quality of the stay. The previous evening we had eaten out early so a late drink and a light snack was wanted but the bar did not sell anything like crisps or nuts etc only bar food was available which was not what we needed. It is difficult to recommend a room location as the ones overlooking the courtyard have internal noise and the ones overlooking the main street get the brunt of noise from the pubs next door and opposite which seem to specialise in Hen & Stag parties, if you want a quiet night do not use the Red Lion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M W B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, i am sorry the hotel was not what you were looking for.
The weather was unusally hot whilst you were staying and more windows were open than normal, even though fans are provided in every room it was still hot and due to the history of the building we are unable to put air conditioning in.
With regard to crips, we are a hotel bar and not a pub although we do not sell crips and nuts at the bar the menu does sell olives crackling and other small nibbles
A good point from your review someone who did not realise we did weddings read your review and seen the part about the music and has subsequntly booked her wedding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
Address: 4 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Best Western
Salisbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing