We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot in Summer and Watch Your Step”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hot in Summer and Watch Your Step”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had stayed here before but not when it was summer! Just spent 3 nights there in June during a bit of warm weather. When I asked about the air-conditioning, the response was,"Of course Madame, the fan is in the closet." We were lucky and got by without air-con but if it is truly hot, then it might be a problem.

We were celebrating our anniversary and so got their Executive room with a photoed lovely bathroom! But oh dear, the floor was so slanted that (even without a drop of drink) upon entering I fell immediately crashing into another piece of furniture! They then moved us to an upgraded double with twin beds together. Parking is extra but waved it since we had to move rooms. The floor was okay in the next one but the mattress was not up to my husband's level of comfort nor mine but we had prepaid. There are many different sections to the hotel so it is hard to determine what is meant by their room descriptions.

They put a lot of emphasis on the quaint and historic look as you will also see in the lounges which do have that historic feeling and look as well.
The desk staff tried to be most helpful and friendly. I can imagine how difficult it must be to keep tourists happy in a very old hotel that is in constant need and with many quirks!!

The bar is quaint and the bartender, James, was most delightful and friendly. He really helped to cheer us up and took great care of us as we ate several meals there. The pork chop is very good! THe morning breakfast service was less so.

It has a lovely courtyard for tea or drinks in nice weather. It is a very interesting place for a visit but if you wish for a good night's sleep, have a bad back or neck, then you will want to inquire further.

Room Tip: No airconditioning and there are many different sections to the hotel so it is hard to determine wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utraveltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    367
    190
    77
    55
See reviews for
172
444
46
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at very short notice in a single room 65 that needed to be freshened up. It was clean but the blanket and bed top looked like they were left over from the 70s. A little investment in a duvet and a mattress that's not supported by a gash piece of board would go a long way to justify the £100 per night tariff. Normally, I stay in gastro pubs/boutique hotels that do the small things much better at £20 less per night.
As an international traveller, this show cases what I see as average English hotels too often. Sad for such a historic building.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you want sleek brushed steel fittings and modern design, go elsewhere. If you want chintz, floral wallpaper and stacks of old people, come here.

The hotel is really more a collection of old rooms all connected together by a rambling series of corridors, festooned with clanking pipes and mysterious machines that whirr and bang at all hours. Views are mostly of...walls unless you're very lucky.

However, the staff are perfectly charming; the food is ok; and the beer expensive. The best part of this hotel is the interior courtyard - you must take tea here at least once if you can.

Finally - parking. What a faff. I reserved parking and then had to jump through interminable hoops to physically park up; too many cars and not enough spaces. Save yourself the hassle and use the pay and display just round the corner. It's very cheap.

In summary, not bad and certainly on par for Salisbury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoshNoshUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for a Saturday night. We were on our way to Monkey World and the Dorset Coast.

The Hotel is very, very old with some parts dating from the Thirteenth Century. If you're looking for a minimalist unfussy room in a modern, shiny hotel, look somewhere else. This place is all about floral soft furnishing and very a cosy atmosphere and it works on the whole.

There is a very traditional and interesting Lobby and small Courtyard, a decent bar and restaurant too (we only had a beer and Prosecco in the bar though.)

Our room was tidy, adequately sized with a double bed. The room with breakfast (which is a good buffet with bacon, sausages and all the other usual suspects) came to the same cost as full tank of fuel give or take a tenner and I think was excellent value. We booked online a few hours prior to arrival.

We stayed in Room 37 that looked out onto the street. It was a relatively noisy Saturday night, but I suppose you can expect that for such a centrally located Hotel where you are in walking distance to many of Salisbury's pubs and restaurants. We slept through it well enough.

The room was a little tired around the edges, but not excessively so and we got used to the decor quite quickly. It has a real old school charm about it.

The staff that served us where all very helpful, polite and looked after us.

Only gripes are that £15 for parking felt a bit steep, although it was secure and gated. The shower temperature was quite hard to regulate too - but maybe you'd get used to that on a longer stay.

I'd recommend this place if you want a pleasant, good valued, traditionally English Inn close to the centre of Salisbury. Which by the way is a very handsome place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattBayleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

1 night b&b and hotel is ok, but certainly no better than 3 star.
Staff friendly enough, but issue for a colleague at check in - room was prepaid, and though 3 of us had no problem as system stated ok, he had to use his card to pay. Not great organisation.
It is a rambling lay out, and stairs are steep and often tight circles. Rooms large enough, though decor is really dated, and is the toy red lion on the bed with tv remote really necessary???
The room overlooked the main road, so from 5.30 am, traffic noise was evident, with many vans stopping outside for loading as well. Certainly wasn't quiet.
Shower pressure was very poor as well.
Breakfast was fine - good service and reasonable quality.
The hotel operates in the middle to lower markets and on that basis, isn't all bad, and staff are certainly doing their best, but I would stay here only if few other choices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last month. A single room for two nights £240, without breakfast, that would have added £24 to my bill.Toiletries consisted of soap dispenser over washbasin and another in shower (no bath). Bedding rather worn, blanket rather than duvet. Tip - make sure you take ear plugs, seems to be no sound proofing kept awake by outside noises and you can hear conversations in adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Booked through Wowcher and upgraded to a deluxe double room as it was our wedding anniversary. On arrival the staff were brilliant and attentive to our every need. Nothing seemed to much for them. The deluxe room turned out to be "Deluxe" (note capital D). The wow factor as you entered the beautiful room, a 4 poster bed, lovely decor and furniture and the bathroom was stunning. The hotel is a beautiful reminder of what a traditional old coaching inns are. The history of our room was depicted by framed elements of it previous decorations through the years. The dining room was lovelyboth in the conservatory or main restaurant. All the food (breakfast, lunch or dinner) was great and service excellent, The small and comfortable bar with real ale and a log fire topped the whole thing off. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4 poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myndor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing