We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Stones Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
$94
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pembroke Arms Hotel(Wilton)(Great Value!)
$101
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Lodge(Salisbury)
$43
$41
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$130
$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Head Inn(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveler rating
328
396
203
87
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
396
203
87
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe vinecar parkbeautiful courtyardafternoon teaold coaching innlovely old hotelhistoric hotellounge areasuperior roomlots of charactersconesfour poster bedold buildingcentre of towncentral locationbreakfast was excellentsalisbury cathedral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

An excellent place to stay if visiting Salisbury. Very central for the cathedral and medieval quarter.
The hotel is an old coaching inn with one part (the bar) dating back to the time they bult the cathedral - so a must for history buffs. The hotel restaurant was excellent and not too pricey. Rooms were generous in size and very comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Also has a nice inner courtyard to enjoy a drink in the sunshine. Very pleasant stay at a reasonable price for this class of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florriebunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Florriebunda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this great feedback of your stay at our property.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in the BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel which is indeed full of history and character. I am glad you had a chance to enjoy a nice drink in our lovely courtyard in sunshine of which sadly we have not had much so far this year. The kitchen staff were delighted to hear your kind comments regarding your evening meal and breakfast.

Once again, thank you for leaving such a rewarding feedback of your stay. We hope you will visit us soon again!

Kind regards,
Stuart Earp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have visited Best Western Red Lion Hotel quite a few times and find it a comfortable hotel and worth staying for a few days. The rooms are comfortable and some have four poster beds. The breakfast is worth starying for and can be included in the room price. There is a bar which the locals tend to use alot, you can sit outside in nice weather in the courtyard. There is also a restaurant and there is a good choice of food but a little expensive but worth trying once for a special occasion. The staff though are very friendly and will help with anything you need. You can also have tea and homemade cakes which are worth staying for too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46Juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear 46Juliet,

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at our property.

I am glad to see that you are a regular visitor in our hotel and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the breakfast and the afternoon tea; and indeed the restaurant is a perfect venue for any special occasions from a romantic meal to a wonderful wedding reception.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Stuart Earp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

lovely restaurant and great food my husband and i used a living social voucher which gave us a limited choice from the main menu however the choices we did have were very good we both had leek and potato veloute with a salmon croquette and for the main i had the cod loin with a herb crust this was a great meal very tasty and all the meal was really well presented the puddings were also good my husband had icecream you get three scoops which was presented on meringue nests and i had sticky toffee and date pudding which came with a ginger snap basket with vanilla icecream in it the whole meal was really good and the staff were friendly overall a good place to eat we had a voucher but the menu offers two courses for £9.95 my main would have cost £16.00 we also had a side dish of french fries which were the best we have ever tastied it came with a dish of fabulous mayo worth going just for that

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank meanderer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear meanderer40,

Thank you for leaving your feedback of your visit in The Vine Restaurant.

I am pleased to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere. We constantly run promotions for our restaurant, please enquire on 01722 323334.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will come back to dine with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Stuart Earp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

In summary a good place to stay and good value for your money but in need of a decorative revamp. The Red Lion hotel in Salisbury can be best summed up as “English Traditional”. It’s been there hundreds of years and in a sense the 21st Century has passed it by. It is neither bad no good - just somewhere in between. The location is convenient for the centre of town but with limited parking although there are public car parks close to hand. Breakfast is good and reasonably priced but we did not eat in the hotel in the evening. The decor of the hotel is cluttered with colourful carpets, blue and white ceramics on every wall and decor that is generally dated. The bedroom was clean and tidy but again the decor was just out of date.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Marc S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay at our property.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the great location of the hotel and also that the breakfast was to your satisfaction.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us about your stay and how we can improve you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I hope you will come back and see us again!

Kind regards,
Stuart Earp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you wish to stay in a really old English hotel in the heart of the Cathedral city of Salisbury, then this hotel is well worth a visit for either business or pleasure! Rated by the AA as 3 Star and popular with the locals! Parking available at hotel. Staying here will give you the opportunity to see Salisbury and sample some of its many restaurants and pubs!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BARRYONEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews