We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A hotel with history”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed for one night on a Saturday in room 22. The receptionist who greeted us was very friendly and helpful, and our check in was quick and easy. Our room was a reasonable size and clean, with a few unexpected touches (fireplace - not in use - in the room, and a lion mascot on the bed). It even had it's own iron and ironing board, which can be a luxury these days! The bed was comfy and the shower very decent. We had a great night's sleep. The restaurant had multiple options for tables, and we chose the atrium which was great on the sunny Sunday morning we woke up to. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was hearty. I would echo some of the warnings of the other reviewers regarding the noise at the front. When we got back to the hotel at around midnight, the street entrance was very busy and loud. I would not have wanted to be sleeping in one of the rooms above it! This is not your typical hotel; it is wonderfully English with lots of history and unusual touches. It's very very central and a 5 minute taxi from the train station. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Its_Small_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    367
    190
    77
    55
See reviews for
172
444
46
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This historic hotel and restaurant in the centre of Salisbury is well worth a visit. Rooms are well appointed, the breakfast superb and the restaurant of the highest standard... We shall certainly visit again. However if you are resident on a Friday or Saturday night be aware that the rooms on the front back on to the main street in the centre of Salisbury with "revellers"out and about until the early hours of the next morning. That's when those earplugs that were ready and waiting in the room come in useful!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaroonCases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were offered a very good last minute rate. Normally rates are between £110-£150 BB per night, but we got it for £69BB (low season?!)
Rachel checked us in, very friendly and professional. She took time to explain us the parking situation behind the hotel, as the hotel does only have parking spaces for blue badge holders, fair enough. The room was clean and very historically decorated! So was the whole hotel, starting from the old clock in Reception to the old fashioned Restaurant. Had lunch in the busy lounge area, which seems to be a very popular place for people in Salisbury-Fish & Chips Friday! Dinner in the evening was served in the Restaurant, again we couldn't fault anything! The staff were very friendly, specially Sian, she made the evening more enjoyable due to her honest customer care.
We ordered breakfast as room service in the morning, which arrived on time and without anything missing! And the best part was that David at Reception had offered us to put some money in the parking meter for us, so that we didn't had to get up early to avoid a ticket-fabulous service!
We will definetly be returning to the hotel! But as little tip..the hotel is located right in the city center, so when making the reservation mention a quiet room as it's located directly next to a night club and the busy high street, which we can imagine can be very disturbing on a busy Saturday night!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gold11LA_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Red Lion for one night on 25 February. I can not praise the hotel enough for the service, the standard of accommodation and value for money. We arrived at lunchtime on the Saturday and were warmly welcomed by the receptionist. We didn’t expect our room to be available but it was and what a beautiful room it was. We had a very comfortable seating area including a television and desk. The bathroom was in the middle, very clean with a separate shower and a big bath. The bedroom was lovely, very cosy and another television. The room was warm and very welcoming and we loved the cuddly lion – Charlie. Just one suggestion it would have been nicer to have had a duvet rather then sheets and blankets. We decided to have dinner as there was a very generous offer for three courses. The service in the restaurant was everything you could hope for, attentive and friendly. We really liked the ambience and the lighting was just right together with the soft background music. We also enjoyed the food! After a very good nights sleep we enjoyed a full English breakfast and some of the best toast we have had for a very long time. Why some hotels expect you to make your own toast is beyond me. Everything is brought to the table, except juices and cereal which were beautifully arranged, the breakfast was freshly cooked. Again the service was efficient and nothing was too much trouble. This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in and should have five stars for value, customer service and quality. We will be back very soon – a big thank you to everyone. Next time I will buy one of the cuddly lions as a memento of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Red Lion. Although it was only one night, we had a lovely comfortable room, apparently a honeymoon suite, as that was all that was available that night. The staff and service was fabulous. The building is very quaInt and full of charm and character. It was great to be able to sit outside in the gorgeous little garden and have a drink after a long day. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Having stayed in plenty of Best Westerns around USA, I've found that the BW's I've come across all tend to have a unique character and this one was no exception. It had that "old english" feel about it. From the exterior building to the cozy little rooms. The room itself isn't modern but its clean and I felt extremely comfortable because it felt cozy. Its not very big so can be a bit cramped if you are of a larger size. Location is great, as its in the city centre of Salisbury and within walking distance of the tourist sites. Breakfast was a treat and I especially liked how the jams were those boutique ones not the mass produced ones you get in supermarkets. Staff was extremely friendly too. There was a restaurant and bar on site but I didn't try them out except for breakfast.

Probably only downside is that you have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

we went to spend the weekend week on my honeymoon ... the hotel wonderful, horrible staff.
We had the celebration package: champangne​​, dinner, cake .... when we reached the restaurant, but there were three customers and three waiters and a manager. i has to to explain to them that we had dinner and including, because the staff didn´t know anything, nobody knew anything that had a wedding cake... the cake finally came up.... one hard and insipid cake, with the happy birthday message. The waitress throw it to the table she didn´t say anything and she gone laughing. The next morning when we gone back the home the reception didn´t believe it that we had paid two glasses of wine I had to find the receipt and display. NO RECOMMENDED!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiete
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing