We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wouldn't stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Semington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We wouldn't stay there again!”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in this hotel, we were there for a wedding reception. I originally enquired about a room by email and was given a 'discounted' rate for wedding guests of £65 per night, I then enquired through Legacy Hotels and was given a rate of £60 per night, when I queried this with reception by email, they just told me to book direct with Legacy.

On our arrival, the gentleman on reception was hardly welcoming, more intent on swiping my credit card, even though I had pre-paid for the room. Our room, (No. 6) was in the original part of the hotel and was very small despite being offered as a Deluxe Double, the bed and the pillows were extremely hard, the room was cold, with only one small radiator, there was no heating at all in the bathroom! The temperature fluctuated so much in the shower that it was quite dangerous. Thre was black mildew/mould all around the bathroom window. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening and it was very good, the waiter Gill, was exceptionally helpful and friendly throughout our visit, although I have to say he was the only one. Continental breakfast was included in our room rate, but on the first morning my husband also requested poached eggs, he was given two poached eggs on a plate, with nothing else, they weren't even on toast, and for that he was charged £4.95!! In fact there seemed to be many extra charges, such as £3.95 if paying by credit card, £5 extra for breakfast in your room, £5 supplement for room service etc.

On the plus side, the views from the hotel restaurant are superb, and if you are lucky enough to have the right room. There is a free car park, and it is situated in a quiet street, just a short walk from the cathedral and city centre.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    311
    138
    59
    38
See reviews for
107
518
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend brake the hotel and our room were very clean the service was excellent and the food was not to be faulted. The service was both freindly and efficient.We stayed in the new wing that has fantastic views of the river and cathederal looking through the watermeadows.The temperature outside was freezing so it was very welcoming to come back to such a warm room! I would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Salisbury.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrexhamvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2010

This hotel was beautiful and lovely but the bed was actually two twin beds pushed together. It was so odd considering it really is a posh hotel. Everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkology79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Rose & Crown as a mid-term break between Christmas and New Year. We were cordially met and efficiently dealt with at check-in. Our 'oldie worldy' room was immaculate - the odd creaking floorboard being part of the ambiance. The highlight of our stay was the service we received in the restaurant; faultless, friendly and highly professional. I have written to the hotel management praising the quality of the staff in attendance. Check-out was less efficient - the receptionist simply 'doing the job and no more'. The hotel location is fantastic for accessing Salisbury on foot; and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evo4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I booked a weekend away with my partner and did not tick the flexibility payment which is an extra charge which means you can alter your booking. Unfortunately I had to do just that and found that I could only stay one night and not two as I had booked. I appealed to the hotel and to the head office without any joy whatsoever. No-one was prepared to over rule the 'policy'. Consequently I found I had paid for two nights and could only stay one. Some peole may say this was my fault and I should have taken out the additional flexibility insurance. I think personally this is a rip off and unfair on the customer because unforeseen events do happen over which there is no control. Having said all that the hotel themselves were excellent, I receieved an unpgrade on my room and free champers and fruit which was really good of them and much appreciated. The hotel itself is lovely, accommodation is brilliant and food very good. My advice is to bite the bullet and take out the flexibility insurance when you book, it may save you a lot of money in the long run. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Great location, right near the cathedral and only a short walk to the city centre. Hotel is on a quiet street, with dedicated car parking.

Room had wood beams and nice original features. The hotel also provided the usual tea and coffee making bits and bobs, and the usual array of toiletries. However it felt impersonal, and the contemporary furnishings were charmless and incongruous to the original features.

Hotel had a restaurant and the service was polite and prompt at breakfast. The continental breakfast was a bit sparse and the cooked breakfast was filling, but the quality of the food wasn't of a particularly high standard, certainly not worth the price on the menu. The restaurant does has a stunning view of the River Avon, and the staff were keen to seat us at a table with river views. In the summer you can sit on the terrace, however, as it was winter, the terrace was not open.

We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner, as there was a dress code (no jeans, and a jacket required) and, as we were not expecting this, since such a dress code seemed ridiculously out-of-keeping with the nature of the place, my partner did not bring suitable attire. This lost the hotel custom, as we would have rather liked to eat at the hotel restaurant one night - from both curiosity and convenience.

We also visited one of the hotel bars (one is for residents, one open to the public), and again, the service was polite and friendly, and the bar itself had a nice, personal atmosphere; again you are surrounded by original features. However, we could hear music coming from below us in the bar until the bar closed at around 11.30pm, which was somewhat annoying when we needed an early start.

The staff on the reception were also pleasant and always had a smile for us.

Overall, I would say that the location is great, the hotel was clean, and since it has been refurbished in recent years, the fittings are new. However it does not seem to have been refurbished in sympathy with the original features and could benefit from being less like a 'chain' hotel and having a slightly more personal touch.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayneolschak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

We had a wonderful weekend at the L.R.C. Hotel, beautful old room dating from 15th Century, wooden beams etc...pretty river outside restuarant in gardens......Sean the Deputy Manager was on duty at breakfast...great sence of humour.........hope one day whilst in U.K. we'll return

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuervtttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
565 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing