We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, friendly, great location. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent a very nice weekend here. Great location for cathedral and town centre - easy 10 min walk. Didn't try the restaurant but small cosy bar had nice beer and the continental breakfast was perfectly adequate for us. Service was very friendly and everyone helpful. Our room, 15,in the modern extension looked out across the meadows to the cathedral. It was very spacious and comfortably furnished and I'd imagine in summer it would be lovely strolling out to the garden.
Just one very little niggle .. Bit of noise spill from the corridor and other rooms- the fabric of this new part seemed to accentuate footsteps!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Deswahriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on your stay at the hotel,I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 893 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Booked an overnight stay in early December to visit the city and Xmas Market. Hotel is in a quiet area just 5 minutes walk from cathedral and 10 minutes from city centre. There is ample free car parking, free and fast wifi plus all the rooms have recently been refurbished; we had a double in the garden wing with wonderful views over the river to the cathedral. Room was very good size. But what made this really special was the friendly and helpful attitude of all the staff, always having a friendly smile, wave and lots of free info, be it about the food on the menu or the city itself. They even offered to serve us food from the bar menu after normal hours as we arrived early afternoon. (Check in is from an early 1400 and yet check out is until 1100, again very unusual.) The breakfast buffet was good quality and good variety, certainly didn't need to take the optional upgrade to Full English. My wife and I were made to feel so welcome - we will try to come back next summer for a second visit. Well done to the manager and all staff!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mikeaberks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that the hotel was a perfect location for your stay,the team look forward to being of assistance to you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

One of the most friendly hotels we have stayed in. The staff were so polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Views from the restaurant and our room were lovely and only a short stroll to Salisbury Cathedral and shops. Food quality was great as was the service. Will return again.

Room Tip: The modern extension was lovely and peaceful, most with river views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel and its facilities to your liking we do hope that you will consider The Rose & Crown on your next visit to Salisbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I've just stayed one night D B & B at this hotel. Dinner was Pumpkin and veg soup, Red Snapper, new potato mash and minted peas. Washed down with a couple of drinks from the Bar. Very nice. My friend had the soup and a steak. We both had a room on the main building. It was full of olde worldy charm. The hot water pressure was staggering for a heritage property. I think it was connected to a car jet wash. At breakfast in the daylight, I got to see the view of the river bank. Fab place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay3025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments following your stay at the hotel,I was delighted to read that you found the hotel had charm,the team do hope that you will consider the Rose & Crown on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I recently stayed with my wife to take in the sights of Salisbury and the Christmas markets and booked the Rose & Crown for an overnight stay.The hotel was fantastic and the staff were exceptional (when we told them that we had travelled down from Manchester, they even booked us into room number 7 called Beckham which happened to be his old number at Manchester United!). We stayed in the old part of the hotel, which was like stepping into a time machine, but the rooms were well equipped with all the modern amenities. The hotel was only a short walk away from the centre of Salisbury and was really easy to get to. We dined in the hotel restaurant and the food was nice with the restaurant staff being really friendly and helpful wherever possible. All in all, it was a great stay and we would definitely recommend staying.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bunmi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback made following your recent visit to the hotel,I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I love historic hotels that provide a step back in time and the Rose and Crown ensured that it was a wonderful trip. We requested a room in their historic section but when we arrived there was not one available for us so we upgraded to a suite which was a beautiful room. The room included a table/ chairs, sofa, TV, desk, closet and a comfortable king-sized canopy bed. The bathroom was modern and large. In the restaurant we had dinner and breakfast and both meals were very tasty. The evening dinner menu had interesting gourmet selections. The front desk and restaurant staff who answered our myriad of questions were very helpful and friendly. The beautiful location of the hotel on the Avon River complete with swans is a short walk to the cathedral. The facility was well maintained except the carpet in the restaurant is due for a upgrade. The restaurant has great views of the river. We hope we can return to enjoy this hotel's ambience again.

Room Tip: Confirm by phone to make sure they book the type of room you prefer.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments following your stay,the hotel is truly remarkable with a fantastice motivated team of staff and I was pleased that the staff and hotel fulfilled youe expectations,we look forward to offering a warm welcome on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed 2 nights on Business and thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. When i checked in i was advised i had been upgraded to the best room in the hotel!! Really pleased with this. The hotel and room were great and cannot fault them at all. The staff were very helpful and friendly and you could ask no more from them or the hotel. Will def stay here again when down this way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andyquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback in relation to your recent stay,I was pleased to read that yiou enjoyed the hotel and we will welcome on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $108 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing