We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I are here after a late change in my work shifts and a last minute decision to go away and what a find. We found this hotel on the internet and took advantage of the sunday saver deal. It is so easy to find, it is just outside the centre of salisbury and backs onto the river. Saying that just a 10 minute walk round the corner and you are outside salisbury cathedral and right in the centre of the city. This hotel is wonderfully clean and well presented and a bit of a old and modern fusion. Sara on reception was particularly welcoming friendly and helpful. Our room is big, clean and warm and looks right over the garden and river and field opposite. It is completely silent and the heavy curtains permit virtually complete darkness. Sleeping in the bed is like being enveloped in a lovely cuddle, it is so comfortable. There are your own radiators and you can open the windows so titrate the environment to your personal taste. The shower is hot and strong and there is a good selection of tea and coffee making facilities. The bar is tucked away just off reception and has a fair selection of beverages. We didnt eat dinner here but the menu looked nice. All in all a lovely hotel to spend the night and a fantastic deal. Only downside is there is no walkways along the river from the hotel but that is nobodys fault.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Clare1511,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay here at the Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel.

The team will take a great deal of encouragement and inspiration in knowing that you experienced our outstanding levels of hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting Salisbury.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 909 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Werner H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Couldn't fault the hotel. service was excellent , rooms extremely clean - we were upgraded to executive and they were lovely large rooms with amazing views.
We had a meal in with our room booking and the food was excellent on both evenings, would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alipaulwalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear alipaulwalsall,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel.

I know that our team will take a great deal of encouragement and inspiration for rating us 5 stars in all areas that you experienced.
As a business we go to great lengths to ensure that our customers receive outstanding levels of hospitality and I am so happy that this is exactly what you experienced.

Customer feedback is extremely important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Inn is situated in a lovely setting ,,idyllic but this is where this wonderful picture stops .
The reception we received in booking in was more than frosty ,,An ice pick would have been invaluable ,,not a good impression when you are booking in for a stay .An unwelcome receptionist can set the tone for your get away.We were with family so we turned it all around and made it in to a comedy event .
Breakfast was advertised as a continental fare ,, make sure you ask for the selection of ham and cheeses as it will not be forthcoming ,, The selection is an exaggeration of the word but ensure you ask for it to be served to your table ,, The staff at breakfast for the most were austere and unsmiling .This hotel is noted for its wedding venues but we all left feeling we would never want to hold a reception here because the staff were for the most part non smiling and unfriendly.
I need to add that our waitress both at dinner and breakfast was more than helpful but she for the most part stood out because of this .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veganwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear lovetoealots,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your reviews on Tripadvisor.
Naturally we are very disappointed that the hospitality you received was not up to our normal high standards and I can assure you that what you experienced was an isolated incident.

I have instructed our Front Office and Restaurant Managers to undertake further training with their respective teams on service standatds.

Customer feedback is extremely important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to our beautiful hotel when you are next visiting the area thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night having got a £75 deal and was pleasantly surprised, its a lovely place the room was fantastic, clean and comfy and the staff were great. There was a wedding that day which meant only one small bar was open which was not in keeping with the rest of the beautiful period theme of the hotel. There was no ale and not a lot of choice of beers. The restaurant was closed also leaving a small room at the end of the hotel for this purpose. Food looked expensive for what it was but not really fair to comment as we only had the continental breakfast which was fine.
There's a pub 2 mins from the hotel (Hungry Horse) which served great beer and really good cheap food. If you want meat and cheese at breakfast you have to ask.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommo250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Tommo 250,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to the Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel.

Customer feedback is very important to us which we share amongst the team and I have taken both the positives and areas you feel we can improve upon on board.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Although booking a couple of nights independently, we were part of a wedding party that held the evning reception there. The room we had, No29, overlooked the gardens and river with Salisbury Cathedral in the background - one of the best hotel bedroom views we've experienced. The bed was huge and very comfortable.

The wedding reception meal, often a cause for little anticipation, was of a very good quality and the hard-working staff managed to remain calm and cheerful in the semi-mayhem. The Manager remained very helpful throughout and all had a relaxing and enjoyable time by common consensus.

Keep your eyes open for cheap deals. We eventually found a deal at £70 B+B per night, which was good value. Recommended

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the western end of the hotel - 25-29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scanners22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Scanners 22,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our hotel.

I am so glad to read that you enjpyed both our hospitality and facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel itself, the staff, the room and location are outstanding. It is adjacent to the river and Catherdral and a very easy walk into salisbury City centre.

The Car Park is next to the Hotel. However, the evening meal was appalling. For £20 I recieved a "whole" sea bass which resembled an undersized sprat, 1 crushed potato and some soggy green veg that was identifiable as it had no taste. All three nights were similar. Very very expensive and a poor standard.

I would stay at the Hotel again but ONLY on a B & B Basis.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revellien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

THankyou very much for your comments regarding your stay here at the Legacy Rose and Crown and that you enjoyed the facilites here at the Rose and Crown. I am sorry though that we did not meet your expectations for the dinner element and that i have passed these comments on to the Head Chef was disappointed too. Please when in the area next and at the Legacy Rose and Crown make yourself known so we can have a cup of tea to discuss this.

Look forward to welcoming you to the Legacy Rose and Crown.

Stephen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $77 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing