We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wine & dine weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked our stay at the Rose & Crown by shear chance. They had the 'Winter Warmer' offer on, so I thought this was a lovely choice for my husbands Birthday treat! Well, it certainly didn't dissappoint! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly & polite. Unfortunately, the room we were given wasn't the room I had asked for when I booked. (In the old part of the hotel) However, the receptionist did no more than offer us the 'Four Poster' room!, (as it was my husbands birthday) we were very happy, as it is a truly beautiful room!! Although the Hotel was very quite, due to the time of year, we were very well looked after. The Hotel Manageress told us she had lit the fire for us in the lounge, which we thought was a lovely touch to make us feel welcome. The Hotel also has a very good chef, who delivers superb food! (recommend the Scallops and the Poached Chicken breast) Everywhere in the Hotel is very clean & tidy, we had everything we needed in our room, plus the complimentary bottle of wine. The Hotel is well positioned, a lovely little walk from the city. We are planning to return to the Rose & Crown again soon, to see more of Salisbury, and this Hotel & it's staff is the perfect place to be able to do this!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the positive comments you have for the Legacy Rose and Crown and im glad you took advantage of the Legacy Wine and Dine offer, which are some times too good to be true!
I have passed on your comments to the relevant teams and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit.

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 893 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for a relative recently and although the staff were generally perfectly friendly, the management has soooo much to learn about what good service consists of. For example, meals ordered in the room were left there until quite late the following day, sometimes they weren't picked up until the late afternoon. The room wasn't cleaned thoroughly. The wine list in the restaurant is frankly poor, leaving a lot to be desired. And my disabled relative was not offered any help to carry her bagage to the room, though in plain sight of two members of staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thankyou for the comments regarding your stay at the Legacy Rose and Crown and i am sorry that we did not meet or exceed your expectations during your stay. I have passed on your comments to housekeeping and front of house where we will look at where we can improve in the future. I do hope to see you again when next visiting the area.

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Only stayed one night, but would have loved to stay a few more nights to discover Salisbury.
Our room was in the original part of the building, dating back to I think the 1600's. room was large, clean and comfortable with all the modern cons. but included original rustic exposed beams and whitewashed walls.part of the charm was the slightly uneven floor and warped beams ( it is after all around 400 years + old).
Greeting at reception was friendly and helpful.
The bar was fairly average and lacked atmosphere with limited drink selection and a limited food selection, just typical 'pub' food.
Breakfast was an average continental breakfast - filling and adequate. The breakfast room/ restaurant overlooks the Avon River with a tranquil vista, although it is in the middle of the city/ suburbia.
Overall, the hotel was well presented with pleasant staff, close to the city centre. Can be a bit hard to find, especially since they were doing road works on the nearby main rd.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section, very atmospheric - no apparent ghosts.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for the comments regarding your stay at the Legacy Rose and Crown, and am very pleased you enjoy your stay. The rooms within the main house certainly hold the more traidtional charachters of a old building, with the new wing having looks over the river and cathedral... although we havent found too many ghosts...yet!
Again thankyou for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Legacy Rose and Crown.
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were warmly welcomed to a spacious room overlooking river and Cathedral.Throughout our visit staff cheerful and caring.Food-continental and dinner excellent.Spent day in Salisbury and
attended Evensong in Cathedral.Reunion Xmas lunch enjoyed by all.We will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at The Rose and Crown for 2 nights. PARKING Free on site
ROOM was very comfortable and quiet. Please see photo of the room and the view of the river from our window
LOCATION Brilliant ! A short walk into Salisbury in a quiet location. Right next to the river.
BREAKFAST Continental was adequate for us. You can order a cooked breakfast for an extra £5. We really enjoyed breakfast watching the ducks, sheep and chickens.
A friendly Hotel where we felt welcome. We would love to stay there again and probably will as there is a lot to do and see in Salisbury

Room Tip: Some rooms have a few steps up or down to them. Let the hotel know if you cannot manage steps
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappymouseWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

this hotel is old... but it has atmosphere, the overhead beams, crooked walls and uneven floor actually are a fun feature. and quite close to walk to the cathedral and shops in the city. room size is good. breakfast average.
the staff though friendly were at times a little standoffish..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss-Robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

24 of us from Kingston Rotary Club enjoyed three nights (DBB) culminating in the Gala Evening on New Year's Eve. We had a brilliant time, food and accommodation were great and staff friendly and attentive. We never go back twice to the same venue but would happily stay at another Legacy Hotel on the strength of this visit. Walking into Salisbury was easy and pleasant with plenty to see and do.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the original medieval building but more in a modern extension. Great views of River an...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $108 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing