We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A National Treasure?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Sudarg
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A National Treasure?”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We had booked a room for two nights, 20th & 21st of December, our regular stays in Salisbury hade been at the White Hart, but we thought that a change, coupled with the obscenely low price offered, was overdue. We're glad that we did.
On arrival we presented ourselves at reception and after a brief interlude while the receptionist helped some confused Americans, who were having problems with the Queen's English, make arrangements to be at Stonehenge the following morning at dawn (along with sundry other new-age travellers, hippies and part time Druids bearing ram's horns) to witness the winter solstice. This information given in words of one & two syllables, we were checked in by a knowledgeable and erudite staff member. We were advised that the restaurant was closed that evening due to a nuptial celebration but that we could, if we wished, dine in the Avon Bar.
Our room was No1 and was superb in every detail. Everything that should be there was just so. The bed was comfortable and the decor above reproach. Exposed beams abounded!
Dinner was taken in the bar and I consumed probably the nicest cod 'n chips I've ever had in a pub. This was washed down with a couple of pints of Sir Arthur's prize-winning 'black stuff'. The Memsahib had a delectable jacket potato filled with beans and cheese, which caused minor problems later. A large glass of Pinot Grigio accompanied this.
"And so", as Samuel Pepys was wont to say, "to bed!" A very comfortable night.
A wonderfully refreshing shower in the morning was followed by a tasty continental-style (minus the cold meats) breakfast.
Parking is easy here and the benefit of a charming stroll across the meadow, past the Cathedral into the City will be obvious to all.
We would recommend this charming establishment to all who seek a characterful, comfortable and convenient place to stay in Salisbury.
Finally, the "National Treasure" I mention in the title, refers not only to the building but to the receptionist who I see has been referred to as a 'Mad Woman' and more beside. She is merely all that is best in the English hospitality industry. She is not 'mad' but 'eccentric', a treasured quality to which many aspire but few achieve.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    307
    133
    59
    38
See reviews for
106
514
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were given a very spacious room which overlooked the river and gardens. The bathroom was very large too. A nice receptionist checked us in and gave us all the information we neded for our stay. We had a huge comfortable bed and tea and coffee making facilities in the room and also iron and ironing board.
In the morning we went to the restaurant for continental breakfast which was included in the price, we didn't know about the availability of ham and cheese and didn't see a menu!
I tried to use the shower to wash my hair but the water was red hot and we couldn't turn it down so I was unable to use the shower at all. When we checked out, we remarked on the shower and the receptionist just said "oh", no apology nothing. It was a shame as other than that we had a good stay.
It is literally a few minutes walk into the town, so a very handy location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magwii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Legacy Rose and Crown is a nice hotel. Don't get me wrong. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was clean and well prepared.

However, I'm forced to give this hotel a three star rating because it advertises itself to be a four star hotel - that is, just one star away from the actual top (five star) of the international hotel ranking and grading system.

By the four star standard that it sells itself at, this excellent two star or decent three star-graded hotel must be ranked at most 3/5. It's a very nice motel to spend the night what with its very unspectacular breakfast and unprofessional but informally friendly staff (the same woman was at the front desk at 8am that had been there at 9pm previously), but that's it.. a nice motel with a bit of architectural charm in its old bits but mostly just a creaky modern nowhere of a place--a motel.

Change your self-selected category into 3*, and this would easily be a 4/5 or maybe if the breakfast was slightly less consisting of tesco value toast a 5/5. The rooms really are very decent by a 3* standard and the rest of the hotel is adequate by 3* standard.

Room Tip: ask for a river-facing room or you'll get the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeathBeforeBreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rose & Crown for a week-end on their Wine and Dine offer to celebrate my husband's birthday. We booked an executive room.

On arrival we were greeted by two cheerful members of staff who gave us our key and explained the whereabouts of the restaurant and bar.

Our room was on the first floor very spacious and, to our surprise, had two leather sofas. There was a lovely view of the river and the Cathedral. The bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom large. The only downside to the bathroom was that the tap on the sink was so powerful that it soaked the floor (there was a warning notice) and the bath panel needed updating. Overall the room was spacious, clean and well equipped with extremely comfortable sofas. Double glazing would have been a bonus.

The restaurant was of a conservatory style and overlooked the river with views to the Cathedral. Dinner was very nice (if a little quiet and slow) and the wine a little expensive. The staff were exceptionally friendly.

After a good night's sleep we went down for breakfast. On the first morning it was not explained to us that there was cheese and ham available on the continental breakfast selection but, to be fair, if we had found a menu we would have read this. We were given a menu on the second morning. We certainly did not leave feeling hungry!!

Salisbury Cathedral and the shops were within easy walking distance of the hotel - as was the market on the Saturday morning. The receptionist had given us a map and told us about the market and shown us a lovely route for a walk.

Dinner on the second night was taken in a smaller room due to a function in the main restaurant. The room was not as nice as the main restaurant but adequate as there were not very many guests actually having dinner (we rattled around in the main restaurant on the first night). The menu was the same as the night before which did not leave me much choice being a vegetarian, but I had a lovely cheese salad instead. My husband, being a meat and fish eater, had plenty of choice.

Overall our stay was very pleasant, our room better than we expected and the staff the friendliest we have ever found in a hotel - not even one frosty one!! If again in the area we would certainly consider another stay at the Rose and Crown.

Room Tip: The views from the first floor of the newer wing were lovely with no overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely weekend away in this hotel (without the children). We, too, were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews but we didn't need to have worried! We had an Executive room and did the wine and dine package which was great and very good value for money. The room was an excellent size, the bed was large and very comfortable and there was a full size bath which is unusual in hotels these days! The only downside was the VERY creaky ceiling. When the people above woke up and started walking around at 7am both mornings it woke us up, but that is probably to be expected in a hotel this old. The food was lovely both nights (especially the desserts!) and, as it was not busy, the service was excellent.

The breakfast was great, too. We paid extra on our first morning to have a cooked breakfast which was lovely but just had the continental on the second day which was great too - lovely fresh croissants.

The location was great - it was a lovely, short walk to the cathedral and to Salisbury and a lovely walk from the hotel. We managed to do most of our Christmas shopping on the Saturday - the shops are great especially the toy shop called Smyths which is slightly out of town next to the Waitrose store.

The receptionist was lovely and very chatty and managed to keep cheerful despite working from 7am til 11pm both days - which we thought was very excessive working hours!

We would definitely recommend this hotel, especially the wine and dine package.

Room Tip: Our Executive rooms (no 16) was in the new part of the hotel and has access to the garden and river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great old building right by the river. The room was nice - one of the more unique hotel rooms I have stayed in. The location was great - it was right by the river and slightly out of the center of town. Breakfast was basic - nothing special. I would stay here again if I ever found myself back in Salisbury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The good:
* This hotel has an old section and a modern section. We stayed in the old section and it is absolutely beautiful. It has beautiful wooden beams in the walls and ceiling adding so much character to the hotel.
* The breakfast is quite extensive, and offers cereals, bacon and eggs (for extra), croissants and breads.
* Beautiful aspect over the river which you can see from the breakfast room.
* Free wifi

The bad:
* The woman on reception was a bit odd. She had a fairly dry sense of humour which was a bit off-putting. Having said that, I don't think she was intending to be unfriendly, just very English.
* Bathroom was OK, but water pressure was quite bad.

Overall:
I think the value of this hotel is in its historic building. You should come here to stay in a lovely old historic pub.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
972 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
760 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing