We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    374
    206
    66
    35
See reviews for
158
446
34
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
182 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Traveling from Salisbury, Maryland, I was a guest at the Mayor Making of the 753rd Mayor of Salisbury, Penny Brown. The White Hart is walking distance of the downtown area, so it was not necessary to have a car to drive on the "wrong" side of the street. My single room was on the second floor with no "lift." Breakfast was included and there was a nice pub in the hotel. Being an older building, the floors did creak, but that's a part of the charm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear RetiredAnalyst

Thank you for taking the time to post your remarks following your stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart for such an important event. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be perfectly located for your needs near to the centre of Salisbury.

I hope we have the pleasure in your company upon your return to the UK in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here as a result of attending a wedding in the nearby Dorset border. The bride/groom chose this hotel because of its proximity to the station and easy access.

I stayed 2 nights and found the personal service and customer care to be really excellent. It really was the USP for this hotel. The receptionist who checked me in could not have been more helpful.

My room was lovely and the hotel in general lived up to its reputation as being one of the finest hotels in Salisbury.

Room Tip: I had a room with a four poster bed which was large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear JanetMay2013

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that your stay was made enjoyable by the staff who gave excellent customer care and service throughout your stay and have shared your comments with them especially the Reception team with whom you made reference to.

Once again thank you for your review and hope we may be of service in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is a listed building and has a country house feel to it. As it is listed, unfortunately there is not a lift.
We ate breakfast and dinner there on all of our three day stay. The food was excellent on all occasions.
It was very quiet in the restaurant ,each evening, though. I feel that the hotel needs to advertise the evening dinner to guests more. We were surprised to discover that the dinner menu was not available until 5pm on the day.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. Again, because the building is listed, there is no air conditioning. The weather was hot when we stayed, and so the room did get very warm at night. Overall this was a very good, enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you find stairs a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandKathy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear EnglandKathy21

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had a very good and enjoyable break with us and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have also shared your kind words about the excellent food at breakfast and dinner with both the Kitchen brigade and Restaurant team and I am sure that this will serve as great motivation for them.

Once again thank you for choosing the White Hart and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, Geenral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful hotel. Staff very attentive and very helpful. Room was very plush and a bed you dont want to get out of. Breakfast options very good. Would definitely stay again as its location is perfect! Staff are only too willing to guide you to the best places if your stuck on where to go eating and drinking if you dont want to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsabelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Elsabelsa

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I have shared your kind words with the team and was pleased to read that you found them to be attentive and helpful during your stay and as always will serve as great motivation.

I was further delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast whilst staying with us and have shared this with the kitchen brigade.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward in welcoming you back to the White Hart in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
228 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked this hotel for a single night stop over enroute to North Dorset for us parents and our 6 year old son. On arrival the carpark was clearly signposted to right around the block but brought us in right behind the hotel where there was plenty of parking and easy access through to reception. The reception area is nicely decorated with some quirky finishing touches. The desk staff checked us in easily but unfortunately when we arrived in our room it became clear that the website we booked through had not passed on that we needed a room for 3 of us! The staff sorted this out quickly enough and the resulting room was absolutely fine, with the exception of lacking air conditioning which we really could have done with as leaving a window open in a city centre can be pretty noisy but it was bearable for 1 night.

Breakfast was standard buffet but presented nicely and of reasonable quality for the price.

This hotel is in a great location for investigating the city which we found to be lovely and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you let the hotel know direct of any requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aengusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear aengusmum

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I have shared your comments with the team and I am sure this will serve as great motivation for them and was pleased to read that they responded to your requests in a timely manner.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here in June in an "executive room". No idea what the word executive implies because it was quite a small room with two small chairs to sit in next to the bed. The room was quite shabby and showing wear and tear in places, the bathroom was large but unimpressive. Temperature of the room and hotel was boiling hot (this was before the heat wave)

This wouldn't have been such a negative review if we hadn't paid quite so much for it - £289 a night. For this we could have stayed in the Dorchester in London. Instead we stayed at a three-star hotel which though it had a beautifully redone reception and lovely staff the room was utterly disappointing and I dread to think what a regular room looks like in terms of size. It's a typical Mercure property. Thinks it's posh but execution lacking by a mile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverswisstracksuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear silverswisstracksuit

Thank you for taking the time in posting your review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

However I was concerned to read your comments and ask that if you contact me directly concerning these so that I may investigate further for you.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Property: Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing