We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip made by hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Trip made by hotel”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a visiting choir singing daily services at the cathedral while their choir was on summer holiday.

I found the hotel to be clean, efficient, comfortable,friendly and very conveniently located right beside the cathedral complex.

The receptionists particularly were very friendly and attentive and the night porter Ian who provided drinks in the residents bar in the evening for us after a busy day singing was fantastic with us and he made our trip. For an Irish choir, the town's culture of closing all alcohol serving at 11 was a big problem for us, but Ian sorted out the issue!

Alex was a great bar man during the day for us recommending fantastic cocktails and is also an asset to the hotel

Thanks again for the fantastic service, there is no doubt this hotel made my holiday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank fredordead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear fredordead

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Salisbury.

I was especially pleased to read that you found the team at the hotel to be efficient, friendly and attentive and providing a clean and comfortable environment for both you and your party, and will share your additional compliments with both Ian and Alex.

Once again thank you, and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    380
    210
    68
    35
See reviews for
162
457
35
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. Luckily we have aircontioning but not all the rooms have this,i phoned before hand saying i wanted this,after seeing a review on trip.the bathroom is spacious and modern, the bedroom small, dated, bed very small for 2 people.creaky floor boards, you hear the people above you moving around. The hotel is perfectly situated in the center of Salisbury, salisbury is a beautiful city and worth a visit.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Kelly M

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a good stay with us and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Salisbury.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Just left the hotel after a week alone with my children. The first night was very unconfortable because of the unusual hot weather in a room with thick carpets, curtains and double-glazing windows and no A/C, but we were moved to a renovated room with AC on the second day and could fully enjoy the charm of this hotel. Wifi was free but only really available in the reception area. Staff at the front desk - Montse, Megan and other girls whose names I unfortunately do not remember - were always nice and willing to help us with anything. We only ate at the hotel restaurant once, but we had a delightful dinner in a beautiful garden. Again, the waiters and waitresses were very nice to me and the kids. The location is a plus. Close to the Cathedral and pubs, markets and shops. If you have problems with parties and large groups of people this may not be an ideal place for people travelling on business. We enjoyed watching the happy people coming and going from wedding receptions, though, but I realize we were on holiday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travelmomwith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Travelmomwith2

Thank you for taking the time to post your remarks following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel.

It was great to read such glowing remarks about the team in relation to the two receptionists mentioned and the waiting staff, your comments have been shared with the staff and will serve as great motivation for the entire team.

I was further pleased to read that we able to accommodate you with your requests, and with the current good weather you were able to enjoy al fresco dining in our courtyard in the evening.

Once again thank you for your feedback and hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Unfortunately my stay coincided with a school leavers' party being held downstairs. Drunken teenagers falling about; far too much noise, vomit on the pavement outside. I had asked for my room to be aired prior to arrival, but it was like a sauna. I managed to find a fan in a wardrobe but it was too late. Opening the window only added to the noise from the function room. the bed was old & "lumpy". I got very little sleep before an important business meeting
Bar person did not appear sober: only filled 2/3 of the glass, the remainder being froth & spilled my drink over my hand: he did not appear to notice & just turned his back on me.
A real shame because the rest of the staff on reception & in restaurant were excellent. The breakfast was also exceptional. I suggest the hotel does not take on kids's functions mid-week when business people stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank nonamemonmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear nonamemonmouth

Thank you for taking the time in posting your feedback following your recent stay.

Firstly thank you for your positive remarks regarding the excellent staff on reception and in the restaurant and can only apologise for the service recieved from the bar team on the evening of the stay.

I was further pleased to read that the breakfast on Friday morning was exceptional and have shared with the relevant teams.

I am fully investigating all the points raised, and can inform you that we are investing further in our bedroom stock later this year.

Thank you again for taking the time in writing your review and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had an (adult) family weekend in Salisbury and the White Hart met our expectations. Comfortable, with nice rooms and helpful staff the hotel is well positioned being near the Cathedral Close. Our (4) rooms were at the side of the hotel, some facing on the street, and all were quiet. Breakfast was good. Our only gripe was that the air conditioning in the rooms could not cope with the very hot weather, and we had to open our windows to get cool.

Room Tip: Best to get a room at the side of the hotel, although roads are not that busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJennings_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear DJennings_12

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart.

I was pleased to read that your expectations were met in that the hotel is well positioned for the cathedral, the bedrooms were comfortable and that the team were helpful and that we provided a good breakfast.

Rest assured the comments will be shared with the team and will serve as great motivation to the entire team.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

An excellent hotel to stay at in Salisbury, location is great being walking distance to city centre and some sightseeing areas. Staff most helpful and friendly. The only comment the first morning we had trouble ordering breakfast, the buffet was not on, and we waited over half an hour for an order to be taken. We would recommend this hotel to any travellers wishing to stay in Salisbury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Lorraine S

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury White Hart and for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay.

The hotel is ideally located for the centre of the city and the famous Cathedral and was pleased that you benefited from our location.

It is always pleasing to read postive feedback concerning the team at the hotel in that they were both helpful and friendly during your visit, and feel assured that your comments will be shared with the entire team.

Thank you further for your recommendation to others and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our friends booked this hotel for the four of us and it was quite nice. I especially liked the room on the main level where we sat and enjoyed coffee in the afternoon. The young woman at the front desk was very helpful in suggesting a place for dinner. Breakfast was e nicest of any of the places we stayed on our holiday. It was very convenient to the center of town and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Judy K

Thank you for posting your review of the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy our comfortable lounge for your afternoon coffee and that the breakfast served was the best during your holiday and have passed on your comments to the Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager to share with their teams.

As always positive comments regarding the team serve as motivation to others and are much appreciated in that you found the receptionist in question to be helpful during your stay.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to write your review and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
862 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
385 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Property: Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing