We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Pros and Cons. Pros are location, lovely comfy bar, beautifully clean and a good mix of traditional and modern, it has a big car park and the staff are lovely, professional and attentive. Cons are too few staff, doing their best, no lift so second floor and heavy bags is an issue, it is far too hot and my room had no controls (but thankfully a window) and the value for the location is superb. The best hotel in Salisbury centre by miles.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Toqiz

Many thanks for posting your recent review of the hotel.

I am always pleased to read positive comments relating to the team at the hotel and was gladdened to read that you found the staff to be professional and attentive during your stay as this serves as great motivation for the entire team.

I was further pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfy bar and lounge and that you found the hotel to be beautifully clean, and both the team and myself appreciate your ending comments.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Hotel is very good and excellent value for money. We only had breakfast in the hotel but the choise of food was first class & very fresh
The only fault with the Hotel was when we arrived at 2.00pm our room was not ready,This was not really a problem as the front desk staff locked our bags away and said the room would be ready in one hour, so we went off into town. When we arrived back at 5.00 pm the room was still not ready and we had to wait untill 6.00 pm for our room.We were offered no apology nor even a complamentry drink while we sat in the bar waiting. This let down an other wise very good experience

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank witheldno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear withheldNo

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart.

I was pleased to read that your stay was excellent value for money and that the hotel was very good with a first class breakfast.

Thank you further for bringing to my attention the delay in accessing your room upon your arrival at the hotel and I am currently investigating with the team to prevent any repetition in the future.

Once again thank you for your comments and hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The entrance of the hotel has preserved some stunning columns from the period when the hotel was built. Inside, the common areas have been refurbished and transformed into a granny style living room, very cosy and with a feminine touch.

The staff in not formal at all but they are nice and helpful and breakfast is served in a room surrounded with a garden which makes it quite pleasant.
It is a favourite for weddings apparently, so it can get quite noisy on a saturday night, but they moved our room so he didn't have to put up with it and we sleept perfectly fine.

Good quality price ratio and excellent location right in the town center.

Room Tip: The ones in the older part of the hotel dont have very nice views but they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear DarianaG

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us and thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart.

I was pleased to read that you were looked after by the helpful team at the hotel and that you had the opportunity to relax in the refurbished cosy lounge.

The hotel is in an excellent location as mentioned to explore Salisbury and town centre and hope that the breakfast enjoyed in the setting of our restaurant overlooking the courtyard set you up for the day.

Once again thank you for your review and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We held our wedding reception, afternoon tea and evening meal, at the White Hart recently. The staff were very friendly and attentive, without being too attentive. We had exclusive use of the bar area for afternoon tea and the food was excellent. We had a separate function room for the evening meal and all guests stayed overnight and enjoyed an excellent breakfast the next day, good choice of food, hot and cold buffet style. We managed to have few hiccups, one twin room was a double but quickly sorted. Our room was very nice and comfortable and believe our guests enjoyed themselves. Living in Salisbury I have little need to stay in the White Hart but would recommend friends to stay and would certainty recommend as a wedding venue. Sarah was very helpful and open to our ideas and provided suggestions of her own and we were very pleased with our stay. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Geoff T

Firstly congratulations and thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart for your wedding celebrations.

I was very pleased to read that the staff were friendly and attentive and that Sarah was helpful in the organisation of your important day. Thank you also for your recommendation of the hotel to friends for accommodation and as a wedding venue.

I have passed on your kind words about the excellent food in the evening and breakfast with the kitchen brigade as I am sure that this will serve as great motivation for the entire team.

Once again we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay and hope we can be of service in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed overnight at the end of march 2013 following a wedding in Salisbury the same day. We were exceptionally well looked after all afternoon and evening. We had an afternoon tea which was very good and the evening meal was also excellent. The staff were very friendly and took the time to make sure that we were well looked after, at no point did I feel that anything we asked for was too much bother. Our room was very nice and faced over the road to the cathedral at the front of the hotel, the room was very smart and looked to have been refurbished in the recent past. The room and the en suite bathroom was clean and tidy. Breakfast the next morning was one of the better hotel buffet breakfasts that i have experienced so i was impressed by this. Checking in and out was dealt with efficiently and we had no problems with parking etc. Overall a thoroughly good choice by the bride and groom for their wedding celebrations and all of the other guests seemed equally as pleased as we were.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Simon B

Many thanks for posting your review of the hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that the staff were friendly, that you were exceptionally looked after and that you felt that nothing was too much bother for the team.

It was further pleasing to read that you enjoyed the excellent food during the evening meal and the breakfast buffet.

Once again thank you for your kind words and hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is close to the cathedral and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The entrance to the hotel car park is in Brown Street, a one-way street behind the hotel with traffic flow from N to S. We found the parking arrangements very good.
We had a twin-bedded room. The basin was a bit "tired" but overall the room was very satisfactory. Breakfast was adequate.
What we particularly liked was the communal areas at the front of the hotel with comfortable settees and chairs, where you can have drinks, coffees, or whatever. We were meeting up with some chums we hadn't seen for a while, so this was a great place to sit and chat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaudDubium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear HaudDubium

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay with us in Salisbury.

I was pleased to read that the hotel was a comfortable location to meet and catch up with friends in the relaxing surrounds of our lounge, and that you appreciated the ample on site parking facility.

I further hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart upon your next get together.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights last weekend and booked it for its excellent location to the Cathedral and central Salisbury.
We booked a double classic room and although it was small the room was modern and the bed was extremely comfortable which compensated or its size. It amazes me how the British offer double rooms, but have no understanding that people like us travelling around their country have one suitcase each, yet they only provide just enough room for one. We had to place one case on the dresser with a towel under it so we could at least move around the room.
The breakfasts were very good except for the coffee which tasted like it had been brewed all night.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night but the casserole i ordered had only five tiny pieces of meat covered in gravy. We ordered a bottle of red wine but when the waitress brought it to the table she poured both our glasses without tasting and screwed the cap back on the bottle. When we tasted the wine it had been in the fridge and we had to ask the head waiter to take it away and warm it up in hot water to bring it to room temperature. Consequently we ate at the Lazy Cow next door the following two nights.
Generally the staff were very attentive and friendly, especially at reception however some of the staff need more training in our opinion.
On checkout we were charged fifteen pounds for car parking which was a rip off, as the car park was open to all and sundry all weekend. Upon returning to the hotel on both Saturday and Sunday there was no parking available for some time. We did notice non hotel guests using the car park especially guests at the Lazy Cow who obviously do not pay anything. If parking is to be charged to guests then the car park should be controlled by the hotel.
Some more competent management by this hotel would greatly improve its overall standard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William4599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear William4599

Many thanks for taking the time in posting your review following your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that the room allocated did not meet your expectations on this occasion and that you were concerned over the car parking charges.

However thank you for your kind words about the breakfast offering and that your feedback on the coffee has been addressed, I was pleased to read that the team overall were friendly and attentive during your stay.

You have my assurances that the guests from neighborouring hotels are charged and that the barrier was raised for event trafic at the hotel during your stay to assist timely arrivals and departure from the hotel.

Once again many thanks for your review and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back and do not hesitate to contact us direct with any accommodation needs you may have in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salisbury
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $95 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing