We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and comfortable stay in the heart of Salisbury, with onsite parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable stay in the heart of Salisbury, with onsite parking”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed two nights on business in early February. Plenty of space in the hotel car park despite arriving late, to be met with very courteous and efficient checkin. First room was very nice but was obviously set up for a family. I received a prompt apology and change of room - which was even better - being on the second floor overlooking the courtyard, so very quite. Well appointed room - old hotel but sensitively modernised with good facilities for business. Food was excellent, as were all the staff I encountered. No Gym/Pool - but plenty of Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are on a fairly busy road through Salisbury - so go for second floor. Room at back ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rush42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Rush42

Thank you for your comments and I was pleased to read that you had a both welcoming and comfortable stay with us at the White Hart recently.

It is always pleasing to read positive comments about the team and was warmed to read that you found them both curteous and efficient upon your arrival at the hotel, and that once you had entered the room room you felt that this was well appointed.

The hotel had a refurbishment of the ground floor in late 2011 and I agree that this was sensitively modernised and keeping the character of the original building and decor.

I have passed on your positive comments relating to the food to both the Kitchen brigade and Food and Beverage Service team and will serve as great motivation to continue to deliver excellent food and service.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the White Hart in the future..

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    389
    214
    70
    35
See reviews for
169
470
36
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Worn out decor, too hot room, small double, second floor, no lift I think, but great location in lovely city. Downstairs lounge really reception, lots of over 65 year old people taking tea. Breakfast a hot and cold buffet open til v late on Sunday 10.30 which was good. Sadly no radio 4 on TV so no Sunday archers. Shame Sunday check out so poorly staffed waited AGES. Great location close to many shops, pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersRobem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear TravellersRobem

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review of your stay with us at the White Hart Hotel in Salisbury.

I agree that the hotel is in a great location in the heart of the city opposite the famous Cathedral and Close.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the opportunity of having a relaxing late breakfast during your stay as this is enjoyed by all of our guests during a weekend stay.

Many thanks for your review, and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me direct.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has loads of character, an unbeatable central location, and - for the most part - polite and attentive staff.

Top tip - unless you are on business expenses, give the hotel bar a miss, as it's ruinously expensive. There are several very nice, good value pub/restauramts within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IncognitoMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear RedDragonSteve

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us at the White Hart, and I was pleased that you had a fabulous stay.

The hotel is ideally located for exploring the historic city of Salisbury and I was further gladdened to read that the staff were both polite and attentive during you stay as we pride ourselves in the service provided by the whole team.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was forced to stop over here because of the adverse weather conditions.

Lovely big room, beautiful open roaring fire in the lounge, friendly attentive bar staff and great receptionists... Nothing too much bother...

And you think this is good ? ... There is more ... The three course meal I had was quite remarkable... Chef was simply brilliant .. Not only in what he produced but also in his presentation .... Simply brilliant ... Same for the huge breakfast .....

Thank you very much ... I will be back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zubo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Zubo01

Thank you for posting your review following your unscheduled stay at the hotel during the recent bad weather.

I was pleased that you were looked after by the the attentive staff including the Reception and Bar teams, and that the open fire was enjoyed against the winter storm outside.

I have passed on your kind words about the food and service to the team including the dinner taken where the chef had taken time with both production and presentation as well as the breakfast to give you the start you need the following morning.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back for a scehduled visit in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here this month. Excellent parking facilities and you can get your car in and out of the car park whenever you want, unlike another hotel very close by. And, parking cost is very reasonable at £5 per night.
Excellent decor, facilities and service. Last week I asked if any chance of a room with a shower as i have a back condition and when I arrived this week, I got exactly that. A fab room, with a shower.
Food here is excellent, incl room service. Comfy beds, great power showers and no traffic noise. Just what I want from a hotel stay while away on business.
Whenever visiting Salisbury , I will come back here. Even considering a weekend break with my husband as This is such a great place. Thank you!

Room Tip: Both of my rooms have been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliep57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Elliep57

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stays at the Mercure White Hart in Salisbury.

I was very pleased when reading your review that not only the hotel decor and facilities were appreciated that the actions of the staff during your stay made your next stay even better by listening to you and actioning accordingly.

Your comments will be shared with the team and act as great motivation for others to deliver the same levels of service.

Once again thank you for your kind words and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me direct.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Property: Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing