We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but a bit expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I moved to Salisbury in August 2012 and stayed here for our first week in town while searching for housing. The hotel is nice enough - clean and modern with air conditioning in the rooms. Our room was extremely small (even for European standards) with about about 18 inches on either side of a double bed. There were about 3 feet at the end of the bed between it and a small desk with a television.

After 2 nights we asked the hotel staff if they had any larger rooms, but they said they were full and could not move us. Internet was for a fee (don't remember how much, but we didn't use it) and we didn't have breakfast included with our room as is common in most other hotels in the area.

That being said, the hotel has a good location in Salisbury right across from the cathedral and within close proximity to many good restaurants. The staff were very kind even when they were unable to help with our requests, and began recognizing us after only 1 night. They provided us with good dinner recommendations and also helped us to find another hotel after our reservation ended and we still needed a hotel at the end of the week (the White Hart was full for the second week).

The hotel also has a nice outdoor courtyard where we spent time in the evenings and on the weekends to get some air and get out of the small room. Overall, I would recommend this hotel only if you can get a good deal on it. I paid full price because it was covered by my employer, but wouldn't have done that if I booked it myself. If the price was better I'd give it 4 stars, but for us it seemed expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubbieblue10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Cubbieblue10

Many thanks for your review of the hotel when staying during the Summer, the hotel is in a great location for visiting the sites of Salisbury and I was pleased that along with this you found the staff to be very kind and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the courtyard facility during more warmer times.

The hotel has a number of promotions throughout the year and if you wish to know further please do not hesitate in contacting either the hotel or by visiting our website. You will also be glad to learn that we now offer free WIFI within the hotel as standard.

Once again thank you for your review and hopefully we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel over the Christmas period. It is very central - excellent if you don't have a car -definitely a 4 star - bedrooms and bathrooms very clean, modern and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful, but maybe a teeny bit understaffed and stressed. Food in the lounge bar area is quite good - would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms immediately at the top of the stairs, before all the others, which are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear catwoman59

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart.

I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the benefits of our excellent central location during your stay with us over the Festive season, and that the hotel was very clean and comfortable.

It was also pleasing to note that the food was enjoyed also and I have passed on your kind words to the team and further hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a night we had last night, New Years Eve! After considerable discussion with our friends and recommendations from others we decided a few months to book the White Hart Hotel as our venue.

We were greeted at reception by Mark the Manager, what a nice chap and very professional. We were seated in the main bar area and as well as Champagne had some well presented and extremely nice canapes, a really good start.

After a short while Sarah the Function Manager came over to take our food order, its so refreshing to see service with a smile and Sarah certainly ticked the boxes. We ordered our food from a varied menu, all sounded very appealing.

After around 30 minutes we were asked to go into the function room which looked amazing, all tables were decorated, plenty of baloons and full room of around 90 guests were about to enjoy a great night. The food arrived and was very good, Langoustine cocktail was amazing, the pork tenderloin was moist and perfectly cooked and the homemade bakewell tart just the icing on the cake.

After the meal the disco started, it was just right for the evening with a mixture of all types of music, so much fun. At mignight we all sang the traditional song, what a superb evening.

I can 100% recommend this venue for any function and especially New Years Eve, we will be booking up very soon for 354 days time!

Thank you Mark and Sarah, you and your staff deserve a big round of applause.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonip1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear jonip1966

Many thanks for taking the time in writing your review of our New Years Eve celebrations and for the special mentions.

It is always pleasing to recieve such remarks about the hotel and the service we provide and that all the detail is appreciated including the welcome, decorations, music and of course the food and drink.

Your kind words and feedback will definately serve as great motivation to the whole team as we enter the New Year, and on that note may I take this opportunity in wishing you and your family a Happy New Year and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Excellent central location for anyone wanting to take in the sites of this historic part of Wiltshire. a warm welcome from reception staff,excellent size room and an overall lovely venue. We had an overnight stay/meal/wine package on a £99 TravelZoo voucher on which I've based this review.

Two minor niggles were the Beef Wellington......I dont know why it took so long for something one would assume is ore-prepared and takes about 15-20 minutres to cook... and I dont know what cut of beef the chef used but it was'nt fillet and the slice of pate looked more like luncheon meat slice!......stick to what you are good at guys....my wife chose the salmon and the rest of the menu was fine.
The £5 charge for the car park on departure came as a surprise and it would have been nice if they'd mentioned this on arrival.

Being central it was noisy traffic wise......but this is no reflection on the Hotel.....if however, you are a ligth sleeper you migth find thid challenging

Overall an ideal venue for central Salisbury. Well done

Room Tip: choose a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear allanKR

Thank you for posting your recent review and for choosing the Mercure White Hart.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel in an excellent location when visiting the historic city of Salisbury and that the Reception team gave you a warm welcome. I was further pleased to read that the accommodation supplied was of an excellent size for you.

I have investigated your comments relating to the food during your evening meal and can confirm that the steak was a fillet and have asked that your concerns are shared with our suppliers. The pate was a Foie gras and duck liver parfait and does have a smooth look and texture.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Mercure, White Hart and may I wish you a Happy New Year.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I chose to book into this hotel since it was close to the cathedral, it looked lovely and I wanted something nice for Christmas. While I realize this is a chain and the staff has little control over somethings, this stay wasn't horrible just disappointing. The hotel itself is lovely, very english and if the beds are a bit hard I am just picky. The staff might have just been grumpy over having to work over Christmas, given that they had been so helpful helping me to reorganize a mistake in my booking, but I was disappointed in many of my interactions. The food was expensive and I felt wifi was overpriced and didn't work well in the slightest. There was a feeling that was going on that as Americans, my mother and I just didn't understand and would have appreciated an explanation too. Maybe it was just the holiday season, I just don't know.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear emily k

Thank you for posting your recent review and that the staff assisted you with the error with your reservation.

However I was disappointed to read that you felt that other staff were not so happy at their work during the Festive season, and having worked with them over the Festive period I have asked the management team to assist in motivating the team and ensure that this impression you were left with is not repeated.

We have listened carfully to feedback relating to the WIFI charges and can confirm that this service will be free as of January 2013.

Once again thank you for your comments and take this opportunity in wishing you a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had booked for one night as we were due to attend a grandsons carol service in the Cathedral
Unfortunately my wife was unwell so we were unable to avail ourselves of the booking, hence we lost our pre payment
We have however frequently had various forms of refreshment, from coffee etc in the lounge / bar, to meals in the dinning room and have always been completely satisfied
We intend to continue using your very comfortable facilities in the future

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miller424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear miller424

Thank you for your recent feedback and was sorry to read you were unable to stay with us recently.

However thank you for your kind words as a regular customer of the hotel whether it be in the lounge or when using the restaurant, and hope that you continue to enjoy the comfortable facilities at the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at White Hart after going to a party night there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food excellent at party and breakfast next morning. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Room was on the small side though and could do with some 'tarting' up. Very convenient for town centre, cathedral etc.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank southamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear southamanda

Thank you for posting your review of the Mercure, White Hart.

I was extremely pleased to read your comments relating to the staff of the hotel, in that you found them friendly and helpful as they are an important part of anyone staying with us.

I have passed on your kind words about the excellent food you recieved during your stay with the kitchen brigade as well as your positive words about the cleanliness and comfort of your bedroom with the housekeeping team as I am sure this will serve as great motivation during the busy Festive season.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salisbury
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $94 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing