We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Before booking this hotel I had read several reviews which rated the hotel very low. We found the hotel to be a great location. The rooms were small, but what rooms in English type hotels are not small. The breakfast was a great value the food was excellent. Staff was very helpful during out 2 night stay. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonandBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear OnVacationMay2011

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel, the feedback on the site are personal to that individual stay and all are welcomed and responded to accordingly so that we can improve the services provided.

We have varying room types in the hotel from the more traditional to executive and 4 poster bedroom suites and try and accomodate all requests when available.

I was very pleased to read your comments relating to the helpful staff at the hotel as this can be the difference in our industry ensuring that people like yourself recommend us to others, I have also shared your positive thoughts on our breakfast being good value and the food being excellent.

I hope we have the pleasure in your company in the future and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me direct.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrdyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A two-night stay in a great location for the town centre and the cathedral. The hotel public areas are welcoming and comfortable. Room 224 was terrible. The layout meant that the TV was invisible from the armchairs and only partially visible from the bed. The lighting was so poor that the gloom was derpressing and reading was a strain. The Corby trouser press fell off the wall to which it was 'fixed'. The flow from the shower was very poor. When we reported these matters at checkout, our reports were met with a shrug and "yes, 224 is very dark". The hotel is as presently run, poor value.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, and avoid 224. No lift. Ask for the top floor as the floors tend to cre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 707JohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear 707JohnC

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay and apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

We take such feedback seriously at the hotel and as my response to you through our on line feedback suggests I will be ensuring that the team handle such concerns in the future more effectively, and please accept my apologies in the manner your concern was dealt with at the time.

As a period property we have varying rooms in the main house and not all to a set format, that said we will be looking at the set up of this room to make sure that in the future we have no further issues and appreciate this been brought to our attention.

However thank you for your kind words concerning the hotel decor after our ground floor refurbishment last year and are waiting for further investment plans.

Once agin thank you for letting us know about your stay and when visiting Salisbury in the future do not hesitate to contact me direct so that I may assist with your reservation.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on Saturday night and I was very happy with our stay.

The £5 for parking in a city centre overnight was an absolute bargain. The room that we had wasn't the biggest but it was perfectly adequate. It was clean and well maintained, the bathroom was also lovely and clean.

The mini bar, tea and coffee tray, iron and ironing board, air conditioning, fan, hairdryer etc meant that we never needed anything extra while we were there. Also, loved that we could play our music through the TV.

The bed.... WOW! It was the most comfortable bed with lovely squishy pillows and the biggest puffiest duvet ever! I didn't want to get out in the morning!

The breakfast was a fantastic help yourself buffet which meant you could have as much or as little of the wide variety of options as you wanted.

We got the room for a special offer price and were very happy with what we got for our money (including the Pimms on arrival) and, if were staying in Salisbury again, we would definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Tina S

Thank you for your review of the hotel in relation to both the service recieved and the location of the hotel in the centre of this historic city.

It is always pleasing to read such comments and will serve as great motivation for the team, I was also pleased to read that the promotional rates that we have available were fully enjoyed.

We hope to welcome you back to the White Hart in the future and provide you with a similar experience in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Sadly our visit last Sunday was a dismal experience!
Starting with the order for 2 dry Martinis that arrived as Vermouth with lemonade; and when asked the waiter said that they didn't know how to make a martini.
A 3 star hotel that cannot make a martini?

The starters were okay, but the carvery beef was totally over-cooked and the server didn't seem to care at all.

The only saving grace was the friendly, but not familiar, senior waiter who did at least try to make the meal enjoyable.
Sadly the food let him, and us down completely.

Needless to say we will not be eating there ever again as we are fortunate in Salisbury to have far better alternatives.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Peter J

Thank you for your feedback when dining at the hotel at the weekend, and for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

Firstly please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment when dining last Sunday, and that the service was not the 4* service I have come to expect from the team.

I have investigated the points raised with the Food and Beverage Manager who remembers the drinks error and wishes to be associated with my apologies as he was misinformed of the drinks by the waitress, I hope that this was rectified accordingly.

The carvery is popular at the hotel and I was therefore further disappointed to read that this was of a poor standard following recent feedback concerning the good quality we have and I have shared your feedback with the kitchen brigade to ensure that we address effectively.

Once again please accept my apologies and still hope we may have the pleasure of your company in the future and redeem ourselves.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The White Hart is clearly an historical hotel a bit past its prime. We had a premier room, which was very large and comfortable. However, it was a bit long in the tooth with a miss-mash of furniture. We had the large room with the balcony (126), but couldn't really use the balcony as it the railing was unsafe for small children. However, the staff were excellent and very helpful whic made up for much of the shortcomings.
One black mark, though. We had room service with two chicken salads. To say they were skimpy would be a gross understatement. Our son's ham sandwich had more salad as a garnish that we had together. Come on, White Hart, stop being so skimpy with a few bits of lettuce.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_robin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear b_robin5

Many thanks in taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay with us at the White Hart.

I was pleased to read that you and your family had a very pleasant stay and that the staff were excellent and helpful during your visit and that the room was large enough for your needs, even if you were unable to use the balcony.

However I was disappointed to read your experience when taking room service at the hotel I have asked that the kitchen brigade review the portions they serve, specifically for the chicken salad.

Once again thank you for choosing the White Hart and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

On seeking a venue for our daughters wedding, we were very impressed as soon as we entered this hotel. The caring support and knowledge shown to us by their wedding co-ordinator was excellent. The venue was also ideal with ample accommodation available for many of our guests who had travelled from afar. The wedding day celebrations were seamless from the time we arrived and all the staff on duty were very pleasant & helpful. The food chosen from the vast menu was also excellent as was the service during the wedding breakfast. All our guests commented on how well everything went and we were able to relax and enjoy the reception alongwith our guests in the safe knowledge that everything had been taken care of in a truly professional manner. A day to remember and memories to last a lifetime. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard very quiet and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Wendy B

Thank you for choosing the White Hart for your daughter's wedding and I was very pleased to read that we gave you, your family and friends a day to remember and memories to last.

Sarah, the wedding co-ordinator takes pride in her work ensuring that from the moment you walk in as an enquiry until the big day itself that nothing is too much trouble, and ensuring that the day runs smoothly, so that you can relax and enjoy the day as much as your guests.

I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team in relation to the professional manner they looked after you as well as the excellent food on the day, this will serve as great motivation to the whole team.

Once again thank you for choosing us, and I hope that we can be of service in the future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
581 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $90 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing