We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Salisbury and Magna Carta Private Tour from Southampton
0 reviews

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta
More Info
Reviews (7,040)
Filter reviews
7,040 results
Traveler rating
5,354
1,424
213
27
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,354
1,424
213
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower tour chapter house salisbury cathedral tallest spire oldest working clock modern font magnificent building the stained glass windows well worth a visit guided tour awe inspiring on display entrance fee cloisters donation architecture copy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 7,040 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2019

The church is a beautiful representation of the period and we were able to participate in the Sunday evensong service which was a special treat. The display of the Magna Carta is excellent

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank mrbill17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

Knowledgable and helpful guides, amazing stained glass, fabulous architecture full of history, worship and some amazing modern structures. The central font is incredible.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

A really great trip to Salisbury Cathedral and The Close. The Spire Tour with Chris was an education in itself! Well done!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank cannytravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

What a beautiful, awe-inspiring place! I could have spent many hours just wandering the interior of the cathedral looking at burial inscriptions, architectural details, and finding hidden niches within its lovely interior. My husband ascended the spire on a guided tour but I demurred tackling the 332 stairs, but I must say that his pictures from the top were breathtaking. It was wonderful to see the best preserved of the 4 remaining original sealed Magna Carta documents.

Plan to have lunch, or at least a cup of tea and a scone, in the cathedral's refectory. The food is good but, better yet, there is a glass ceiling through which you can see the magnificent cathedral spire while you eat.

There were two slight negatives about our experience: there is work being done on the cathedral's organ and the scaffolding hindered our views of the main altar within the cathedral. I was told the work should be done in time for Christmas, so be prepared for this if you plan to go between now and the end of the year. The second negative wasn't really that of the cathedral itself - I planned to go to the Salisbury Museum while my husband ascended the spire and found that it was closed (despite being advertised as "open" and with no note or other indication at the museum, just a locked door) This was disappointing.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank GrandmaBarbara0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

We hope the work to our organ didn't disrupt your visit too much. Scaffolding will be removed by Christmas, but there may be noise disruptions at the start of the new year while the organ is being tuned. We hope you had a chance to visit our organ exhibition to learn more about why this essential work is being done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

We were here for the day and glad we went here. The sight is beautiful and the tour guides that were there couldn't be more helpful. We didn't have time for a tour, but that would have been great. I would try to leave time for that if you go.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Jamaicaman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

We hope you return for a tour in the future. Our guides would be more than happy to show you around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews