We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Salisbury and Magna Carta Private Tour from Southampton
0 reviews

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta
More Info
Reviews (7,040)
Filter reviews
7,040 results
Traveler rating
5,354
1,424
213
27
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,354
1,424
213
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower tour chapter house salisbury cathedral tallest spire oldest working clock modern font magnificent building the stained glass windows well worth a visit guided tour awe inspiring on display entrance fee cloisters donation architecture copy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 7,040 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2019 via mobile

Took the paid tour of the tower and inner construction of the cathedral. Well worth the money and time. John was a great guide with the right mix of quirky and interesting, keeping the tour engaged during the 664 steps, but only half of them up.
Interesting insights into the construction and maintenance of the building.
And not a Russian in sight.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 28, 2019 via mobile

This was an excellent trip. The cathedral was very impressive and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was wonderful seeing the Magna Carta which is such an important part of British history. We were also able to view an electronic copy of the Magna Carta on site, with a translation into modern English, which broke it down into sections that we could read. We stopped into the gift shop and cafe afterwards and had a cream tea which was also excellent and good value for money.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2019

What great feedback, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2019

We spent an hour here on a day trip out from London area. We enjoyed and found Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta better than Stonehenge.
The Cathedral is really well laid out and it is well sign posted. The Magna Carta was a highlight of our day trip out and about. There was so much information about the time that it was authored and the reason it came about.
If you are visiting this area - I recommend going here and spending a few hours looking through here, and have a bite of lunch - the food it great also.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank AussieJamieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2019

Thank you kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2019

There was a reasonable 'entry fee' to access ths wonderful building. Just inside guides await, and every 10 mins or so a tour starts but we were given a map and could explore the building ourselves. We decided to wait a few minutes for a tour. There were about 9 of us. The guide, a Mr W.T. or T.W., was excellent. He sloke clearly, was very informative, and was very thoughtful about a partially blind person amongst us - helping her feel items to appreciate them. The tour took and hour and the time went quickly. Highly recommendable to have a guide.
We didn't eat in the cafe, very limited choice of food for a lunch.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we're really pleased you enjoyed your visit. We don't charge a fixed fee, but we do ask if you can make a donation as this is how we keep our building running. Thank you for helping our cause. Guided floor tours are free (although subject to availability of our guides), and are run by our wonderful team of volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2019

One of the best to visit plus the Magna Carta is held here for any one to see. Nice place with cafe gift shop. Grounds are good to walk in good weather and a square to explore.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2019

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews