We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous cathedral in lovely close”

Salisbury Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.34*
and up
Lunch at Stonehenge with Salisbury Cathedral and Bath
Ranked #1 of 73 things to do in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Completed in 1258, this is one of the finest medieval cathedrals in Britain, which features the tallest spire in England that rises 404 feet into the air.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“fabulous cathedral in lovely close”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

one of the nicest environments for a Cathedral. The close is lovely. Nice cathedral especially the window for prisoners of conscience. Gorgeous. Good to see the magna carta too

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,502
    996
    143
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore,miami
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful surprise”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wow! We were in Amesbury for the weekend visiting Stonehenge and decided to drive down to Salisbury to visit the Cathedral on Sunday morning before going back to London.
This cathedral is absolutely and breathtakingly beautiful! We expected to see something social, but this was even more spectacular for me than Stonehenge.
It reminded me very much of Notre Dame In Paris & even put me in the mind of parts of The Sistine Chapel in Rome. The property is very well maintained. Just beyond words beautiful inside & out.
We attended mass on Sunday and the choir sounded angelic. It was the perfect way to end our trip. I HIGHLY recommend a stop here. You will not regret it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank themostbeautifulgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Salisbury Cathedral”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a breathtaking place to visit, the stained glass is stunning, we received a warm welcome on arrival, the spire is awesome, the cloisters is stunning also well worth a visit, and seeing the Magna Carta was fab, keep up the wonderful work.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bubblefairy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Superb history”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A free Blue Guide took us around for an hour. Then go back and revist. Cathedral easy to get aroung in. Make sure you visit the Chapter House where there is the Magna Carta with a full explaination.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cloisters and sculpture”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

lots to see here whether you only have a few minutes to spare or a whole day. The spire is just amazing and the monuments in the cloister are well worth taking time to read. Fabulous model of Old Sarum in the cloisters too - good place to take visitors anytime, but especially on a wet day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Refreshed_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salisbury Cathedral also viewed

Amesbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Salisbury Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing