We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent”

Salisbury Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.99*
and up
Lunch at Stonehenge with Salisbury Cathedral and Bath
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Completed in 1258, this is one of the finest medieval cathedrals in Britain, which features the tallest spire in England that rises 404 feet into the air.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Not my favourite cathedral interior, but splendid, nonetheless. The model of the cathedral under construction is fascinating.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,387
    958
    137
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cathedral Food nicely done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

nice range of dishes for a quick bite or a longer snack..never dissappointed .there is always tea coffee cakes rolls snacks & crisps.nice place to meet for a cup a tea & slice of cake .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Castlegirl1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Divine building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

we loved our visit but was a bit shocked to find a desk almost blocking the entrance where you felt you were obliged to pay your compulsary oh sorry voluntary donation, They didn`t seem to let anyone in without paying. Saying that it was well worth the money we paid as we stayed for a long time there was so much to take in. There was a shop where we spent more money and a lovely cafe (yet more money spent) The staff were very friendly and could answer all our questions. A good place to visit for young and old.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lyndablyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fantastic tower tour where you get to climb up inside the tower to see how it was built and what they've done to make it secure for the future. Our guide was very well informed and clearly loved the cathedral. Highly recommended despite the 332 steps. Fortunately there are lockers so so don't have to carry your bags up! Later we did the general tour of the cathedral which we also enjoyed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LMK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a stunner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

this is a must see if you are in the area, fabulous windows, architecture etc. lovely. the choir was practising so the atmosphere was very special.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocChic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salisbury Cathedral also viewed

Amesbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Salisbury Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing