We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and nice food”

The Swan at Stoford
Ranked #111 of 271 Restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Swan at Stoford is a lovely historical coaching inn set in rural Wiltshire, yet very accessible on the A36. 6 miles from Salisbury, it is an ideal place to base yourself for tourist attractions in the area, including Stonehenge, Wilton House, Longleat, Old Sarum airfield and much more. With 9 letting rooms, a lovely restaurant, a spacious function room with a Skittles Alley, a cottage garden and a great riverside garden perfect for marquees, BBQs and outdoor parties. The Swan is a family run business with an emphasis on customer service and a guaranteed warm welcome.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

All staff were friendly and helpful, the food was nice only fault we found when staying was some works that were going on which caused electrical disruption and woke us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments - I am glad you found our staff friendly. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and close knit team. Unfortunately, the brewery had scheduled some upgrades to the electrics at the pub which meant that we had no electricity for a couple of hours that day. This needed to be carried out before a busy lunchtime period and so they began from 9:00 am. I apologise if this woke you up, but now our electrics are fully compliant which is good news.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 254 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

As a travellor between Southampton and Somerset, my wife and I like to find great watering holes along the way. The Swan at Stoford is 'en route' and inside is a warm and friendly place to languish. Great, home cooked food from the South American head chef is accompanied by one of a selection of first class ales. A nice log fire in winter and river fishing from the garden seems possible in the summer. The English idyll!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

What a lovely read. Thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my family came here on 'Bob Marley Night' and it was great food a great atmosphere and good service. Even the staff got up for a dance! Great fun night. Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hannahbananalovefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you - the Bob Marley night was a fantastic success - so much so that we have invited the same act back for our Beer Festival. It was impossible not to dance! I am glad you enjoyed the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have a tastecard so it was even better value steak to die for and the best every pepper sauce. the perfect end to the perfect day

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thewests120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback - we appreciate you taking the time to give it.
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Three of us met up on Wednesday 13th February for some dinner and a catch up. The staff behind the bar were very welcoming an attentive the whole evening.

We all had 2+ courses and all of it was delicious, We asked for extra sauces and they were brought to the table straight away.

Can definatley recommend the Chicken Fajitas and the Banoffee sundai.

It was even better that i was able to use my taste card!

Thanks for a lovely evening and we will be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stressicajordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review and we are all really pleased you had a good night and plan to come back! We welcome people with a Taste card, Gourmet Card and the Telegraph Diners Club 7 days a week. Thanks again for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan at Stoford also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing