We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when a salmon fillet is not a fillet”

The Swan at Stoford
Ranked #111 of 271 Restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Swan at Stoford is a lovely historical coaching inn set in rural Wiltshire, yet very accessible on the A36. 6 miles from Salisbury, it is an ideal place to base yourself for tourist attractions in the area, including Stonehenge, Wilton House, Longleat, Old Sarum airfield and much more. With 9 letting rooms, a lovely restaurant, a spacious function room with a Skittles Alley, a cottage garden and a great riverside garden perfect for marquees, BBQs and outdoor parties. The Swan is a family run business with an emphasis on customer service and a guaranteed warm welcome.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My sister and I have often been there for lunch on a saturday and the food has been really good since the new owners took over. However we went there for luch today with my other sister and brother in law who are over for a few days from Spain so there was 6 of us. We decided to plump for the xmas menu as it was the only chance we would have to get together for christmas so celebrated early. Well 4 of us had the turkey with the usual trimmings and the meat was processed and chewy - it didn;t even look like turkey as it was brown and looked more like beef. My sister and I chose the salmon fillet with pesto crust anh hollandaise sauce with veg. Well when the salmon arrived it was floating in some liquid that looked like the reamins of the drained veg. They took the 2 meals back and were supposed to drain it off but they came back nearly as bad and the waiter tried to tell us it was from the hollandaise sauce - I wasn;t born yesterday and there was no way that was the case - it was where the veg hadn't been drained properly. Under the sauce was a salmon steak on the bone and full of bones and black skin - to my mind salmon fillet is boneless and where was the pesto crust - disguised as skin...... We had to ask for roast potatoes which surely should have been put on the table with the main course and left there for us to halp ourselves. No - they were dished up to us by the waiter who asked how many we wanted each and these arrived 5 mins after the main courses. Not very professional..We then had our deserts and 3 of us had eton mess which consisted of fuit composite which had been frozen and put in a tall glass with ice cream and cream plonked on top. The fruit when we reached the bottom of the glass was bitter and still frozen. Quite disgusting. We complained and did get the price of the 2 salmon meals knocked off the bill. What was also very concerning was the fact that I has paid £5.00 each person deposit and this £30 had not been knocked off the total bill. That was very unprofessional and was the final straw. Despite the owners being relatively new - they should have been better prepared. If they can produce such nice meals from the al la carte menu why was the xmas food such rubbish. May go back for a meal in the New Year but never again for a special celebration.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dotblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I am pleased that you think that our food has been really good,but sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your Christmas meal. This is very disappointing as we have had some really good feedback so far from our early Christmas parties. We have asked the Chef to ensure that only salmon fillets are ordered going forward. Thank you for acknowledging that we reduced the bill - we take customer feedback very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 254 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent two nights in the Wilton Room . Welcome was ok. Dinner on night 1 was good Breakfast was POOR, No Cereals had to ask for juices/coffees minimum cooked breakfast.Roast Dinner was like a Microwaved Shower didn!t work rooms very close to the main road wouldn!t like to stay in the summer with the windows open. Bed was creeky.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lazcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

We are sorry to hear that you thought breakfast was poor. There is a wide choice of breakfasts off our menu (available on our website) and cereals are always available on the bar. We are disappointed to hear you thought our Sunday roasts are microwaved - they are home cooked and very popular. If you had complained at the time, we would have offered you an alternative. We have checked our records and the shower has not been reported as broken and is working fine. We pride ourselves on good customer service, and if you had brought any of this to our attention, we would have done our best to resolve your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Group of us had lunch here. The food appeared at lightening speed far too quick to have been anything other than hastily reheated,and had that chewy microwaved texture. Not nice but not truly awful enough to complain about. Would not return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blinky_and_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

It is a shame that you thought our food was average and microwaved. We have lots of fresh and locally sourced food on our menu, and have recently introduced a great specials menu too. Had you complained at the time we would have offered you an alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spent one night in the Hemmingway twin bed room. Our welcome was great and we enjoyed chatting to Beth at the bar. She was very helpful organising our table for dinner and had a great sense of humour. The current owners have only been here for four months and are mindful that they have things to do to have the place as they want it. Our room was warm and had a recently refitted shower which supplied plenty of hot water. The room could have been a little cleaner but I gather from having spoken to them that they do have difficulty getting staff. Our food in the restaurant was good pub grub, served by friendly staff. Our breakfast was very good with very nice local sausages and fresh ingredients.
I think that given time, the new owners will have a very successful business here and we wish them lots of luck!

Thank cruglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words, Beth was thrilled to have had a mention! We enjoyed having you stay with us. We now have a great team running the pub and are really enjoying our venture. Dealing with delightful customers makes it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

i stayed in a room with my fiance and found that the room was comfortable and has a nice view of the river!, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant being served at the tables. the service was five star and the food was perfect, will defiantly be booking in again! the new owners have done a fantastic job!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank minxy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you your lovely comments - we are pleased you had a nice stay and look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan at Stoford also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing