We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out”
Review of Wig and Quill

Wig and Quill
Ranked #56 of 278 Restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We made our plans to eat here, and stay for the live entertainment we had seen advertised here when we had passed. The staff were fantastic. Ordered up a couple of steaks cooked to our liking and a couple of ales, served up in a cozy corner candlelit table. Cannot fault the food or the service (in such a busy pub, the young lady serving us remembered our drinks! same again when we approched the bar). And the atmosphere is fantastic......note I did not comment on the band!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Owner at Wig and Quill, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Nice to see some Islanders here to enjoy the delights of the mainland.
Excellent choice of meal, our butchers have the trace ability to know which beast our steaks came from, their quality is assured and so is ours, success on a plate every time, such good flavours even from a rump.

As an old building with nooks and crannies, dim the lights, light the candles we hope create that ambiance for a beautiful evening, hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Salisbury on Wednesday 11th September to visit the Farmers Market which was a great disappointment with only 3 or 4 stalls in total possibly because of the improvements to the town square paving where the stalls usually are. After some shopping which took a couple of hours we then went to the Wig and Quill for lunch. I had a delicious bowl of Tomato Soup with Ciabatta bread. My wife had the cheese and ham baguette. With good coffee and real cream it was all very good and at just over £11 good value for money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Owner at Wig and Quill, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Appreciate your recent review, positive feedback is always good. It's that time of year where we always have a soup of the day, it's always homemade and always reasonably priced.
We all strive to give a good friendly service (easy if you enjoy what you do) it's a compliment to us when we see you again, then we know we must be doing something right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly hospitality , good value lunch , fresh food , quick service . Will definitely return with friends and family ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank darter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Owner at Wig and Quill, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thanks for your recent review, no matter what we offer, whether it be our light bites, starters, main courses,board specials or just bar-bites such as garlic breads, cheesy chips or bacon cheesy chips, as long as we source good quality products and keep hold of our excellent chef, then we envisage everyone to have an enjoyable visit here, along with our wide range of ales, ciders and wines, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped by this pub because of its unique name and attractive sign. The place was welcoming and the food delicious. I enjoyed a puffed pastry wrapped attractively around a mixture of carmalized leeks, spinach and gruyere cheese. This was served on a bed a wonderfully spiced lentils. My husband had a melt-in-your-mouth flavorful lamb steak. A great pick! The owner was cheerful and informative about this "new" pub. Only a little over 100 years.

Thank Char M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Owner at Wig and Quill, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We are very aware that some of our visitors to Salisbury have a very short time window, it is well worth future visitors who come to us to may be to ask what we can do quickly for them as some menu items have either short preparation or cooking times.
But as ye old proverb says, forewarned is forearmed, so if you have chosen us as a pit-stop, maybe order before going to the cathedral via the bar (doors open at 11.00) or view the menu via our website and phone ahead.
It may be worth noting that we could always do our quality baguettes 'to go'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were on a tour and had a very short window of time for lunch and a visit to the cathedral. We came upon this restaurant a short walk from the cathedral. We were there before lunch service started, but were invited to come in and make ourselves comfortable. Our orders were taken so the cook would have them as soon as he arrived. The food was great...two of us had the lighter fare...wonderful selection of delicious sandwiches, and two of us had the heartier meals. Everyone was pleased with their selection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JMC628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wig and Quill also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Wig and Quill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing