We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UK2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Edwardian Lodge Guest House
Ranked #31 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good well appointed room of reasonable size, small en suite with all the essentials - all recently refurbished. Close enough to the Cathedral and shops to walk and with adequate parking. An excellent breakfast in a cramped conservatory. Friendly helpful hosts.
But .. we were there on the hottest days of July 2012 and the only way to get airflow through the room was to open the window which allowed all the traffic noise in and even then there was no air flow through without the main door open. The Lodge is on a major road and we got no sleep the first night. The second night we were in a different room at our request and we were charged the extra tariff, it was a bit better but the fan is inadequate.

Room Tip: Corner suite has 2 windows for better air flow but is more expensive. Avoid the front rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

In over 40 years of international travelling, we would give the Edwardian Lodge B+B a 100% rating. It was the hottest night of the year when we stayed; we were provided with a fan and had double aspect windows which created a through breeze. As we live in London we are not troubled by traffic noise which was no worse than around any other centrally located B+B. The room was immaculate, bed comfortable, linen new, towels, toiletries and hot water plentiful, shower effective and the hospitality tray well stocked. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and provided everything including fresh fruit, cereals and two different types of sweetner! (if filling in a form for breakfast the night before is the price for receiving fresh cooked food then so be it). Edwardian Lodge could well be used as the yardstick by which a B+B should operate. We found the proprietors friendly and helpful although we know Salisbury quite well. We would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australis1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed two nights at this B & B. The room wasn't overly large but was adequate, well furnished and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was clean, modern and well appointed. Breakfast was served in the conservatory which was a little cramped. It was a surprise to find off road parking and a quiet room considering this B & B is situated on a busy road. All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mastertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Small room and not imaginative breakfast. Only canned fruit. People advise to go to the center of the city along the main road. We discovered very nice ways along the river or through the residential neighbourhood.

Room Tip: A room at the rear. The guest house is on a noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraDavidNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed in this B&B for one night whilst my Husband was in Salisbury Hospital. I had pre-warned that I would be arriving fairly late at about 7pm, as I was spending time at the hospital. On arrival I was asked to select my breakfast for the next day, and shown to my room. Which was spotlessly clean. The en-suite was lovely too - with towels, shower gel and shampoo. (The shower head, although large - wasn't very powerful) but the water was hot and plentyful.
There was a selection of tea, coffee , hot chocolate and biscuits. (No decaf - but I had bought my own.)
The weather was very humid so the room was on the warm side, the window was open - but I found the traffic very noisy, this is probably due to the fact I live in a tiny quiet village and can only hear cows mooing and badgers snorting at home!
I tried closing the window , but found the room too hot.
The breakfast was lovely - cooked to perfection. I didn't have cereal, fruit or fruit juice, although this was there, it wasn't offered to me, and I felt a little unsure about having it, as I had selected my choice of a cooked breakfast the night before. I was offered tea or coffee and de-caf was served when requested. My empty plate was taken away quickly - the minute I placed my knife and fork down - maybe a tab too quickly!
All in all - a nice stay - which met my needs for the night.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by traffic noise - ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyDidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

When we arrived, the lady that greeted us was a bit stuffy and made us feel a little uncomfortable. Once we got past that, the stay was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the back and were very comfortable. Our friends stayed downstairs on the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdhornsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our accommodation at the Edwardian Lodge was very nice. The bedroom was small but homely and there was a good refreshment tray with Fair Trade products and some delicious biscuits. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was small but perfectly fine. The bed was very comfy and we had two very restful nights sleep.

The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous. It was cooked to perfection and served in a delightful conservatory (although we didn't like having to decide what we wanted the night before).

What spoilt our stay here was the lack of warmth and friendliness from our hosts. We arrived half an hour earlier than the 4.30pm check in time and knocked on the door to ask if it might be possible to check in. (We would have been quite happy to come back later, if we had been asked to). We were begrudgingly ushered in accompanied by some mutterings about only just being ready and for the rest of our stay and we didn't really feel welcome.

For this reason, we would not return, but would not hesitate to recommend this guest house in terms of food, cleanliness and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank europair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Swan at Stoford
The Swan at Stoford
#1 of 2 in Stoford
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bridge Farmhouse
Bridge Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Britford
67 reviews
1.3 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edwardian Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edwardian Lodge Guest House

Address: 59 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: $91 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edwardian Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian house, all rooms with en-suite shower/toilet facilities,inclusive breakfast, flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, tea/coffee/biscuits, free parking. City centre and cathedral 15 min walk. Stonehenge 10 miles north ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Edwardian Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing