We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
189
198
127
58
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
198
127
58
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar downstairs friday and saturday centre of town early hours central location lovely city christmas market car park full english old building stayed for one night visiting salisbury plugs cathedral culver stonehenge england
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 634 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

The photos of this hotel lie. It is unclean, there was pee on the floor of the bathroom and the hole bathroom smelled of pee. The floor of the bedroom had dark spot on the carpet. There is also mold on the ceiling and window's

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Siljaros94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Public Relations Manager at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Dear Siljaros94,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay here, we appreciate all feedback.

We're sorry to hear that the standards of the room were not as expected, we strive for the highest standards of cleanliness in our rooms and it is unfortunate on this occasion we don't seem to have hit the mark. If you'd have informed the receptionist or a member of the bar staff we would have been more than accommodating in either cleaning the bathroom for you or moving you to a different room.

We are currently going through the process of a refurbishment in our hotel as the rooms have now become a little tired. We have started with the bathrooms and once this has been completed we will be starting on the rooms, due to us being in our busy period we have not had the time to start just yet.

We do hope you will stay with us again in the future for a better experience.

Kind regards,

The Cathedral Hotel and Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We stayed here as part of a business trip to Salisbury. We did not spot in the small print that this hotel is a club on Thursdays - Saturdays, with opening hours and loud music until 2am on these days.

HOWEVER, the staff could not have been more helpful in this matter, as it is clearly an issue they have had before. We stayed for one night on a Thursday, and the rooms on the 3rd floor were generally far enough from the music to get a good nights sleep. Some of our party towards the back of the hotel were disturbed by the garden out the back, those at the front were fine. We moved hotels for our second night.

Nice breakfast, although the hotel could do with some refurbishment - particularly for this price tag. I had a lampshade in my room that you could touch the wires behind that was falling off the wall, and you can feel the springs in the bed.

I cannot fault the hotel staff for the way their handling of our booking, I just wish that it was clearer before booking that this hotel is a nightclub!

Room tip: Read the description - this is a club hotel!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 20willa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Public Relations Manager at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Dear Will,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you had some miscommunications with regards to your booking and not realising we are a late night bar on thursday, friday and saturday nights, we're pleased to hear however that you were looked after so well by our staff members. It is stated on our website plus our partner travel companies websites and confirmation emails that we are open for business later than usual on these days, again sorry if this was not clear for you. We're happy that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We are currently refurbishing our hotel which we have firstly started with our bathrooms, unfortunately the refurbishment is taking a lot longer than expected, we will take into consideration the maintenance work that you have noted.

We do hope you come stay with us again, perhaps on one of our quieter days to suit your needs.

Kind regards,

The Cathedral Hotel and Bar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

The hotel is very central & convenient for most of everything that Salisbury has to offer, with multi-story car-parking a 2-minute walk away. Unfortunately, during our stay over a recent Saturday night, the location was the only thing going for it.

Yes, the hotel doubles up as a bar & nightclub, so we were expecting some noise, and as we were out until late ourselves didn't view this as too big a problem.

Our room was warm, and the bed was comfortable. However, the carpets were grubby, and the bathroom had a significant mould issue on the floor, which made it smell very unappealilng. I don't believe this would be a costly thing to fix...

So to breakfast. Service was very slow, and very poor. My wife ordered a full English, which we were waiting for, for nearly 45 minutes. We were told that the 'printer was broken', but given that several other guests had come in after us and had their breakfasts delivered long before we did, I suspect this single breakfast had been forgotten.

We visit & stay in Salisbury frequently. It is highly improbable that we will offer this hotel our custom again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Curable_Skysail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Public Relations Manager at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Dear Curable_Skysail,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, we appreciate all feedback.

We are currently expecting refurbishments on our rooms, which we have started with the bathrooms. We will take into consideration the notes that you have made on our rooms at present though, there was a recent leak in the room that you stayed in due to the plumbing not being properly connected so we have not been able to get anyone in to fix that as of yet.

We apologise if there was any delay with your breakfast coming down, all our food is prepared fresh so some items such as eggs on toast may have been prepared quicker than a freshly prepared full english breakfast if the printer had broken down.

We hope that you don't judge us on this one experience and hope you do visit us again sometime.

Kind regards,

The Cathedral Hotel and Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Do they own a vacuum? My room never saw it! The springs in the bed are not so nice when they are sticking in you. The only good thing I can say is the staff are lovely, the guy at breakfast couldn’t do enough for us. But everything is sticky & the whole place just feels dirty..

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Receptionist at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Dear Lisa,
Thank you for leaving us some feedback of your stay here. We appreciate all feedback given as it helps us improve out standards and service. I apologise about the problems with your room, I will communicate with housekeeping to try and improve this issue for the future. We're glad to hear that the staff made your stay more pleasant. We try to keep on top of our cleanliness and hygiene day to day, unfortunately after a busy bar on the weekend this can be slightly neglected. However it is something we want to improve for all future visits. We hope to see you again to see all the improvements we make!
Kind regards,
Reservations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Noisy all night bars and clubs It was too noisy we could not sleep the entire night there is a bar or club downstairs in the lobby and it’s sorrounded by other clubs we were me and my wife and our 1 year old and we did not even get a MOMENT of sleep the ENTIRE NIGHT and people kept making noise and it was a thursday evening not even a weekend. Very disappointed as we were very exhausted but could not get any rest at all. If u wanna rest after a long day and dont want to be up the entire night then I would not recommend this place as you will not get any rest or peace of mind sorry to say
Natalie was friendly though

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Guest Relations Manager at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear H K,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your stay here. We appreciate all comments and constructive criticisms. I apologise for the lack of sleep you had during your stay. We try to make every guest aware before booking that we host late night DJ entertainment on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. I apologise if you were not made aware of this before your stay. We hope you join us again in the future for a quiet midweek stay.
Kind regards,
The Cathedral Hotel and Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews