We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cathedral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Got the hotel via hotels.com, double room , including breakfast for £69. Reception , bar and lounge areas very nice, character+++.our room was clean! a bit tired! but very comfy. Great wifi throughout hotel. Very lively venue on the Friday night, lounge and bar packed, but we had a great nights sleep , undisturbed( didn't need the earplugs provided) the staff were all exceptionally pleasant and helpful, made our stay . Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mtg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear mtg66

Wow, thank you for your great review of your visit to our hotel. Ourselves and the team work really hard to help guests enjoy their stay in Salisbury and at our hotel, so it is great when we get top marks. I have displayed your review for our team to view. Once again, thank you and we look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind regards

Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    135
    71
    21
    20
See reviews for
68
146
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Cathedral hotel in October. We had a family room. The moment we arrived, we were greeted by an Irish chap who seemed to be concierge, reception, chief cook and bottle washer! He was fantastic. He advised us on how to get to the car park (around a 5 minute walk and £7.50 for 24 hours). The bar was a typical town pub, we ordered lunch which arrived promptly and was good value for money. The room was large but the bathroom tiny. It was fit for purpose though. There was mildew on the ceiling due to a lack of ventilation but everything was very clean. There were plenty of toiletries and tea and coffee facilities. As stated in the hotel information, the hotel is on the main club/pub circuit so they also provided ear plugs. As we stayed on a Tuesday night, we heard no noise at all. The beds were comfortable. The only fault I could find was breakfast was a confusing affair. The layout of things was strange and half the things we required, eg, orange juice had run out. the service was also abit poor, however, the breakfast itself was ok. On the whole, for what we paid(£96) it was a nice place with lovely staff and good value for money-wouldn't want to stop at the weekend though!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear GillLeicesterUK

Thank you for your overall great review. Our family rooms and adjoining rooms are very popular. I am delighted you found the beds to be comfortable and the breakfast very good. I am sorry there was confusion at breakfast and some items ran out. We have a new breakfast team and we have revisited their training. Thank you for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to correct these items. We hope you come and visit Salisbury and us again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a get away night and I have to say it was brilliant. Parking in Salisbury in general can be a bit of a pain for long stay but other than that it was spot on. The hotel is lively at the weekend but if you're not up for that it caters for others as well and we could barely hear anything in our room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baconarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear baconarms

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you come and see us again soon.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Berkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is our 4th visit to this hotel .when we checked in on Sat lunch the receptionist could not have been more helpful. She arranged coffee for us she checked to see if our room was ready early and was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is to die for, this is starved hot and cooked to order and again the staff were brilliant.

Room Tip: A top floor room is better as the hotel has a later licence at the weekends so top floor is quiter b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Kathy536
Thank you for your fantastic review. I will ensure our receptionist is aware of your great comments. I am delighted our team helped you enjoy your stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed 1 night...staff very flexible pre-booking and really attentive/friendly during stay...food good,even had gluten free/diary free menus too-I have to eat g.free so a real bonus (g.f biscuits needed in room though!!)...no separate restaurant or quiet lounge area as such and being in the centre of town it is part of the night-time scene but you are told this when booking....never heard any noise once in the room(3rd floor) and rooms accessible via stairs or a small lift-by guests only with swipe cards...nice simple rooms,(not all rooms have both a bath and shower though )...close to all shops and venues for shows etc...generally a good all rounder and would recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theConnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi The Connies

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Salisbury. I am delighted you and your friends had such a great stay with us. I think your heading is spot on for any potential visitors. It was great that you and your friends could sit and chat by the fire until the early hours while watching all the activity of our busy bar. Then go off to your well equipped rooms. It is unfortunate we did not think to put some Gluten free biscuits in your room. We will ensure we have some for your next visit. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with potential visitors and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Before I report on the bad bits I would like to say that all the staff were attentive and friendly and the pub grub for dinner was fine. Room was fine. We were told that the area we ate in was ' music free.' How've ever this was not so - the music from the bar was so loud ( and I mean very loud) that even in a side area we could hardly hear each other speak! Noise was worse from those smoking and congregating outside as this was still going at 3.30am and the earplugs did not help.
Breakfast was poor. The menu refers to a selection of bread - when I asked about this I was god that there was brown and white bread available- not really a selection and it was cheap stuff. Scrambled eggs was poor and pre brewed coffee was hardly warm.
Nothing would make me return here.

Room Tip: Do not stay overlooking street as lots of street noise keeps you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cacky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Cacky76

I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. The area you were in is music free, as you know you were sat there for about two hours by the fire chatting with your friend. It is unfortunate there was a malfunction that caused the music in that area to raise for a couple of minutes and disturbed your night. We have now updated our breakfast menu and removed the term a choice of bread. I would say all our bread comes from the local baker. The breakfast team have been re-briefed to ensure only fresh bread is available. I hope you enjoyed Salisbury in general and enjoyed catching up with your friend.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed over for one night with friends cycling through en route from Oxford to Dorset. Whole experience from booking to leaving was excellent. Reception accommodated the way we needed to pay. The manager personally ensured our bikes were put away in a safe lock up area. Kitchen staff went out and bought porridge for our breakfast. (They could have simply said they didn't do it and that would have been that).
Only gripe was the rooms were too stuffy and unable to open the windows for air. Other than that our over all experience was good.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianecp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear dianecp2013

Thank you for your great review. It was great that our staff were able to help you enjoy your visit. I do not know why your windows did not open as all our rooms have opening windows. Also we have installed ceiling fans to help circulate the air in the room. We look forward to seeing you in Salisbury again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Property: The Cathedral Hotel
Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing