We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Coventry England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Cathedral Hotel 15th and 16th September. Great value, great location for the local nightlife. Staff were good and the food and drink was a high standard. If you stay at the weekend there is a nightclub at the back which is also good. We will return again hopefully soon.

Room Tip: if you a quiet stay ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delboy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Delboy1963

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadvisor. It is great that you had such a great weekend. I am delighted you enjoyed our hotel, staff and food so much. We look forward to you staying again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    147
    81
    30
    28
See reviews for
80
169
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked two rooms on a Saturday night, it was not the best idea when you travel with a family.
The pub downstairs is opened until 2am so that's not calm at all.
The rooms were not very clean nor modern, and they were not well isolated from the other rooms.
I would only recommend the place for the location that is quite central, but I guess you can find more places around ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank np89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear np89

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Salisbury. I am delighted you found our central location a great benefit. Our bar is not a calm place on weekend nights as our website clearly states. It is a vibrant, busy late night bar with d.j. entertainment until 2am. During the week our bar is calm and relaxing, but still generally a vibrant environment. Our rooms however are generally very calm. All our rooms have secondary glazing and generally our top floor rooms are quiet, but we are located in the centre of a busy City so cannot guarantee complete silence. If a quiet room is important to you and you wish to stay with us at the weekend we would ask all potential guests to request this at the time of booking. We hope you enjoyed your overall stay in Salisbury.

Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have stayed here previously and the rooms are absolutely lovely and right in the centre of salisbury. i regularly go out drinking in here on a saturday night and have a good dance and nice time, eating in here is definately recommended (wild mushroom lasagne is to die for)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear ruth m

Thank you for your 5 star rating. I am delighted you enjoy all that is good about the Cathedral Hotel at the weekend. Food, great late night bar and great people. We look forward to you visiting again. Please say hello when you visit next time. Just mention the review.

Kind Regards

Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Room was ok but gave up on breakfast - staff slow at everything (clearing tables, dealing with simple requests) and generally dis-organised. Lots of grumpy tourists waiting for their food. Feels like you are staying in a pub with a few rooms upstairs. The Best Western Red Lion over the road looked inviting!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandomAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Daer RandomAtlas

I am sorry about the service you received at breakfast during your stay at our hotel. The service you describe is not acceptable and certainly does not meet our standards. I am sorry that on the morning of your stay there was a shortage of staff for various reasons and this lead to a failure by us to meet our standards. We hope if you do visit Salisbury again you will choose to stay with us and give us the opportunity to impress you. I am delighted you enjoyed your room and thought it was of a good standard.

Kind Regards

Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here one night on August 30. We ate in the pub and had a really good meal. The location is central. The room left something to be desired. The mattress was small, lumpy and uncomfortable. The toilet would not flush unless you first turned on the cold water tap in the sink (I guess they have old pipes and turning on the cold water "primes" the system). I get that this is an older building so you will need to make some adjustments to its quirks - my issue is that the staff didn't tell us so we were left to figure out this particular hack on our own. Other reviewers are right - after about 9 p.m., the quiet pub turns into a nightclub. The hotel does not try to hide this - they are quite open about it on their website. We were on the second floor facing the street, and while the pub was open, we couldn't hear it at all. After the pub closed at 2 a.m., however, the people all spilled out into the street and stayed there drinking and talking loudly until about 4. Not the hotel's fault, but just information to be aware of. It probably would not have been an issue if we had been able to close the window, but it was too hot to do that.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear anon37

Thank you for your generally good review. As you heard the noise at 2am, I am guessing you stayed at the weekend. During the week, we do tell potential visitors that the city centre location is a lot quiter and more relaxed. As you mentioned the noise is much less of a problem in the cold weather as the windows can be closed and the secondary glazing will minimise any outside noise. I am not aware of the plumbing problem you mentioned and it is unfortunate that you did not inform us of this or the details about your bed as we now have no way of knowing what room it is. If you read this I would ask you to email and let us know what room it is, as we are more than happy to replace matresses that are uncomfortable. I am delighted you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant. We hope if you visit the U.K. again you will come and see us and allow us to look after you again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A friendly and personal hotel with a homely atmosphere. Cosy tradititional style . Good for disabled people with a lift up to the rooms, bathroom small but ok.
Trippel glazing gave a nice quiet room.
Very helpful staff. Convenient location in town. Salisbury is a relaxing small town with style.

Room Tip: The family room was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteSundborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear AnnetteSundborg
Thank you for your great review and your five star rating. I am delighted you felt so welcome and we where able to help you enjoy your visit to Salisbury. We hope if you visit the U.K. again you will visit Salisbury and stay with us.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice hotel in the center of Salisbury. The rooms are not very large, especially the bed, but they are clean and equipped with the necessary. Good the restaurant where we had dinner, which also features gluten free menu. Good breakfast. The staff is friendly and engaging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sandra C

Thank you for your overall good review and your score of four star. We do have larger rooms and if this is important to potential guest then please ask at the time of booking and although we will not guarantee it, we will endevour to comply with any special requirements. I am surprised that you found the bed to be small as all our double rooms have king sized beds. I am delighted you enjoyed your food in the restaurant.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
985 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
773 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Property: The Cathedral Hotel
Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing