We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, Great, Great !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great, Great, Great !!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Myself and four friends stayed at the Cathedral Hotel for two nights for a girlie weekend away at the end of May and I haven’t got one bad thing to say about the place!

It’s the kind of hotel you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door, the staff are more than accommodating and nothing is too much effort.

We ate in the restaurant both evenings, the food is of a high standard with plenty to choose from on the menu, I’m just disappointed I enjoyed my main so much I was too full to try the nickabockaglory . . maybe next time!! Breakfast was tasty and the hot dishes that are made to order arrived super quick, much better than these hotels that leave the cooked breakfast sat out all morning to go cold.

Our rooms were plain but very clean and tidy, more than adequate for us, a powerful shower, plenty of towels, tea, coffee, kettle and a hair dryer, all the essentials a girl could want!

The location is great, two mins walk to the shops, and a two min drive to train station.

This hotel has all you really need in one location, great breakfast, a lovely quiet garden during the day where you can enjoy a glass of wine or a tasty lunch in the sun, a top class evening meal, followed by drinks in the bar, and a night club area in the evening, all this followed by a comfy bed to rest your tired feet! And although the rooms are above the bar, we didn’t hear too much noise once we had gone to bed.

Thanks to everyone at The Cathedral for making our weekend break so enjoyable, and special thanks to Tony, Steve and John for their exceptional hospitality! We’ll definitely be back, and would recommend to anyone staying in Salisbury.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker82_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear SunSeeker82_11

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted yourself and your friends had such a great weekend. I know our team will really appreciate your comments about our great service, food and atmosphere. I will ensure our whole team including the kitchem team sees your great comments. Once again, thank you and we look forward to looking after you on your next visit to Salisbury.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    137
    74
    23
    21
See reviews for
71
153
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level Contributor
191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Situation was perfect. Rooms are average size, bathrooms are clean and with a good size. The overall atmosphere of the hotel is very nice. Staff is very helpful. From the hotel, you are near of everything interesting around Salisbury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Bernatchez

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with potential visitors to our hotel. It is great that our team looked after you so well. I am delighted you enjoyed our great location in the heart of Salisbury.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW18 5BD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel and staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and the beds were very comfortable. It really was excellent value for money. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening. The menu was wide and varied and the food was very tasty and fresh. The service was top class as well. I must also commend the receptionist who was able to find out the current location of a shop my mother last visited in the early 60s. That's service for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Imks

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted our team were able to help you enjoy your stay at our hotel and enjoy Salisbury and find the shop your mum visited. We are privately owned and want to be famous for our team looking after visitors because they want to, not because its a job. It is great when our guests recognise this and I know the receptionist will be delighted that she could help.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Friday night for my birthday night out! We thought the hotel was nice enough. Room was a reasonable size, with a good sized bathroom, although the fittings were basic and overall cleanliness could have been better. Bed and bedding was nice, as was TV and complimentary drinks and biscuits etc. We were offered room 302 when we booked as it was one of the 'quietest' rooms in the hotel, as it neither overlooks the front or back of the hotel...and it was quiet, even on a Friday night, we didn't have any noise problems. However, the room overlooks the backs of buildings around the hotel and it's not a pleasant view, quite dirty and highly populated with pigeons...one of which wandered in when we opened the window! Staff very nice and friendly, bar and disco good, lift very good; just big enough for two and not noisy (room 302 is next to the lift). Breakfast was lovely, cooked fresh, tasted great and good service by waitress! Would return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Deborah

Thank you for your kind comments about enjoying your breakfast and that you would return again. I am sorry about the view, but we have done numerous things to remove the pigeons since we arrived at the hotel. All of which has helped reduce there numbers, but has not removed them. If you request room 304 or 303, these rooms are large and face the front and if you stretch a little you can see the Cathedral Spire. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Salisbury.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Cathedral. As a wine and happy times worshipper I would recommend this hotel. If you are young and still interested in a late night club for a dance and fun time it is just ace. We are not so young - at least one of us isn't - so we did not join in but it was great to see the vibrant youngsters enjoying themselves while we had a night cap.
The hotel was quiet and the staff were the best and all you could ask for. The room was fairly basic but I like it that way not being into chintze and faffyness. When we asked for advice on the best place for curry one of the staff recommended that we go to the Anokaa up the road - well, what a star he turned out to be. Thank you. Would go back again as breakfast was good and bed comfortable,not too hard or soft. We will stay here on our next visit.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and was quiet. Don't know what others are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Ang54

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted our team and our hotel in general helped you to enjoy your visit to Salisbury. I will make sure our team see your review and specially your comments about them. We look forward to taking care of you on your next visit to Salisbury.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The welcome was great, the room was excellent and the bar good fun.
If you are staying in Salisbury everything is within touching distance.
The Managers were charming (tony and Julie)
The ear plugs in the room a really nice touch but I didn't need them!

Room Tip: I was on the 3rdfloor and it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CampbellAsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear CampbellAsk

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future visitors to Salisbury. It is great that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to looking after you on your next visit to Salisbury.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived middling late but got the most welcoming greeting from the hotel manager and the staff we have had from anyone in our travels. Travelling with our two young adult children we were delighted to have a suite of two adjoining rooms sharing the master en suite. What would have made it perfect would have been twins in the adjoining room so that the kids could have slept there, but with two doubles we pair up by gender. It's comfy enough as the beds had quality matresses and were large. This is an old building in downtown Salisbury that has been nicely upgraded without compromising the historic quality of the structure. Parking was a block or so away and quite convenient. The place was totally clean and completely tidy. We had a great pub dinner even though it was quite late, and then found that there was a hot breakfast included in the morning along with the regular cereal and croissants, and it was fabulous (although mom used to leave the tomatoes to fry a bit longer than these ones were). That morning we had been privileged to be in the Stone Circle at Stonehenge at 5:30 and wandered at will through all the rings, so we were on a high when we got back to the breakfast. Then off to the beautiful Salisbury Cathedral before heading for Bath, and we were lucky enough to catch part of the Anglican service that Sunday morning.

It is true that we had been warned that on the weekends the Cathedral Hotel was a pretty raucous place, and the Saturday we were there was no exception, although it wasn't the noise from the pub which we barely heard, but the riotous youth in the street that kept up the loud partying 'til all hours. Luckily we were so exhausted from our four days in Paris that once all four heads hit the pillows we fell asleep and slept the sleep of the dead.

Happy to recommend the Cathedral! Thanks staff!

Room Tip: We were first floor and still we couldn't hear the pub noise from inside down below. Try for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarkei1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Clarkei1946

Thank you for your great review. I am really happy that you enjoyed our adjoining rooms. These are very popular with familys with older children as they give the whole family time to have their own space. When you visit Salisbury on your next visit, we do have a set of these rooms with a twin in one room and a king sized bed in the other room. I have passed on your feedback to the kitchen and they now also leave the tomatoes in the oven, rather than just grill the outside of them. I am delighted you had a chance to enjoy Stonehenge and The Cathedral.

Kind Regards

Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Property: The Cathedral Hotel
Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing