We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Terrible!

We chose this hotel based upon its city centre location and good reviews. The hotel was not quite what we expected.

The hotel is located on top of a pub that is bascially a glorified Wetherspoons and turns into one of Sailsbury's most popular nightspots after dark (this is clearly stated on the website) that stays open until 2am. As it's right in the centre of town, the hotel have installed secondary glazing to block out the noise. It works very well and the rooms were quiet at night, but to it's disadvantge, you can't open the windows and the rooms feel stifling the whole time. A fan has been installed to off set this, but it's just too cold.

The bed in the room was terribe. Mattress was extremely uncomfortable, one half lower than the other.

We were woken at 7.30am in the morning by a very load vibrating sound in the celling. This continued all morning.

We complained the next day and the staff were very understanding and promised a discount.

I would not reccommend the hotel to anyone.

For £85 I expect better.

On the plus side, the breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vex28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take all reviews seriously and where possible improved our facilities. A few examples of this, as you mentioned in your review, are the installation of secondary glazing and room fans, along with the re-instatement of the passenger lift after it was closed by previous owners many years ago. All of these things have been positively received by many guests who have had a fantastic time with us and written some great reviews.

The Cathedral Hotel wants people to book with us for the right experience and for the right occasion. As you mentioned our website clearly states that we are a busy, popular, city centre hotel at the weekend and during the week we are a relaxed, quiet environment that is a great base for tourists and business guests alike.

We are genuinely sorry you did not have a great experience with us. The issues you mentioned have now been corrected and it is unfortunate you did not tell us at the time of your stay giving us the the oppurtunity to correct the items while you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 589 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were not informed about any bar. We came back from dinner at 10 at had to wait for the rude young patrons to remove themselves from the doorway before we could get into the hotel. Main floor is a nightclub that started up while we were away at dinner. Very surprised to get back and have to walk through crowds and thumping music to get to our rooms. And yes if you are wondering there IS a reason they have provided earplugs in your room! No sleep until at least 2 am when it closes?? This shoul NOT be advertised as a hotel but instead a nightclub with beds. HORRIBLE!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bend_critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Dear Guest

I am sorry you where not informed about our busy bar. I see you travelled with friends and I can only imagine they made the booking and recieved the email telling your party about our busy weekend bar.
We try and make it clear on our web site that on Weekend nights we are one of the most popular hotels for bar entertainment in the City that is open till 2am. We cater for all ages from all walks of life. We have a lounge area that is attached to the bar where you can sit and chat but you will be aware that there is a d.j. playing.
During the week we offer a quiet relaxed experience, and are right in the heart of this great City. We are a great base to use to tour, shop or visit the Cathedral which is just a short walk away. We have lots of home made dishes and local cask beers available for you to enjoy.
I would ask all potential guests to please read the snapshot of reviews I have listed below to try and give you a fair and balanced view of what to expect when you visit The Cathedral Hotel. Make an honest judgement of what you require from your stay in Salisbury and come stay with us and let us give you a great time and let you enjoy this great city, but above all please book for the right occasion and if something is not right when you stay with us, give us the opportunity to put it right, while you are with us.

Recent Reviews:

''My wife & I spent a Friday and Saturday night, but we were on the third floor and with secondary glazing we were not disturbed at all by any noise.''

''Very friendly staff. Excellent location, just in the middle of the city centre. Good breakfast. If you stay on the weekend, the noise from the bar downstairs might reach your hotel room''

''I know on some of the reviews people have mentioned the noise, however, I can honestly say it didn't bother us at all. The hotel caters for all ages and when we arrived back at the hotel around 10.30pm on the Saturday night the place was really busy, we went straight up to our lovely refurbished room and couldn't hear a thing from downstairs.''

''Central location, and appreciated lift to 3rd floor,very pleasant staff and excelent breakfast.''

Kind Regards,
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I can only agree with comments already made. Superb location in City Centre, only five minutes’ walk from the outstanding cathedral and riverside walk. Hotel staff & service outstanding – 10 out of 10! All staff on duty during the weekend did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Breakfast included in the very competitive room rate offered an excellent breakfast bar supplemented with a similarly excellent breakfast menu offering everything from the Standard English to the more exotic Smoked Salmon with scrambled or poached eggs, both offering substantial portions.
My wife & I spent a Friday and Saturday night and we had also received the same rather ominous e-mail regarding weekend noise, but we were on the third floor and with secondary glazing we were not disturbed at all by any noise. A small problem was that the first night was very unusually (for the time of year) warm and this made the room rather stifling having to keep all windows closed because of possible noise problem. Large ceiling fan wasn’t really enough to cool the room sufficiently. The owners are aware of this problem, but if we have a hot summer, it would be worth checking arrangements in advance.
But we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank SouthseaDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind comments.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

From stepping into the hotel to checking out, the staff were absolutely amazing. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful with local information. The dining staff did everything they could to accomodate us. The friendliness and attitude of the staff were second to none. Even when we returned to the hotel after an evening out, we were shown to a table and looked after impeccably by the two gentlemen who were on duty that evening. They made us feel very welcome and we will definitely stay there again! Aishlinn has the most wonderful,sunny personality and makes you feel so welcome!
Fantastc!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aqua1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantasitc comments. We look forward to looking after you again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have Just come back from a weekend in Salisbury, The hotel is in the centre of Salisbury with lots of nightlife, if you arelooking for a quiet place to stay this is not one of them, but if you want good value and good friendly staff and a pub atmosphere with good food this is the place for you. We were warned by the hotel manager that on Friday & Saturday it would be very noisy as the hotel stayed open until 2.00am, we were supplied with earplugs but didn`t need them as when you got into your room you couldn`t hear anthing. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
I think this hotel will appeal to all ages, we are in our sixties but still young at heart.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Really impressed, food, service and accommodation excellent. Had stayed in hotel last year and found it a bit noisy but because of the friendly atmosphere and excellent service decided to come back this year. Was really pleased that I had decided to do so as they have fitted double glazing windows which has made a real difference. Will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liverp00l_Supp0rter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were aware of the noise on Saturday nights so wasnt a problem as we ended up in the bar for a few hours with it, then watched the aftermath from our hotel room which was entertaining in itself. For the price you cant go wrong, lovely building good rooms with mostly what you need in them, breakfast wasnt too bad although i think the young staff on sunday morning might have been a little hungover it seemed, but overall friendly staff. I dont know if it was my imagination but my partner and i found the majority of people in Salisbury, shops etc extremely rude bordering on angry, unlike the hotel the people in general certainly didnt make visitors very welcome, which i found bizzare.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samire12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
939 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
817 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: $62 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing