We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate when room available!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salisbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmhurst Guest House
Ranked #52 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Adequate when room available!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The first time I stayed was fine. However the second time I arrived in the evening and my room had been given to someone else even though I had booked by email and confirmed by phone. Very disappointing. It left me trying to find another b&b at night when I had a busy work day the next day.

Room Tip: Make sure you double check that your room is booked before setting off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satcsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Karen made us very welcome from the start - we had just had a terrible experience with another B&B (not in Salisbury) where they had double booked us and didn't have room for us (after travelling 250 miles, we needed to crash!). The family room was clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. The breakfast was exceptional and Karen's attentiveness was 'just right'. Would definately stay here again.... MANY MANY THANKS!

Room Tip: A little noise from the busy road, but didn't disturb us too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshGirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed the night, last minute booking, cheapest option in Salisbury. Very comfortable bed, decent sized room, very helpful owner, convenient parking, good road access, breakfast good, Yes i would book again.

Room Tip: Ring up in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogereasterbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here the night before my wedding with my two brothers.
Rooms were a good size and the value was excellent. We had a room on the front of the house but the traffic was not too bad. (We are all heavy sleepers though)
Just read a previous review slating cleanliness, I would have to totally disagree with this as our rooms we spotless. Breakfast was also great quality and just what I needed to start my day. The owners were really nice and so was their lovely little dog!

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hstayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

My friend and I visited Stonehenge and Salisbury for one day. Since it wasn't a bad price and nearby Salisbury town centre with free parking, we stayed there. We found that it was an average B&B. I felt that it was a bit like a hotel than home from home.

The room was big with a double and a single bed, a small TV and two comfy chairs. The room was facing the main road so it was a bit noisy during the peak hours. The breakfast was average but really liked the fried bread.

Karen, the host, knew the area well and have given us some useful travelling advice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank well_fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2009

On our recent visit to Salisbury we stayed at Holmhurst and found it a very friendly establishment. It is a well located place also it was easy to walk to the Cathedral and town centre. The room was nicely decorated and clean and Karen (the proprietor) made us very welcome and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augierjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Holmhurst last month whilst travelling around the south of England. We found the property easily from the website map and the owners Karen and Trevor were very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area.Room was clean and well decorated, breakfast superb! - freshly cooked and very prompt service.
All in all a great place to stay in Salisbury. Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark8054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
882 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Swan at Stoford
The Swan at Stoford
#1 of 2 in Stoford
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
298 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmhurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmhurst Guest House

Property: Holmhurst Guest House
Address: Holmhurst Downton Road, Salisbury SP2 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing