We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food great prices”
Review of Thai Sarocha

Thai Sarocha
Ranked #17 of 270 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent food great prices”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant for lunch last Saturday, whilst looking at the menu outside 2 guests who had already dined in the restaurant declared "it's excellent we will come back" as they came out so we needed no further encouragement to go in. Very clean, busy but not manic and superb food. Lovely service and they have a 2 course lunch menu for £7.50 with plenty of choice not just a 3 starter/3 main course menu that you often see for a value lunch. Good decor with Inspirations of Thailand. Book soon, and as the couple we met on the way out said we will be back soon too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    84
    17
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I booked this restaurant only because the other Thai one that we would have gone to was shut and I was hoping that it was still as good as the first time we visited a few years ago. There were 8 of us in our party and we were not disappointed. The service was good and the little touches were noted - letting us taste our wine first, bringing out our cutlery on a tray, wrapping our water jug with a serviette so that water did not drip, explaining what each dish was and checking that we were ok with our meal without being too in your face. All of which you would expect from a good restaurant but don't always get. We had the set menus so that we would all share and the price averaged about £20 - 24 per head. With drinks on top of that it was not a cheap meal but it was a special occasion. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whiskymacSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great lunch time meal”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visiting town needed a quick lunch, couldn't really face pizza type fayre so decided to give this place a try for their lunch time menu
What a treat, quite enough for lunch, really well prepared and presented enough choice from their lunch menu, very tasty, having taken a chance, we were well pleased, and would certainly return in the future

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not Good Enough!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The was was pretty good here but very slow service and hospitality is awful!

The restaurant had on their website and on some flyers in Salisbury an offer for Mondays and Tuesdays only "£40 of food for only £20" - a group of 4 of us visited and ordered over £80 worth of food (as the offer excluded drinks) and we had 2 flyers so we could get our deal. As we were paying separately (two couples) we showed the flyer to claim the discount and told we couldn't use it as we were one table. Nowhere did it say the voucher for only to be used as 1 per table and as it was 2 payments for the table we didn't understand why we couldn't use the flyer discount. I asked 'If we had come in and asked for 2 separate tables next to each other could we have each used the flyer?' and they said yes.... so what difference it made us sitting together or next to each other I have no idea! The lady then went to say that the offer was only a special one for local companies in the area and I said 'but the offer is on your website so anyone can use it!'

Regardless of our unsatisfaction and their lack of communication we were not given a goodwill gesture and allowed to have the discount and I think the restaurant's lack of leniency shows they aren't that willing to keep their customers happy. Their Ts and Cs should include their 'you can and can't to this' in them - so beware if you decide to come here. It's fairly pricey as far as thai restaurants go - I would recommend you visit the Thai Orchid! Much friendlier there. I have attached a screenshot of the offer from their restaurant for you all to see.

Needless to say no tip was given and we won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emali87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful "mistake"”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived in Salisbury a bit jet-lagged, and made it to a couple of pubs well after they'd stopped serving food on a Sunday afternoon/evening. We were heading back up New Street, and passed (a second time) Thai Sarocha and decided to dine there.

The food was delicious. Not as spicy as you might be used to in the US (or Thailand, I suppose - not having visited there yet). But flavorful and attractive.

The service was great; the young man who waited on us was attentive without being assertive. A great meal experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LarryM708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Sarocha also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Thai Sarocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing