We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avonlea House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avonlea House
Ranked #4 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llandrindod Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at Avonlea House, Salisbury and were greeted by Jackie who was very welcoming and extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit in Salisbury.
We were allocated a bedroom at the front of the house, which although adjacent to a main road was quiet with no disturbance from passing traffic. The room was extremely clean, tastefully decorated and spacious. The king size bed was the most comfortable that my husband and I have ever slept in!
Jackie served a delicious breakfast in the beautiful dining room. There was a selection of cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit and we opted for the full English cooked breakfast although there was smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, etc., also on offer.
The location was good being within a 20 minute brisk walk into Salisbury town centre with the added bonus of being able to leave your car safely parked within the grounds of the house.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this bed and breakfast whole-heartedly, being probably the nicest we have ever stayed in and we will definitely be back when visiting Salisbury again.
Many thanks Jackie for your hospitality
Caroline and Malcolm

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely and informative review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you also continued to enjoy your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
101
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We like to grab a short break whenever we can and this is one of the best B&Bs we've stayed at. The B&B is a short, pleasant walk away from Old Sarum and only about 20 minutes to walk to the centre of Salisbury. From the warm, friendly welcome from Jackie and John to the lovely room (with an amazingly comfy bed) and the delicious breakfast the next day, it's hard to pick the best bit. Even their recommendation for dinner was perfect - and we enjoyed the leisurely stroll back from town. Hoping we can come back soon - thanks again Jackie and John!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review. Your company was a pleasure - I really hope you do come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We visited Avonlea in early March and stayed 2 days while touring the area. The accommodations were excellent consisting of a king bed with an en suite bath. Linen and towels were all fairly new and fresh and the breakfast was first class. Although we had a room in the front of the house, it was quite quiet and traffic noises didn't disturb us.
Both Jackie and her husband were very welcoming and most pleasant.
We'd strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayH722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
It was a pleasure having you both stay with us and so kine of you to take time to post a review. I'm so glad you both both comfortable here and, in particular, like our new linen as I personally am delighted with the new big fluffy towels our linen and laundry company are providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

One of the best B&B's I have stayed at. There is very warm welcome when you arrive from Jackie and John,The rooms are immaculate and beds are very comfortable. It was so good I stayed at Avonlea House for 14 weeks while I worked on a contract at Amesbury, I couldn't recommend Avonlea highly enough

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrickkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Pat, I can't believe I've overlooked responding to your review until now. We really enjoyed your company and were sorry when your contract came to an end. Perhaps we'll get to see you again if work brings you this way. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I've stayed a dozen or more times at Avonlea over the past few months. Jackie couldn't be more helpful or welcoming, the rooms are great - comfortable and clean - and the breakfast fist rate - I couldn't recommend Avonlea highly enough

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WimbledonWombler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a kind review. You are always very welcome and it's been so interesting hearing all about your flying lessons and your rapid progress. Your imminent success may be to our detriment though - we'll miss your company when you finally get your wings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Probably one of the best B&B's we have stayed at. The Hosts are very attentive and the choice of Breakfast was first class. Ideal for a stay when visiting Salisbury, Old Sarum and that part of Wiltshire. Good bus service into the City centre and other places of interest.

Room Tip: Be advised by the hosts, we had the back room our friends had the front rooms, All spacious and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a nice review. It was so nice having you and your friends stay with us while attending a local function. Hopefully the running club will arrange another event and I'll have the pleasure of welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have to say this place is immaculate!! You would not be able to fault it. From the minute you arrive, you get a very warm welcome from jackie the owner, who couldn't be more pleasant.

Rooms

We were shown to our rooms past automatic hall lights, which turned on as you walked past them. We had two rooms and both were stylishly decorated and spotlessly clean. The decor is classy and jackie has thought of every little detail to make your stay special. There are tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk provided in a flask on the landing. So much better then the usual cartons. There is a flat screen tv in every room and wifi. The beds were very comfortable with crisp white bed linen that didn't even have a crease. The bathrooms are very stylish and beautifully decorated and the towels are the best I have seen in any hotel I have stayed at. I have not seen any as nice in 5 star hotels!! Lovely powerful showers in spotlessly clean bathrooms, again decorated to a very high standard.

Breakfast

Perfect!! The dining room is great!! It is newly decorated and jackie lit a fire for us. Very light and airy, and beautifully decorated. There was a selection of fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurts on a side table which again were nicely presented.

We chose a full English breakfast which was perfect!! But there were other choices. Another time I would have the smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Jackie also uses local companies to supply her with produce, so she is doing her bit to support the area.

The location is good as it is on the road into town. We chose to stay there because we have family only a short drive away, and will definitely go back there again. Jackie and her husband have only been running this b&b since 2012 but if you are visiting the area i would highly recommend it. The excellent reviews she has been given are well deserved!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill from kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Jill, thank you so much for your lovely and very informative review. I greatly appreciate the time you have given to posting this long review. It was a pleasure having you both stay and I really enjoyed your company. Looking forward to your return when you visit your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.4 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
0.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonlea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonlea House

Property: Avonlea House
Address: 231 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonlea House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our modern and comfortable B&B. All bedrooms tastefully decorated with En-suite shower rooms, TVs with Free-view, FREE WiFi, kettle and hospitality trays and hairdryers. A tempting breakfast menu is offered to suit all tastes. 20 Minutes walk to Salisbury city center or 5 minutes to Old Sarum. Direct route to Stonehenge. Join the Stonehenge Tour Bus from our local bus stop. Free parking for all guests. Sarum Airfield nearby for Skydiving and flying lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avonlea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing