We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Avonlea House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avonlea House
Ranked #4 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Avonlea House bed and breakfast in Salisbury,A chic and elegantly decorated B&B.The room and shower were beautiful clean, very comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast.Jackie and John were so welcoming and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here - we certainly enjoyed your company. We look forward to welcoming you back to Avonlea House when your work commitments bring you back to Salisbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Avonlea House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 207 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were so pleased to find such a lovely B&B in Salisbury and really enjoyed the few days we spent at Avonlea House. Jackie and John were extremely good hosts, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were delicious. Our room was spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished with very comfortable beds. We will definitely return and would recommend Avonlea to anyone who is exploring the city and local area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you so much for posting your review, and such a lovely review too. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoyed your company and would love to welcome you back to Avonlea House in the future should you need another break from your busy lives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The new owners, Jackie and John, had a tough act to follow when they took over Avonlea House in Salisbury, but they have risen to the challenge seemingly effortlessly. Avonlea is a very comfortable and elegantly decorated B&B, beautifully appointed in a very chic style, with very comfortable beds too. We really enjoyed the superb breakfasts, which are so generous! The table is always beautifully set, the views across Salisbury from the front bedroom and the breakfast room are lovely.The warmth of their welcome, combined with their lovely personalities make this a 'must stay' for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a lovely stay here. The bedroom was beautiful and clean and the bed was so comfortable! Irene and Peter were extremely helpful and excellent hosts. There is a lounge to use too with a selection of books and games. British breakfast at its best!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Peter and Irene were excellent hosts. We booked the deluxe room, which was large and comfortable with a nice bathroom and an excellent shower. Beakfast was excellent, there was plenty of parking, it was close to Stonehenge and Old Sarum, and Salisbury Town Centre was a short drive away. We couldn't have asked for a better stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst we explored Salisbury. The room was lovely with a big bathroom and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast was excellent and the freshly baked bread was a nice touch. The location was fine and on a regular bus route if you didn't fancy the 20 minute walk into town. I would definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed for just one night for a family party with my husband and parents. Both rooms were very well equipped and comfortable. Despite being on a main road, the double glazing ensured that the room was quiet and we had no problem sleeping. The breakfast was excellent. There was a good selection of cereals, followed by a cooked breaksfast with granary bread, toast and home made preserves. It is owned by Irene and Peter, who are both really helpful and friendly. Although we didn't have chance to visit, Old Sarum is about 5 minutes walk away. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.4 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
303 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cathedral View
Cathedral View
#1 of 58 in Salisbury
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonlea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonlea House

Address: 231 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: $116 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonlea House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our modern and comfortable B&B. All bedrooms tastefully decorated with En-suite shower rooms, TVs with Free-view, FREE WiFi, kettle and hospitality trays and hairdryers. A tempting breakfast menu is offered to suit all tastes. 20 Minutes walk to Salisbury city center or 5 minutes to Old Sarum. Direct route to Stonehenge. Join the Stonehenge Tour Bus from our local bus stop. Free parking for all guests. Sarum Airfield nearby for Skydiving and flying lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avonlea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing