We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B of our 2 week stay!”
Review of Avonlea House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avonlea House
Ranked #4 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B of our 2 week stay!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Peter and Irene were excellent hosts. We booked the deluxe room, which was large and comfortable with a nice bathroom and an excellent shower. Beakfast was excellent, there was plenty of parking, it was close to Stonehenge and Old Sarum, and Salisbury Town Centre was a short drive away. We couldn't have asked for a better stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
119
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst we explored Salisbury. The room was lovely with a big bathroom and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast was excellent and the freshly baked bread was a nice touch. The location was fine and on a regular bus route if you didn't fancy the 20 minute walk into town. I would definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed for just one night for a family party with my husband and parents. Both rooms were very well equipped and comfortable. Despite being on a main road, the double glazing ensured that the room was quiet and we had no problem sleeping. The breakfast was excellent. There was a good selection of cereals, followed by a cooked breaksfast with granary bread, toast and home made preserves. It is owned by Irene and Peter, who are both really helpful and friendly. Although we didn't have chance to visit, Old Sarum is about 5 minutes walk away. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Me&my partner stayed there last summer when visiting the South. As one of the attractions we wanted to visit was Stonehenge, we were looking for a nice & reasonably prices B&B in Salisbury area - which Avolnlea House definitely was! Lovely quiet room overlooking the garden, friendly hosts and hearty English breakfast - everything you're expecting from a B&B! Would defitinely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anlaby28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
762 reviews
1.9 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
400 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonlea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonlea House

Property: Avonlea House
Address: 231 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonlea House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our modern and comfortable B&B. All bedrooms tastefully decorated with En-suite shower rooms, TVs with Free-view, FREE WiFi, kettle and hospitality trays and hairdryers. A tempting breakfast menu is offered to suit all tastes. 20 Minutes walk to Salisbury city center or 5 minutes to Old Sarum. Direct route to Stonehenge. Join the Stonehenge Tour Bus from our local bus stop. Free parking for all guests. Sarum Airfield nearby for Skydiving and flying lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Avonlea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing