We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not special”

Les Mirabelles Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 269 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Good but not special”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We may have hit an off day.The 3 course meal was good value and well executed ,service was attentive but having eaten regularly in similar priced restaurants in France it somehow lacked flair and the little touches that make a memorable meal.The coffee was nothing special,which is always a let down .The location is lovely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    47
    14
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I dined here with 12 friends and we all had a great evening. Everyone enjoyed the food and the restaurant did well to serve us all at the same time. I had escargots, followed by caille and then mousse des mirabelles for £21.50. All were delicious. The service was efficient and friendly. A great find and I will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmandsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Simply our favorite restaurant”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have quite a few reviews on Trip Advisor and if you have seen any of them you will know that I am very fair when reviewing Hotels & Restaurants.
Well quite simply this is our favorite restaurant. Not really much else to say.
The food is excellent - always - the menu imaginative and varied, the service is friendly, not fussy or overdone. The wine list is extensive and there is always a helping hand to select the wine if you need it.
As others have said the decor and furniture is simple and comfortable but not flashy in any way.
We go there about 4 or 5 times a year mainly on anniversaries, birthdays and the like, but whenever we go it is a most enjoyable experience. This really is a restaurant worth making an effort to eat at.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vintagemalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Magnifique, Splendide”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have followed Claude since his days at the Old Beams in Romsey. Having then been a regular during the first 3 years of Les Mirabelles, I then went to work abroad. It was a sincere pleasure to walk back into this first class restaurant. Claude and Freddy have continued to develop this whole experience and I was reminded that this is their 18th Year. The Le foie gras chaud aux mirabelles was divine, as good as I've eaten anywhere and the filet de boeuf, sauce au poivre was cooked and rested to perfection. This really is a very good place to eat and the atmosphere and ambiance adds to a delightful evening - we were a party of 8 and everyone is still talking about the evening. One final point, it is also very good value, try it; if you appreciate good food and wine you will see what I mean.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyGoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in the Forest”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Definitely my favourite 'special occasion' restaurant. We have a saying in the New Forest - Handsome is as handsome does - this applies here. If you are looking for a flash, contemporary dining experience this is not for you. Unpretentious with flotex flooring budget tables and chairs but why add an ornate frame to a masterpiece ? The attention to detail by Claude and his team is second to none. The food is a happy fusion of English and French and wines which can be pricey but always excellent quality. Don't be afraid to ask for advice on a wine - it is worth it. The service is seamless with waiting staff, and often the proprietor himself, keeping a watchful but in-obtrusive eye on your table. Very popular so we always book at least 3 weeks ahead for a special occasion. Just a pity we live about 15 miles away.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Mirabelles Restaurant also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Les Mirabelles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing