We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of ASK Italian - Salisbury - CLOSED

ASK Italian - Salisbury
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Found close to the St Thomas & St Edmunds Church in the heart of historic Salisbury, this ASK Italian restaurant has recently gone through an extensive refurbishment. We've created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we've created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Exceptional”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Took my girlfriend here for dinner Wednesday 19th March and was really impressed! The waiter was very prompt, coming over and introducing himself (Gedz I believe) before taking our drink order and recommending a nice pinot which was brought over straight away and proved to be very nice. Shared a starter of Portobello Al Forno then I had Prosciutto E Bufala and my girlfriend had Spaghetti Al Pomodoro which was all delicious! Shared a sorbet for dessert which was also good :) luckily happened to see the Chef walk through later who introduced herself as Max and we gave her our compliments! Would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Peaky3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    43
    35
    50
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Average restaurant, not a cosy atmosphere more open motorway dining, food ok but not very inspiring, puddings disappointing. Wouldn't hurry back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRA8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EN75AG
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“ASK for more”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

NIce ambience and very friendly and helpful staff. We have been to a number of ASK restaurants and always in the hope that the food we order improves. We are tenacious in this but I think that we are fast coming to the conclusion that in won't happen. Previously we have commented on the decline in the quantity of food delivered i.e. the Lasanga is getting smaller and smaller. This time I ordered a Pizza and was invited to upgrade to a PRIMA Pizza which was supposed to be a stretched version of their ordinary Pizza and with lots more filling. Stretched it was but the filling was no different than is on their normal Pizza. The privilege cost an extra £1.80. The cost of the wine is again unnecessary.
I think that ASK is becoming somewhere not to ASK for

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PETERPAMEN75AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very nice food, but extreamly poor management”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visited this restaurant on Sunday the 16th of march. It was a very quiet night with only around 6 tables being used. We had a nice waiter who asked us for drinks promptly and was happy to come back later as we had no idea what we wanted. When the food came it was very nice.
All good until I visited the bath room. It looked like it had not been cleaned properly for a long time, the taps had a lot of dirt around them and the walls by the hand drier were filthy. I have worked in the hospitality industry for many years and these are easy to spot and clean! When we were finished we asked for the bill and the waiter said he would just get it, he took our plates away and as he came out of the kitchen, a girl who seamed to be the manager in a yellow jumper pulled him aside and then spent about 15 mins telling him everything he had done wrong that night just 2 tables away from us. This was not the time or the place for this and as we had found him to be a nice waiter it was unconformable to listen to as we waited for the bill!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethJo1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMESBURY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited on the 20th February and had a great meal with brilliant service. We were given a table which wasn't near any heating but we asked to be moved and this was arranged even before the rest of our party returned from freshening up. Our drinks and starter orders were taken straight away and when the drinks were brought out our mains were ordered. Both starters and mains were absolutely delicious. I can only think that they have read the previous reviews and upped their game. I would definitely recommend this ASK Italian and we are already planning to return ourselves.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meandhimAmesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Salisbury also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing