We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff”
Review of Greengages Cafe

Greengages Cafe
Ranked #1 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A home from home place to come and enjoy a relaxing cup of coffee or a hearty, freshly cooked meal.Opening hours:- Mon-fri 8.00Am-5.30Pm,sat 8.00Am-5.00Pm. Food served from 8.30Am-4.Oopm daily.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went for a wander from my hotel, and this was the first place that caught my eye. Staff were very friendly, my omlette was delicious. The fact that I was the only customer in there for my whole meal, prompted me to write a review. Get down there :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    58
    10
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Salisbury's hidden gem”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have been to many places in Salisbury for lunch, and only 2 months ago did I stumble across Greengages. I have since been back several times due to the fantastic food and very friendly staff. I would highly recommend their sandwiches, particularly the steak baguette which I thoroughly enjoyed with my pink lemonade. This restaurant is very well run by the lovely owners, just what Salisbury needs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Treat”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Working near Greengages I have seen it change hands many times. Now though it's one of Salisburys little treasures. There is nothing like a Steak and Blue Cheese baguette to get you through the day. I would recommend the friendly atmosphere and wonderful food. Honestly every time I have seen people leave they are always smiling :) Well done..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The sad demise of a unique cafe”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I used to love going here on visits to Salisbury but it has turned into a clone and had an identical menu to about 3 other pubs and cafes nearby. I am sure the building is still very attractive . It may be good if you want gluten free /taste free food but I preferred the old style roasts and other meals I suppose it now caters for veggie fatfree crowd not my kind of place at all

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kidsplusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Salisbury.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We wandered into Greengages last Saturday for the first time and we are so glad we did! Although there are a few other eateries opening in Salisbury, this one is by far my favourite. The service was friendly and attentive, the coffee was superb (the perfect strength), and the food was top notch. As we sat there, it was obvious from the conversations around us that many of the customers were re-visiting Greengages and this place was a regular stop off for them, a very good indication of quality in my book.
I can completely recommend Greengages for a tasty pit stop whilst shopping in Salisbury. There is no doubt we will be back very soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkymuffinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greengages Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Greengages Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing