We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Friendly Staff, Marvellous Food.”
Review of Greengages Cafe

Greengages Cafe
Ranked #1 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A home from home place to come and enjoy a relaxing cup of coffee or a hearty, freshly cooked meal.Opening hours:- Mon-fri 8.00Am-5.30Pm,sat 8.00Am-5.00Pm. Food served from 8.30Am-4.Oopm daily.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service, Friendly Staff, Marvellous Food.”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Yesterday I had lunch with a friend at Greengages. This was my first visit since the new Management have taken over and I was very impressed. The standard of food and service is very high and the prices are very affordable. The toilet facilities are spotless. I will definately recommend Greengages as a great place to eat out

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    58
    10
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've lived in Salisbury all my life and I just keep on coming back to Greengages. The atmosphere, staff and food are great when your looking for a great lunch or breakfast. I always go for the baguettes because they are garunteed to fill you up and the coslaw that goes with them is great. I cant really put into words how amazing this place is, I just suggest you go down there your self and try out the new home made goods made by the great chef there. You are sure to come out with a smile. :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stonecoldheart27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant for Food Allergies and Intolerances”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

As someone with several food intolerances I usually find eating out to be stressful and difficult, but with the wide range of Gluten and Dairy-Free food I can finally eat without worry! All their soups are Gluten Free (and usually Dairy-Free too). Many of the main meals are made Gluten Free, including Beer Battered Fish and Chips which can be made with homemade Gluten Free breadcrumbs. All sandwiches can be made with Gluten Free bread, and since all food is made fresh to order (including takeouts) they can also be made without butter for anyone who cannot have dairy. There is also a selection of Gluten and Dairy Free cakes for when you're feeling a bit greedy.

There are also a few Vegan meals and cakes for anyone who is that way inclined and Soya milk is availiable for anyone that asks at no extra price (unlike most chain restaurants).

It is so difficult to find places that stock this kind of food in Salisbury so this place is a godsend! Would definatly recommend to anyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeyKechup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh lunch, usual friendly greeting and service”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Have had coffee and breakfast here but chose to lunch here today. We had fresh battered fish and chips and Dijon chicken with fresh veg. Both so fresh and juicy, magic. With a crisp glass of chardonnay all we needed to finish lunch was a lie down, that facility is yet to be offered by Greengages!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greengirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spiteful!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The last comment about greengages not opening early enough cannot be true ! I go past every morning on my way to work and buy my coffee ! One can only assume you visited this monday when they closed for the bank holiday or a sunday when they are also closed ! Greengages is always open when i walk past at 8:30 so do not be put off coming for an early breakfast !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Party G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greengages Cafe also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Greengages Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing