We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Good fun

Really enjoyed our visit here today. It was fun to dress up and take photos in the different rooms... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
fshrbev
,
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
via mobile
Evokes memories

I visited here today, it’s been a while. The rooms in this manor, especially the lounge remind me... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
christy3809
,
Chippenham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 612 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Avebury
from $203.59
More Info
from $92.19
More Info
from $62.74
More Info
from $294.50
More Info
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
401
180
20
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
401
180
20
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews touch things different periods national trust play snooker tea room bbc programme stone circle open drawers nt properties vegetable garden different eras room guides queen anne chinese wallpaper the barn tv series billiard room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 612 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2019

While on a week-end break in Bournemouth we decided to visit Avebury Manor on our homeward journey, we were very pleased with our decision too, the day was lovely, the grounds were very good the tea rooms we very good and the Manor was a joy to walk around, the grounds had walks and lots to see. It was one of the better National trust properties we have visited and I would recommend a visit if in the area.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank michael_poole75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019

Fascinating insight into history. Each room is decorated from a different period in the history of the house. A lot is reproduction but subtly and cleverly done. People are encouraged to touch, handle and try on clothes.
The guides in each room are friendly and helpful.
Beautiful gardens, interesting museum about the stone circle, which of course you can walk around.
National Trust, so free if you're a member.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

I have been wanting to visit since the TV programme a few years ago. Enjoyed seeing the different era rooms. Made a change. Lots of history

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank 450Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

We visited The Manor while at the stone circle. The exterior is mellow stone and stands in walled gardens and grounds. All within the stone circle around the village. The interior is interesting as it was created for a BBC TV programme To The Manor Reborn. So in this instance you can touch everything and sit on the furniture and even the beds, as these are not antiques. If visiting Avebury The Manor should be on your itinerary too.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank bdon257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

Come for tea, tour this historic manse that takes a different look at the centuries, with rooms furnished and decorated to highlight different fashions and uses over time. Everyone should go to Avebury. And include this unique experience. This is a great stop and counterpoint.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Mary Clark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews