We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Very interesting visit

We visited the Manor whilst in Avebury and found it small, but interesting as each room was... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
marjorie w
,
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Good fun

Really enjoyed our visit here today. It was fun to dress up and take photos in the different rooms... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
fshrbev
,
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 613 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Avebury
from $202.00
More Info
from $91.47
More Info
from $62.25
More Info
from $292.20
More Info
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveler rating
401
181
20
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
401
181
20
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews touch things different periods national trust play snooker tea room bbc programme stone circle open drawers nt properties vegetable garden different eras room guides queen anne chinese wallpaper the barn tv series billiard room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 613 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2019

Avebury Manor is not normally furnished or decorated in a coherent way, but we were so impressed with the amount of care and preparation that had gone into decorating the Manor for Christmas. Volunteers had been making decorations for months, and each room had its own character. Some of the paper decorations such as the angels were very impressive, and we particularly liked the display cabinet which housed items that staff and volunteers had been given themselves as Christmas presents when they were children. The whole house has a friendly atmosphere and it was apparent that the volunteers care very much about it.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018

Ours was a flying visit as we had planned more activities for the day. However we saw enough to persuade us that we will be organising a further visit son. The Manor has had some very interesting 'improvements' which we shall enjoy discovering.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank anthony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2018

Friday 23 November 2018, my husband and I visited Avebury Manor, which had all been decked up for Christmas. The rooms were decorated in Festive Decorations over the centuries. These featured a Tudor Room, A Queen Anne Bedroom, a 1930's room at Christmas and a kitchen filled with typical festive treats. We found the displays wonderful and this along with the wood burning log fire added to the pleasure of visiting the manor on a cold November day.

We even had time for a brisk walk around the garden and vegetable garden growing naturally shaped vegetables and not perfectly straight carrots like in the supermarkets.
It was a lovely experience and I would recommend anyone to go and see the house in its festive flair.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2018

Lovely way to spend a couple of hours, So festive and interesting. Lots of love and attention had gone into the tour and it really showed. Beautiful house.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank BristolJacquelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2018 via mobile

Going on a cold sunny winters day before Christmas was wonderful. It's located in fabulous Avebury. The staff inside were fantastic , giving short interesting overviews of each room should you wish.

It's a shame the large gardens weren't open so will have to go back in the spring.

£8 entry fee is about right and fair price.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews