We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Avebury Stone Circle
from $93.42
More Info
from $63.58
More Info
from $155.70
More Info
from $94.72
More Info
Reviews (2,141)
Filter reviews
2,141 results
Traveler rating
1,412
583
107
20
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,412
583
107
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silbury hill national trust unlike stonehenge car park manor house red lion sheep grazing west kennet long barrow standing stones the pub large stone lovely village walk around fascinating place nice walk world heritage site walk up
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,141 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fascinating walk around this piece of ancient history, complemented by the museum at the Manor.
It's a fair distance to walk and some ground is not level and there are some steps, so need to be reasonably able. We went on a lovely sunny day - probably not advisable on a wet and windy day. Though there is the beautiful Manor House to go round as well.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying in Wiltshire for a couple of weeks and Avebury was on our list of places to visit. We didn't have much of an idea what it would be like. Our first sight of it was driving through after visiting the White Horses at Broad Town and Hackpen. It was raining so we kept on driving but we were amazed at the extent of what we saw.
We returned a few days later and spent time amongst the stones, touching them, leaning against them and marvelling at the size of them - some are 27 feet thick - and the scale of the whole site. It truly is phenomenal both in size and how it could have been created.
It is suitable for people with limited mobility but you cannot hope to see all of it in one visit. We returned two days later to look at more of it but there's still more to see so we plan to revisit many more times just to absorb the atmosphere.
The draw for Avebury has to be that it's a very historic site that is accessible free of charge and that you can walk amongst the stones (and the sheep) unlike Stonehenge.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank RandJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful afternoon spent wandering around this free entry site. The area itself is large & you will need to cross roads to gain entry into the various sites . I would have loved to have been able to read more about the site, through information boards etc whilst actually there . However the sheer history & actual stone circle itself was impressive & well worth a visit .

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Moog0_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

Visited midweek in May, in the morning, so not busy. Spent a lovely couple of hours walking this free-entry site, between the stones, touching the stones, enjoying the scenery and the company, then lunch at The Red Lion to fortify us (or you could take a picnic, plenty of space). Interesting history to this site, with more than a little mystery thrown in! Handy pay parking at the pub will be credited if you enjoy their food or beverages.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

Great walk taking in the stones. Thescale of the circle is amazing especially when you think of the logistics of moving the stones.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank cliff1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews