We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bijou delight”
Review of Avebury Life B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avebury Life B&B
Ranked #3 of 5 Avebury B&B and Inns
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a bijou delight”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed one night back in April, and felt very peaceful here. Antoinette is a very special person and we had some interesting discussions. I was in the single room, which is compact and basic, but perfectly adequate, and the shower room next to it was fine. There was internet connection via a modem in the bedroom.Lots of interesting books to browse. Lovely to stay somewhere with no television. It's about a 10-15 minute peaceful walk from the middle of the village. Very good value, will be happy to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
24
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The location is excellent, down the street from the Avebury stone circle and Windmill Hill. Quiet and comfortable location. Great place to meet up with metaphysically-minded kindred spirits. Small library on local books available and Antoinette will do everything possible to make sure you are comfortable.

Upstairs shared bathroom is smaller (small shower), as was the single room. But, it was clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlworthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greven, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012

antoinette is a wonderful and knowledgeable host. i'm a cropcircle researcher and always stay at her B&B cause 1. it's located in the heart of cropcircle-country, some formations are within walking distance 2. she does not only know her surroundings well but is also informed about the scene 3. her breakfast is delicious 4. perfect service 5. the avebury life B&B gets you in touch with other interesting people, i even made some friends there 6. poppy is a very lovely cat :-) so for me it's the first choice when i visit avebury

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Nothing fancy about the house or the host, but both were simply charming!! The house may be a bit small but was very clean and comfortable, and Antoinette was very helpful and prepared a fabulous breakfast. She is both knowledgeable and passionate about the area. I had a wonderful chat with German guests in the morning. Although I stayed only one night, I left with the feeling that there was something very special about Avebury Life B&B and would highly recommend a stay here to anyone who is looking for a more personal experience of the mysteries of Avebury.
Tom from New Mexico, USA

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here before a couple of days walking the Ridgeway and chose it for the good price and proximity to Avebury and nearby hills / barrows etc.
The host is wonderful and the house / rooms have the right kind of traditional / esoteric mood that many travel to this part of the country for. Breakfast was great (inc. cheeses, good homemade bread).
A nice 10 minute walk into Avebury village, off the road so very peaceful setting. Will be going back, certainly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dada2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Antoinette is a dedicated host.
As soon I arrived I felt like home. It was a warm welcoming and and a nice room. One evening I got lost in the dark and I could give Antoinette a call and she came to the rescue.
Trusloe is very near Avebury and on the way to windmill hill. Walking distance 5 min. across a nice field to Avebury circle.
I went alone to Avebury and in that Bed&Breakfast i met a lot of new friends.
Regula
Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegulaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Quoting Antoinette directly "Avebury Life is not for everyone" but if you are looking for a warm, inviting and comfortable home where you can chat to some alternative people then this is the place. Avebury is beautiful and magical and well worth the visit and Antoinette's little cottage makes it even more special. Antionette puts on a great breakfast and is happy to cater for vegetarians. There is also free Wi-Fi which could be accessed from our room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avebury
7.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
969 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
630 reviews
9.2 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dorwyn Manor B&B
Dorwyn Manor B&B
#1 of 5 in Avebury
72 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
123 reviews
3.9 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Compton Bassett
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avebury Life B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avebury Life B&B

Property: Avebury Life B&B
Address: 5 Trusloe Cottages, Avebury SN8 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Avebury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avebury Life B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a private house that welcomes visitors like a center. We see ourselves facilitating an alternative approach. The rooms are comfortable, warm and relaxing. We are in walking distance of the Avebury stone circle and part of the sacred landscape. The food is wholesome and of local produce if possible and we are able to offer therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Avebury Life B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avebury Life B&B England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing