We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, Magical, Calming, Peaceful B&B a short walk to the village”
Review of Avebury Life B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avebury Life B&B
Ranked #3 of 5 Avebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb, Magical, Calming, Peaceful B&B a short walk to the village”
Reviewed April 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. The location is excellent situated about ten minutes walk from the village of Avebury and also within walking distance of the excellent Wagon and Horses public house/restaurant. Avebury life is a lovely place, owned by Antoinette. She greeted us at the door with a welcoming smile and this described our entire experience here. Full of energy and enthusiasm, Antoinette is a lovely host who is very knowledgable and informative. The room was excellent, clean and peaceful; we stayed in the downstairs double with ensuite. The breakfast was excellent with everything (and more) that you could want and home-made bread is supplied every morning, permeating the air with wonderful aromas. We really enjoyed our stay here. Avebury is magical and Avebury Life provides the ideal base from which to explore the area. On a clear night, stand outside, look at the vista of stars and marvel at the view.

Room Tip: Very near to the village of Avebury
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincem8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    16
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
24
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Located near the heart of prehistoric England, this B&B is well placed to visit the ancient monuments in the area. I have stayed here several times now over the last few years and I have always found it calm and welcoming. Aintoinette knows a huge amount about the spiritual and ritualistic significance of the local sites and is able to advise visitors who are interested in exploring that side of the region.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NicholasService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Having booked the whole B&B for my Sound Healing Workshop Group, for the third occasion, Antionette surpassed Herself this time, by fitting in up to 5 extra people (non-residents) for breakfast each day! (some of whom were vegan/wheat-free!)
As always, She was extremely attentive to make sure there was fruit & refreshment available to guests for other times of the day than breakfast.
(and it has always been my experience to find an "overwhelming choice" of tea in her cupboards!! Altho not all the rooms are ensuite, they are clean, and smartly decorated ;)
A Spiritually minded hostess, consciously serving the community, in a very special part of the World!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianmieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2010

If your interest is in the special qualities of Avebury and/or crop circles, I recommend a stay with Antoinette. Her local knowledge and freely given time allowed me to experience more in one day than I could have in a week on my own. Avebury is a short walk away. I was happy with the room and the breakfast. The bathroom was shared.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wal_Thornhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Lovely place with family-style atmosphere. Friendly, helpful hostess. Tastefully furnished rooms. Clean. Internet access in the livingroom, which is a meeting place for the guests, many of them interested in cropcircles. Excellent breakfast. Nice outdoor sitting areas. Antoinette's massages are fantastic! - I felt liek at home. Booked already for next summer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here for three nights. Owner Antoinette was very hospitable and made our stay enjoyable. She was very knowledgable about the attractions in the area and directed us to things we would otherwise have missed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alchpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

When I phoned about a double room I was offered a small double or small twin. The website had indicated that the double rooms was ensuite - no mention was made that the rooms offered were not ensuite. When we arrived we had to share an extremely small shower room with another guest who had booked the single room. I think we were perhaps in a room not usually let. From the picture rail to the ceiling was a mass of cobwebs and the wallpaper was peeling from the walls. We were asked to remove our shoes at the door of the house. Tea and coffee making facilities were only in the owner's kitchen. She hurriedly advised us of this before going out for the evening. We were only able to find loose tea and no teapot - so we had a glass of tap water instead. Breakfast was nothing special. This B and B is overpriced and shabby. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CPV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avebury
5.8 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
7.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
5.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dorwyn Manor B&B
Dorwyn Manor B&B
#1 of 5 in Avebury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Haven At Avebury
B&B Haven At Avebury
#4 of 5 in Avebury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge Avebury
The Lodge Avebury
#2 of 5 in Avebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avebury Life B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avebury Life B&B

Property: Avebury Life B&B
Address: 5 Trusloe Cottages, Avebury SN8 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Avebury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avebury Life B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a private house that welcomes visitors like a center. We see ourselves facilitating an alternative approach. The rooms are comfortable, warm and relaxing. We are in walking distance of the Avebury stone circle and part of the sacred landscape. The food is wholesome and of local produce if possible and we are able to offer therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avebury Life B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avebury Life B&B England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing